We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated/Funky 1960s Motel - Worth a Look”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Updated/Funky 1960s Motel – Worth a Look”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed four nights in August, 2014. We chose it because of its location, and its (relatively) budget pricing. We had a third-floor room with air conditioning.

The facility looks to originally date from the 1960s and, objectively-speaking, falls into the low side of “two-diamond.” It’s clean and basic, but not ritzy. However, the unique painting and decoration goes a long way to make it more interesting! Our third-floor room, with a high ceiling, felt bright and airy. The bathroom had been partly updated.

The staff are very helpful.

There’s a garden area out front where you can sit and read in the shade.

The location is terrific – you can walk to a nice beach and a good selection of restaurants… and an easy drive to many more.

Combine all this with the reasonable price, and it’s not a bad deal.

A few more comments:

The back side of the hotel is built into a hill. That’s where the man-made water feature is located. The water is loud, but it masks sounds that might otherwise be audible from other rooms.

Being built into a hill, however, the hotel’s very close to the native wildlife. Kauai as a whole has tons of geckos, so don’t be surprised if a little one finds his way into your room. They’re harmless, eat bugs, and kinda cute, but a surprise if you’re not prepared. We also found a very large bug in our room one night – again, presumably because of the surroundings. This was a surprise, and NOT cute. However, the place was quite clean and there was no sign of cleanliness being a factor in the bug’s presence.

On balance, the Garden Island Inn is definitely worth considering, especially for a third-floor room.

Room Tip: Third floor, if you don't mind climbing the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corydoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are glad the location and funky clean reasonably price hotel worked out for your four nights with us. It is more and more a rarity to discover a quaint mom & pop boutique artsy hotel. The way of the USA is big corporate owned chain lodging, where you know exactly what you will get. We love the uniqueness of every room the original art and Hawaiian aloha of our staff, and no added costs for parking, wifi, beach accessories & pie & snacks in the lobby.We are updating the hotel with a new roof, solar panels and copper gutters this week. Hope you will stop and stay with us again! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    216
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
174
404
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This little gem of a hotel is a special treat for anybody . It's very clean with the friendliest staff you'll ever meat and wonderfully decorated by original oil paintings . The outside of this paradise garden is tastefully cover by true Hawaiian style mural art. If we ever visit Kauai again we know this place feels like our home. We have visited many places but this one is the one we will never forget. The only problem is that you'll never want to leave this place even if you have to go back to Toronto.

Room Tip: top floor offers better view of the beach and you can watch the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pilsenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Aloha! We like to think we are the owners of a Little Gem of a Hotel in Tropical Paridise, thanks for your comment. WE and the staff at the hotel make guest service the number one priority. It is our home and labor of love to keep the gardens and hotel in top condition. The hotel has evolved over the past 28 years with my husbands flare for creativity and art. Thanks for enjoying what is here.
Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Kauai to have our wedding on Anini Beach. The beach house wouldn't be ready for two days so we booked a room here. We chose the Inn because of the price, it location from the airport, and the fact that they offered free use of their beach stuff. We arrived late that night due to a cancelled flight. The lady at the desk was very friendly, checked us in and gave us recommendations on where to grab a bite for dinner. We went to eat and returned to our room. We were anxious about what the room would look like. When we walked in, we were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and very cute! The next morning, we were even more pleased by seeing the garden. It's very quaint and private. We highly recommend staying here. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They made us feel at home!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaii8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! We are so glad we could enhance your special occasion with a comfortable room and our delightful aloha staff! WE hope you come back for some honeymoon time with us in the comming years.
Our location is perfect; beach front, mid island, several island adventures start here, Lihue Airport close by, Nawiliwili small Boat Harbor, shoping and great restaurants in walking distance. Our commitment is for our guest experience to be 5 star! Thank you for your feedback!
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My sister and I stayed one night at the Garden Island Inn, as we had accommodations for the rest of our stay on Kauai at the condos right next door to this special gem. We were both so taken with this little hotel's quaint gentle beauty we wished we could stay our whole time here. The room was large enough for two, we had twin beds. The little bathroom had pink and black tiles. It was like a studio apartment. There was an artist paintings all over the place, on the walls, on the doors, on large flat rocks that were designed to look as fish on a stone path. At night, the hotel lights up with bright blue lights, and there is a magical place with a gazebo with white lights. It is like a fairy tale place... a special "gift of Aloha" from the owners to their guests. They have boogie boards, games, dvd's, books, and beach towels all free for your use. They serve coffee and treats in the morning. There is even a coy pond where huge gold fish swim inside and out in their pool. Plenty of parking is available. The staff and owners are the most friendly people who love to share their Aloha and their story with you. Ask the owner's wife how she came to live on Kauai with her husband only a couple of years ago. A romantic love story.... The Garden Island Inn sign was like a beacon to our own condo, so that in the dark of the night we could find our way to Wilcox Rd. I can not recommend this place enough, if you like a step back in time... to maybe the "60's or "70's... if you don't care about big high rise hotels, and want a special place to remember for years to come. You can easily walk to the local stores and restaurants, as well as to the beach near by. I suggest you take Rt. 58, which is right there for you, to get to Rt 56 as you go on to your other journeys, so as to miss much of Downtown Lihue and be easily on your way to your next big adventure!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. I do not think they have elevators to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeezeLouise4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the Special Gem title! Everyone at the hotel enjoyed you two traveling sisters! You had a great eye for catching all of the small details and we appreciated the joy you found in them. It is great fun talking story with our guest from around the world. I am glad we could share the passing of partners and discovery on new partners. Wishing you lots of laughter and hope you journey this way again soon. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you want to experience true Hawaiian hospitality, this is the place for you. The location is great, the grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean and the amenities are great. The most important reason to stay here is the staff - they treat everyone like family and go way above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAS96744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Mahalo!! There is something very special about Hawaii and particularly Kauai. The Island seems to live in nature. There is harmony in the surf, trade winds, weather, and the people. We are grateful for the opportunity to share the beauty and positive spirit, with our guests at the hotel. The twinkling lights, beautiful murals, original art, and fabulous staff makes this a true gem on the Island. Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I look forward to staying here every time I come to Kaua'i. All of the rooms are a little different, which I think is fun, but they are always impeccably clean, and have many amenities like refrigerators, bowls and plates, provided teabags, etc. The grounds and gardens are beautiful!

But the real reason to stay here is the friendly and helpful staff. On my most recent trip, our travel plans were affected by Hurricane Iselle, and the front desk staff bent over backwards to help us out!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We enjoy the uniqueness of this hotel. We are constantly modernizing the rooms and refreshing the grounds, the hotel gets better with age and we hope we do too. There is no corporate mass production here, a true original! Mahalo for staying with us and your compliments. Great value, comfort, location and staff; happy to share with our guests! Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a night here because it was so close to the airport as we began our Kauai adventure. It was a great beginning to the vacation. The room was conveniently located, easy to find and exactly what we expected. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piston60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hospitality is our passion, one night or a few weeks, we welcome you! Our location at Kalapaki Beach, convenient to the airport, and sightseeing the beautiful tropical wonders of Kauai you will always find a warm aloha at our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and recommending the hotel!
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,309 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing