We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star people.”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star people.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's not quite 5 stars in terms of luxury, but definitely in terms of the people, Very helpful, they bent over backward for us many times during the disruptions caused by Hurricane Iselle. We felt we had a home to stay in, with good friends.

We made use of both the outdoor tables and the porch tables (during the rain), the grounds are lovely. The geckos are rather small.

This is the Inn I would choose if I found myself in Lihue again. Quite comfortable, great location, what more is there to want?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurtPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Mahalo for being part of our hotel family and staying with us! Delivering 5 star service brings us great joy, our guests are the top priority. Glad Hurricane Iselle broke up and passed without any damage to Kauai. We were prepared and ready and in the end lucky.
I will pass on your compliments to the entire staff who keep the Garden Island Inn such a sparkling gem. Look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    210
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
167
393
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently, we spent several days at the Garden Island Inn, and if we went back to Kauai again, we would stay there again. The smallness of it gives it personality and charm, not like the big boys where everything looks the same, and you're just a face.
The front office staff was helpful and our rooms were clean and delightful with all the charming artwork.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story for the perfect view of the beach, but be sure to look at the greenery surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The original art works by Camile Fontaine inspire and brighten up every room, lanai and entire hotel! We delight daily at the beautiful art works, so glad you enjoyed her artistry. Our newest addition is her hand painted whale mail box adorned with tropical fish.
We look forward to your return visit to tropical paradise and and our aloha staff!
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

let us check-in 2 hrs early/ gave us option of 2 rooms w free upgrade. friendly staff. let us leave our bags after checkout as we had a late flight. staff was great and the room was clean with a wonderful view. short walk to Kalapaki beach, ABC store, and eateries. no pool or shuttle service to airport is only flaw. will do it again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has best view but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy10191958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Five stars for our service that is what we like to deliver! Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to having you back. The Lihue airport is close by and about a $10.00 taxi cab fare. I hope you had a chance to swim or cool off at beautiful Kalapaki Beach across the street; ocean temperature is about 80 & a nice sandy bottom. Providing a few extras can mean a lot, we are so glad we could make your stay even better. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We are here for only one night but would definitely come back another time for a longer stay. We chose this place because of all the positive feedback and comments. We weren't disappointed. We love everything about the place. The room was great for the four of us. The waterfall in the back is soothing sound at night. The beach is right across the street. Easy walk. They let you borrow most anything you need to make your stay more enjoyable. Beach towels. Umbrellas. Boogie boards. Snorkel gear. Plus much more. Books and DVDs if you want as well. We just had a delicious breakfast treat that was complimentary. The staff really is amazing. From the lady cleaning rooms to the office staff and owners. You guys really do things right. Thanks for being so awesome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
WOW, thank you so much! Our guests are our main priority, we get really excited & happy when our hotel and staff hits a home run with you! We enjoy our small family owned hotel at Kalapaki Beach enjoying the beauty of Kauai and Hawaiian lifestyle with lots of aloha spirit! We look forward to your next stay with us! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights mid July with 13 yr old son. Super friendly and customer-focused staff. 5 min walk to a variety of stores and a few restaurants (visited ABC convenience store and Duke's restaurant during stay). Also nice beach just across street - good place to chill. Used hotel as "HQ" as I toured Kauai. Good location - as it's mid point between opposing ends of island sights. Also very convenient to airport (5-7 min drive).
Hotel provides baked goods snacks (cookies/pie, mini scones/muffins from Costco) in their office throughout day. Basic appliances in room featuring kitchenette (frig, MW). Office provides all kinds of beach gear on an "honor" system - boogie boards, fold up beach chairs, noodles, coolers, snorkeling equipment - even aleo vera lotion and bug spray (!!). Stayed in room 12 (2nd floor) - which had 2 twin beds.
Excellent value hotel - but not opulent if that's what you're looking for. 4 star rating based on several relatively small items: foam vs. feather pillows (sorry but foam pillows don't cut it), room A/C was maxed out and could've been cooler (small A/C window unit) and small twin bed size. This warranted 3 star 'sleep' rating. Would stay here again if I was traveling just by myself - but would choose higher end resort if I was with family/gal. Good wifi signal in room. Note: hotel doesn't have pool.

Room Tip: If traveling with 2+ people I'd suggest you ask for a larger room - preferably on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
WE are so glad room 12 made up with 2 twin beds worked out for you and your son. We strive to provide the highest quality at our hotel with the greatest value, thanks for noticing! Many of our guests enjoy our free amenities and reasonable rates then splurge on vacation highlights like helicopter rides, sunset boat cruised, Na Pali snorkel trips, four wheel jungle adventures and more. The hotels' third floor rooms are a bit more spacious, king and queen bed, or king and 2 twins, even king and 3 twins. WE also have 2 condo with full kitchen, 2 separate bedrooms, stack washer/dryer. Our Banyon Harbor rental Condos also have a beautiful swimming pool, tennis court, and BBQ area.
I will be checking the pillows and AC, thanks for the heads up. We strive to make our guests comfortable. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were so well treated by everyone at this hotel. It is convenient to everything and the staff is great. There was a problem with noisy guests one early morning and the manager took care of it in a very proper manner. And Judy, the cleaning lady in the room was a welcoming presence too.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and were quite happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon34895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
WE are so glad the late night incident did not spoil your stay. We have a night manager on property for emergencies and security coverage. Our sound proof cinder-block walls and floors quiets most room noise and our reputation attracts relaxed family oriented vacation clientele.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, all of the staff, and our location. We hope to have you back with us again soon!
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent 5 nights at the garden island inn. I travel a lot and the garden island inn ranks highly on my list of places i have stayed at. Directly outside is the lihou shuttle bus stop. The staff at the garden island inn are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Complimentary use of beach equiptment is available at reception and there is free cake. Cereal bars and water/coffee too

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank da11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. Your comfort, safety, relaxation, convince & having a home away from home is what we strive to provide. Our wonderful staff, tropical art, kitchenettes in every room,free available beach gear, snacks & goodies, gardens and waterfalls, is symbolic of the Hawaiian Aloha life style. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing