We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but unique.”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average, but unique.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I did like this inn as it is full of character which is clearly illustrated by the abundance of colorful art adorning many parts of the hotel, both inside and out. It is certainly a funky, island sort of vibe, reminding me of something out of the 60s era. It is charming in its own way. Beautiful flowers surround the inn, and there are banana trees and a fish pond to enjoy, as well.

It is very convenient to the airport, and there are shops and food nearby. The location is good on the island as a whole because it is more or less center to the highways that travel to the northwest end and to the southwest side. An easy starting point to any attraction.

I don't think I have ever seen blue sheets on a hotel bed, though there is nothing really the matter with that. We stayed in a room with one king and three single beds. Certainly everything in the rooms is very dated. The beds, the appliances, the fixtures, the tvs. Although the rooms seemed clean I couldn't help but feel the room needed a really good spring cleaning. I like things to be very clean and although we saw no bugs it seemed we could see a spider or the like any moment. Just be aware what you are getting when you stay here. There's nothing wrong with a night or two upon arrival or departure but only certain people would enjoy their entire vacation here.

It is a funky, tropical little inn that is a bit dated but trying to be charming with management that obviously does care. I just think it needs to be updated and small things need to be thoroughly cleaned (ie. window slats, ceiling corners). And the mattresses changed out as well.

We would likely stay again but only for a night upon arrival in Lihue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Glad you recognise how much we care and appreciate your feedback. We think we are a unique funky tropical hotel as well! WE are always updating the rooms and the hotel in general, Fresh paint and deep cleaning goes on as rooms are available and empty. WE are glad you will be back and look forward to provide you comfortable, clean lodging, with our great location and staff for the perfect island stay. The front desk staff, if consulted when making your reservation, can suggest the best room for your concerns and needs. We will remain artsy and charming but looking forward to adding new solar panels this year and other features in the rooms. Mahalo, keep writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    206
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
160
383
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

GREAT stay, with an accommodating staff, perfect location and incredible paintings throughout. We stayed here on our last night before returning to the mainland for the proximity and ease in getting to the airport. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha and many thanks for the 5 star review! We try to provide extraordinary, as just ordinary accommodations, with our original works of art and guests services. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
We enjoy offering you a piece of pie, cup of coffee, and our smiles as you head to your island explorations or the airport. Please come again soon. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a chance for a brief conversation with owner Steve Layne and his wife Lis during their annual luau for bikers and whoever was lucky enough to be in the hotel on the date of the yearly luau. Complimented Steve on his comfortable lodgings and his very friendly and efficient service. Steve gave all the credit to his staff. Clear to me he and they work very well together. Even if you visit on the 364 days of the year when there isn't a luau you'll enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms, the free coffee and snacks (including delicious pie), and free loan of videos, books, beach mats, towels and chairs, and snorkeling masks. All with a friendly smile.

Room Tip: Call and ask for advice on which room(s) best suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyorkertransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Luau! Steve & I are avid cyclist and had just raced Pedal to the Meadow, an annual Kauai race up Waimea Canyon to Kokee park 16 miles 4,000 feet elevation climb. Good fun to have a Hawain celebration and include our guests!
We may be a small hotel but we do offer so much; beach gear, parking, pie, coffee, & location, location mid island across from a beautiful beach! Come back to the island soon! Aloha, Lis & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everthing as promised:
10 mins to Lihue airport, easy free parking, easy walk across the road to Kalapaki Beach, shops, restaurants etc.
Comfortable room at a fraction of the price of the huge Marriott/Hyatt whatever resort across the road.
Super friendly and helpful staff always a bonus!!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room (smaller door faces the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We agree, our tropical boutique hotel, offers our version of 5 star value, at a fraction of the high end resort chain hotels. We enjoy making all of our guest feel at home! Thanks for choosing us, we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This small boutique style hotel was a delight. Reasonable prices and friendly staff added to the charming ambience. Rooms were spacious and linens good quality. Easy free parking and office offered complimentary cookies and granola bars, etc., as well as coffee. Close proximity to shops and stores and across the street from Marriott and dukes bar and kalipaki beach. Only thing lacking was an ice machine. A gem of a find with an old style Hawaiian flavor.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crystalcatSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing what great value we offer. Our housekeepers are gems who prepare each room with great pride from cleaning, to fresh laundered linens & towels, and our own garden flower agangements. I will pass along your praise to the entire staff as we agree they all provide aloha to everyone, in every way, everyday. Kalapaki Bay has much to offer, so glad you enjoyed our location and your visit to Kauai! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is absolutely the perfect place to stay on Kauai. Great location (central point to all areas of island). Great price. Great hospitality. Very clean. Walking distance to several restaurants, coffee shop, souvenir shops, Kalapaki Beach. They provide everything you need! They even had coffee and this delicious "island pie" in the office most of the mornings we were there. Very friendly, helpful staff. I was very impressed and will stay there again when I go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for the perfect description of what surounds the hotel, just out the front door. We try to provide for most of the vacation amenities of our guests at no added costs, So glad you enjoyed our family owned artsy boutiqe Inn. Mahalo for recommending us, we look forward to seeing you again!
Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want to feel like you are staying with friends or family, this is the place. It's not a luxury beach resort but a unique inn where everyone from the owners to the office staff to the cleaning staff makes you feel welcome. The rooms are all uniquely decorated. Every door of the inn has a one of a kind colorful painting by Kauai artist Camile Fontaine along with more of her paintings in the rooms as well as in the office. A fresh Hawaiian flower arrangement is in your room. There is a pie or pastry and coffee in the office every morning. You may sit on your own lanai or at a table in the garden or on the third floor looking at the palms. Flowers are abundant and the manmade waterfall is soothing. Two shopping centers with restaurants are walking distance - you can simply walk across the street and have a delicious dinner by the water. Everyone at the Inn wants to make your visit enjoyable. The spirit of Aloha is alive and well at the Garden Island Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so glad you made yourself at home and enjoyed the hotel, the location, and our people. WE love to make everything extraordinary particularly a warm welcome to our guests. Your visits to the loby to share your smiles and adventures was a pleasure to us! Mahalo for your review, we look forward to your next stay with us! Aloha, Lis & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing