We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I look forward to staying here every time I come to Kaua'i. All of the rooms are a little different, which I think is fun, but they are always impeccably clean, and have many amenities like refrigerators, bowls and plates, provided teabags, etc. The grounds and gardens are beautiful!

But the real reason to stay here is the friendly and helpful staff. On my most recent trip, our travel plans were affected by Hurricane Iselle, and the front desk staff bent over backwards to help us out!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We enjoy the uniqueness of this hotel. We are constantly modernizing the rooms and refreshing the grounds, the hotel gets better with age and we hope we do too. There is no corporate mass production here, a true original! Mahalo for staying with us and your compliments. Great value, comfort, location and staff; happy to share with our guests! Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    204
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
159
375
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a night here because it was so close to the airport as we began our Kauai adventure. It was a great beginning to the vacation. The room was conveniently located, easy to find and exactly what we expected. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piston60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hospitality is our passion, one night or a few weeks, we welcome you! Our location at Kalapaki Beach, convenient to the airport, and sightseeing the beautiful tropical wonders of Kauai you will always find a warm aloha at our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and recommending the hotel!
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Garden Island Inn is a small, charming hotel which exudes Hawaiian hospitality. It has its little quirks, like dated air conditioning but it is clean and neat. The staff and owners who live on property are kind, friendly and accomodating. If you are the kind of traveler who really wants to experience the culture you are visiting, this is the place. Its individual and not a large chain hotel.

Room Tip: did not see all the rooms but my room on the second floor had a lanai and lots of light as opposed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palani96734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am glad you found us to be free of pretense, we like to be authentic and deliver our guests top service. The staff is primarily Hawaiian locals who are great at sharing their island knowledge and culture. Steve has owned and managed the hotel for 28 years and still his love. We like to make your stay extraordinary not ordinary. Your feedback is so important to us! We strive to provide great value, location and service. Hope to have you stay with us again soon! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having been to Kauai multiple times, I feel there is absolutely no better value on the island. Lis, one of the owners, is on site and is genuinely interested not only in your experience at the Inn (which is quite important), but your activities on Kauai. Actually, that can be said about the entire staff - it is like they are the unofficial ambassadors for Kauai. The Inn actually has a condo at the adjoining property (Banyan Harbor), this is where we actually stayed. Great value, the condo is a two story townhome with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, 1.5 bathrooms and multiple decks, along with a washer and dryer, which is a huge plus after a day of hiking and going to the beach. We did get to see the entire Inn, however, as Joyce took time from holding down the front desk to give us the full tour. It is a beautiful property, lush gardens and an cool waterfall out back. The rooms are clean and well apportioned, definitely a great value. Being directly on the beach did not deter us, it was literally a two minute walk from the front office to the beach. And as other have mentioned, the front desk has free gear to use on the honor system, including snorkel gear, chairs, boards, sunscreen, bug spray, books and DVD's. Furthermore, the lack of a bar and restaurant on site made no difference, the Inn is right by multiple eating and drinking establishments and shopping opportunities. As for no pool, I found the swims in the ocean much more rewarding than some crowded pool on a hotel property. If you are looking for the best value and the best customer service in your stay on Kauai, I strongly recommend the Garden Island Inn.

Room Tip: Room out front for water view, but rooms around back have the soothing sounds of the waterfall, or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha! Thank you so much for writing about our rental condo "Hale Kalapaki" at Banyon Harbor adjacent to the hotel. We want to offer our guests an option for more living space while part of our hotel family. We are glad you find more adventures to enjoy on Kauai and our hotel the perfect location for your headquarters. We like hearing your love of the helicopter trip and moonlight beach walk, relaxing at night with a DVD and local takeout food to charge the next day in paradise. Look forward to seeing your smile and delightful self at the hotel again soon. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's not quite 5 stars in terms of luxury, but definitely in terms of the people, Very helpful, they bent over backward for us many times during the disruptions caused by Hurricane Iselle. We felt we had a home to stay in, with good friends.

We made use of both the outdoor tables and the porch tables (during the rain), the grounds are lovely. The geckos are rather small.

This is the Inn I would choose if I found myself in Lihue again. Quite comfortable, great location, what more is there to want?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurtPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Mahalo for being part of our hotel family and staying with us! Delivering 5 star service brings us great joy, our guests are the top priority. Glad Hurricane Iselle broke up and passed without any damage to Kauai. We were prepared and ready and in the end lucky.
I will pass on your compliments to the entire staff who keep the Garden Island Inn such a sparkling gem. Look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently, we spent several days at the Garden Island Inn, and if we went back to Kauai again, we would stay there again. The smallness of it gives it personality and charm, not like the big boys where everything looks the same, and you're just a face.
The front office staff was helpful and our rooms were clean and delightful with all the charming artwork.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story for the perfect view of the beach, but be sure to look at the greenery surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The original art works by Camile Fontaine inspire and brighten up every room, lanai and entire hotel! We delight daily at the beautiful art works, so glad you enjoyed her artistry. Our newest addition is her hand painted whale mail box adorned with tropical fish.
We look forward to your return visit to tropical paradise and and our aloha staff!
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

let us check-in 2 hrs early/ gave us option of 2 rooms w free upgrade. friendly staff. let us leave our bags after checkout as we had a late flight. staff was great and the room was clean with a wonderful view. short walk to Kalapaki beach, ABC store, and eateries. no pool or shuttle service to airport is only flaw. will do it again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has best view but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy10191958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Five stars for our service that is what we like to deliver! Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to having you back. The Lihue airport is close by and about a $10.00 taxi cab fare. I hope you had a chance to swim or cool off at beautiful Kalapaki Beach across the street; ocean temperature is about 80 & a nice sandy bottom. Providing a few extras can mean a lot, we are so glad we could make your stay even better. Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing