We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value: spotlessly clean and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights mid July with 13 yr old son. Super friendly and customer-focused staff. 5 min walk to a variety of stores and a few restaurants (visited ABC convenience store and Duke's restaurant during stay). Also nice beach just across street - good place to chill. Used hotel as "HQ" as I toured Kauai. Good location - as it's mid point between opposing ends of island sights. Also very convenient to airport (5-7 min drive).
Hotel provides baked goods snacks (cookies/pie, mini scones/muffins from Costco) in their office throughout day. Basic appliances in room featuring kitchenette (frig, MW). Office provides all kinds of beach gear on an "honor" system - boogie boards, fold up beach chairs, noodles, coolers, snorkeling equipment - even aleo vera lotion and bug spray (!!). Stayed in room 12 (2nd floor) - which had 2 twin beds.
Excellent value hotel - but not opulent if that's what you're looking for. 4 star rating based on several relatively small items: foam vs. feather pillows (sorry but foam pillows don't cut it), room A/C was maxed out and could've been cooler (small A/C window unit) and small twin bed size. This warranted 3 star 'sleep' rating. Would stay here again if I was traveling just by myself - but would choose higher end resort if I was with family/gal. Good wifi signal in room. Note: hotel doesn't have pool.

Room Tip: If traveling with 2+ people I'd suggest you ask for a larger room - preferably on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

WE are so glad room 12 made up with 2 twin beds worked out for you and your son. We strive to provide the highest quality at our hotel with the greatest value, thanks for noticing! Many of our guests enjoy our free amenities and reasonable rates then splurge on vacation highlights like helicopter rides, sunset boat cruised, Na Pali snorkel trips, four wheel jungle adventures and more. The hotels' third floor rooms are a bit more spacious, king and queen bed, or king and 2 twins, even king and 3 twins. WE also have 2 condo with full kitchen, 2 separate bedrooms, stack washer/dryer. Our Banyon Harbor rental Condos also have a beautiful swimming pool, tennis court, and BBQ area.
I will be checking the pillows and AC, thanks for the heads up. We strive to make our guests comfortable. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were so well treated by everyone at this hotel. It is convenient to everything and the staff is great. There was a problem with noisy guests one early morning and the manager took care of it in a very proper manner. And Judy, the cleaning lady in the room was a welcoming presence too.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and were quite happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon34895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

WE are so glad the late night incident did not spoil your stay. We have a night manager on property for emergencies and security coverage. Our sound proof cinder-block walls and floors quiets most room noise and our reputation attracts relaxed family oriented vacation clientele.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, all of the staff, and our location. We hope to have you back with us again soon!
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent 5 nights at the garden island inn. I travel a lot and the garden island inn ranks highly on my list of places i have stayed at. Directly outside is the lihou shuttle bus stop. The staff at the garden island inn are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Complimentary use of beach equiptment is available at reception and there is free cake. Cereal bars and water/coffee too

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank da11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. Your comfort, safety, relaxation, convince & having a home away from home is what we strive to provide. Our wonderful staff, tropical art, kitchenettes in every room,free available beach gear, snacks & goodies, gardens and waterfalls, is symbolic of the Hawaiian Aloha life style. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Garden Island Inn several times. A very Hawaiian hotel of the 60's, it is enough different to make it very special. The rooms are not large, resort style but are clean and very comfortable. What makes it so nice is the personnel,- they want to serve you just a bit more. Delightful snacks always available in the office. Maps, directions to attractions and just great 'locals' information from the staff. The Inn is close to the cruise ship dock, as well as small shops and several good restaurants right across the street. We have a timeshare at the Marriott on Kalapaki Bay just a block away, and we frequently stay at the Inn before or after to get the best airline rates. I would recommend Garden Island Inn to anyone, from newly-weds for an affordable honeymoon to seniors like us.

Room Tip: Select high level room facing the front for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Mahalo for your kind words and repeat visits to the hotel. You and all of our guests are our main priority. The staff happiliy provides extraordanary guest service. We will pass on your compliments to them as we also appreciate their ALOHA, every day! Kalapaki Bay and Nawiliwili are gems of the island, our location perfect to walk to activities, eateries and the white sandy beach. We are so glad you have discovered the magic of Kauai and are frequent visitors. We look forward to your next stay with us. Wishing you the best, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

For the price point, this is a great value with a very convenient location. It's within walking distance of shops, restaurants, Kalapaki Beach. I got up in morning and watched the sunrise in Nawiliwili Bay. It was gorgeous, peaceful, and awesome. The room was very nice. It's not modern, but not old. It's very Hawaiian feel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and nice. There's beach gear you can take from the front office, as well as sun screen and bug spray. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jigga_JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We have great value, a great location, and great guest like you, who enjoy a beautiful sunrise at Nawiliwili small boat harbor! We love to share this tropical paradise with everyone! Kauai is the "Garden Island" and we like to preserve the harmony with nature, arts and culture at the hotel. Mahalo for your stay with us and your good feedback. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were meeting a large group of friends and renting a condo, but arrived one night before everyone else. Absolutely loved the Garden Island Inn from the moment we pulled up and saw the beautiful little garden area in front and the colorful rooms. We were warmly welcomed and "upgraded" to room 9. We found the waterfall provided a restful background. Balconies overlook the water across the street. The Marriott and stores are also just across the street/within easy walking distance. Super friendly people. Microwave, fridge, bar sink and some disposable utensils along with coffee maker. Snacks and coffee in the office in the morning. We were paddleboarding in the morning and running a little late; they were more than happy to give us a few extra minutes to shower off and check out. I told my husband I could easily stay there for the week and he agreed. No, it's not the Ritz, and yes, it is "dated" in a charming way. It is also extremely affordable for what you get and an amazing bargain. Our instructor the next day knew the hotel and also was a fan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

So glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We love getting our guests feedback and hope you will stay with us a bit longer next visit. We take pride in giving you great value and like to add extras when we can, like an upgraded room, loan of a paddle board, healthy breakfast goodies in the morning. Camile Fontaine blessed us with her art work which we display in all the rooms and exterior of the hotel, even the mail box! Our staff's genuine aloha spirit is easy to spot, and the gardens, koi, and our guests seem to flourish here. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Kauai, visit again soon! Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Garden Island Inn, and I was not impressed. Room 15 was very small. My husband could not even get out of the bed on his side because the bed was right against the wall. The box springs looked like something we would find in a dump. I didn't look at the mattress or pillows because I was afraid I would never lay down if I did. Room so tight there was not room to open suitcases. Navy towels. I don't know if they were clean or not. Mold on grout in the shower. Balcony so small only one person could sit there at a time. Very noisy with the road traffic. I am not a person to write a review, but after all the positive reviews I read before booking, I wanted to give my impressions. I can say that the people who worked there were very nice, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We want to stress the importance of calling the hotel for your room selection, not booking on line, as all of the rooms and suits vary in size and shape. Room 15 is a small corner room perfect for a single person or two persons for a short stay. The bed does have a new mattress, superior mattress pad, and new pillows. The house keeping staff takes care with every room, as well as all rooms are checked before every guests arrival. This room was too small for your comfort and we may have been able to change your reservation to another room had you addressed your concern upon your arrival. Thank you for staying with us. We are glad the staff made you feel welcome and provided good service. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
385 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
19.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £107 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing