We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but sweet - it grows on you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Like many others, we needed a place to stay for two nights until our five night Marriott package kicked in. We found the Garden Island Inn here on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. What a great find! Okay - rooms are small, hand sewn curtains don't exactly fit the windows, and your bedspread looks like it's straight from Sears. In short, no frilly, all funky, but a hip funky! If you can live with that, you'll love it here. The hosts are great, and as has been mentioned, you can borrow coolers, boogie boards and beach chairs for your short walk across the street to Kalapaki beach in front of the Marriott Beach Club. We had a second floor room with a nice lanai, but the "ocean view" is first parking lot, then street, then park, then ocean, so don't expect to feel the salt spray on your cheek. Personally, I'd opt for the cheaper garden room since the garden is green and peaceful (but small) and is just as close to the beach. Koi ponds are beautiful (with baby koi!) and the hand painted doors to each room lend a very charming feel. We totally lucked out by staying 9/7 which happened to be the owner's 20th anniversary of purchasing the hotel. We were invited to a luau that night which was so real and local we felt honored being a part of it. Whole roasted pig, huge feast, live music = pure magic. You may not get that experience, but it speaks to the heart of the management. Enjoy Duke's Canoe Club across the street at the Marriott for relatively cheap eats and tasty drinks, and the Beach Shack up the street for good cheap coffee and breakfast. The only down side of the Garden Island Inn was no pool - I'm a lounge chair lizard, and I like my pool time. Still, for the price it's a gem if you're looking for a great location for a home base.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bow_Wineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2008

We stayed here for one night waiting for our condo to come free. Although next to a road, it is not too noisy and is also next to a great beach and restaurants. Staff are good and lots of beach things to borrow. A great choice but not luxury

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This hotel had it all! Great location...ocean across the street! Lovely rooms with original artwork and decorated in a way that you know you are on the Garden Island right down to the fresh flowers! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. You could borrow extra towels for the beach, mats, boogie boards,etc,etc. There is shopping for essentials and places to eat within walking distance. You are on a road that easy goes to all destinations! We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Date: July 30, 2008
Reviewer: a member from Tucson, Arizona
For us, the Garden Island Inn in Kauai was that “small hotel” in the romantic song “There’s a Small Hotel, With a Wishing Well.” Instead of the well, it had one of the best beaches in the world, with a nice little snorkeling area on one end.
We found it by accident in Lihue, from a friend’s recommendation. Once there, we noted that its staff members care about your happiness more than any I’ve seen in 40 years of travel. Lots of help, ideas. It has the works, Wi-Fi, snorkels, beach towels, beach books, kitchens, advice. I suspect the owner Steve Layne might even loan you a bicycle.
The beach is just across the street, by a park and next to the big Marriott, and classy restaurants like Duke’s. The rooms are smallish, but the inn is so reasonable you think you’re getting a family discount. Its upstairs balcony is good for reading or lunch, looking out at a mini-jungle with birds and cloud-covered mountains beyond. Check with Steve, at www.gardenislandinn.com, [--].

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TreeHouseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My husband and I recently stayed the night before leaving Kauai. This is our 4th year to stay there. Last summer we stayed for 3 nights. It's close to the airport and is located just across the street from Kalapaki Beach.
This last visit proved to be better than ever -- the place was spotlessly clean, seemed to have new bed linen with new pillow protectors and nice mattress pad (yes, I check these things!)
We stayed on the 2nd floor with balcony. It was small but cozy with a glass-topped table with two chairs inside -- and a table and two chairs on the lanai. Good lamps, TV, chest of drawers and night stands. Nicely painted inside with beautiful paintings by local artist. The gardens are lovely with plumeria and other flowers.
The sunrises from the balcony are spectacular. Beautiful views of Kalapaki Beach. Easy access--just walk across the street. Beach towels, snorkel gear, boogie boards, mats are all available at the office. Wash sand off in the gardens where outdoor shower is provided. Fun. Cookies -- yummy! Lots of aloha.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokulealinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

I was a member of the same reunion group and couldn't agree more. Anything we asked for was cheerfully virtually always granted. Plenty of fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. Convenient location with easy access to breakfast places, ABC store shopping and Internet cafe. Nothing fancy or posh but so old-time Hawai'i. Couldn't have been happier.
MAHALO, GARDEN ISLAND INN!

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank tutunene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My high school graduation class of 1958 had a reunion on Kauai and we chose the Garden Island Inn for a two night stay. I was a little nervous about making the choice for 20 people....BUT, Bravo! the class loved our choice. The owner made a sign for us saying "Welcome..." The staff had snorkeling equipment, towels, tatami beach mats and coolers we could use for no charge. They have coffee and oatmeal cookies available at all times. The gardens are beautiful and the whole place is filled with original art. I felt that this small hotel carried the aloha spirit to the max. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
385 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
19.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £107 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing