We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed at the garden island inn for a couple of days before going to Hanalei thanks to the great reviews on here. Everything good that we read about this gorgous hotel was right on. The art that fills the whole grounds along with the beautiful gardens really gives thatold hawaiian feeling. The helpful staff and free beach gear really exemplifies the aloha spirit. I would deffinately reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean affordable stay with the old time hawaiian feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2008

I can't think of a bad thing to say about the Garden Island Inn. A short taxi fare from the airport but far enough away from it to not be annoyed by aircraft noise.

The rooms are lovely and the local bus stops right out front. The staff are very helpful and the price is right. There is also 24 hour help if other guests are too noisy!

A perfect place to stay while you take in the wonders of Kaua'i.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

stayed at this hotel our first night in kauai. definately what i would classify as a budget hotel. we stayed in a palm level room on the ground floor (#1). it had air conditioning and was tidy but i wouldn't say clean. there was a definate need for some deep cleaning in the nooks and crannies. the staff was friendly and helpful and the overall ambiance on the outside is charming and welcoming. also, our toliet seat was broken. okay for a one night stay but i wouldn't book for your entire trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank piperlouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

I spent 9 nights at the Garden Island Inn in December 2008. I am extremely happy with everything this hotel offered. The rooms were reasonable large and very clean. Each room had a refrigerator and a microwave oven. They even offered me the choice of all rooms avaible at that time.

The beach is right across the street, within a five minute walk. It is the same beach that guests at the Marriott were using, so why pay three times more for another hotel? The beach is very nice, most of the time there were no waves at all.

The staff at the Garden Island Inn was great. They gave me the much needed advice on what to do in Kauai. You can always borrow from them a towel, a beach mat or an umbrella.

There are several restaurants and a convenience store within the walking distance to the hotel.

I strongly recommend this hotel either for a short stay (it is within a couple of miles from the airport) or for an extended vacation like mine.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dzibator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

A nice hotel convenient to airport, but no noise from planes. Like everything in Hawaii, the rooms are overpriced for what they are ... think 1980s Days Inn. Work has been done, but it's only a paint job.

Staff is really friendly and helpful with insider information about island and activities.

Room was clean, but walking in socks on tile floors will reveal exactly how much dirt remains on the floors. The bathrooms are clean and only reveal stray hair and mildew if you look really hard. Convenient kitchenette includes microwave, full-size coffeemaker, fridge, and sink.

There are two sad shopping centers within an easy walk, the best they offer is the ABC Store, which sells foods & beer/wine/soda. There's a Marriott across the street that has a beautiful beach and two great restaurants ... they don't seem to mind guests from other hotels.

Considering the costs of the many other hotels on the island, Garden Island Inn is an inexpensive alternative, but still not entirely worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skydiverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Like many others, we needed a place to stay for two nights until our five night Marriott package kicked in. We found the Garden Island Inn here on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. What a great find! Okay - rooms are small, hand sewn curtains don't exactly fit the windows, and your bedspread looks like it's straight from Sears. In short, no frilly, all funky, but a hip funky! If you can live with that, you'll love it here. The hosts are great, and as has been mentioned, you can borrow coolers, boogie boards and beach chairs for your short walk across the street to Kalapaki beach in front of the Marriott Beach Club. We had a second floor room with a nice lanai, but the "ocean view" is first parking lot, then street, then park, then ocean, so don't expect to feel the salt spray on your cheek. Personally, I'd opt for the cheaper garden room since the garden is green and peaceful (but small) and is just as close to the beach. Koi ponds are beautiful (with baby koi!) and the hand painted doors to each room lend a very charming feel. We totally lucked out by staying 9/7 which happened to be the owner's 20th anniversary of purchasing the hotel. We were invited to a luau that night which was so real and local we felt honored being a part of it. Whole roasted pig, huge feast, live music = pure magic. You may not get that experience, but it speaks to the heart of the management. Enjoy Duke's Canoe Club across the street at the Marriott for relatively cheap eats and tasty drinks, and the Beach Shack up the street for good cheap coffee and breakfast. The only down side of the Garden Island Inn was no pool - I'm a lounge chair lizard, and I like my pool time. Still, for the price it's a gem if you're looking for a great location for a home base.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bow_Wineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We stayed here for one night waiting for our condo to come free. Although next to a road, it is not too noisy and is also next to a great beach and restaurants. Staff are good and lots of beach things to borrow. A great choice but not luxury

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,397 reviews
9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £104 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing