We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb customer service and family atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We enjoyed our stay immensely! Great value, beautiful gardens, wonderfully painted artistic rooms and best of all....the people running the place bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiksterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2009

Great central location, can get to all parts of the Island quickly. Close to the airport but we never really heard air traffic. The staff of this hotel was exceptional and took personal interest in our stay. When we arrived, we met Annie, working the front desk at the Garden Island Inn. Her warm and vivacious personality make her a great ambassador for Kauai and make a great first impression for this hotel. For the 8 days that we stayed there, her enthusiasm never waned. Robin, Susan, and all the others were great to work with too and all were quick to accommodate any of our needs. They have plenty of beach equipment including chairs, snorkel items, boogie boards, etc. for loan. The rooms were clean, comfortable, modern, and well decorated and we're definitely going to come back to the Garden Island Inn and Kauai.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissouriERdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The Garden Island Inn is a short taxi-ride from the airport (about $10) and across the street from the Kalapaki Beach and Marriott Resort. It is not a fancy hotel but is a great value for $110 during high season. The room was clean and comfortable but you should not have unrealistic expectations of luxury amenities. There was some noise from the cars on the street facing the building but nothing that should bother someone of average sensitivity. We were only there for 3 nights but I would have been comfortable there a week since we had a very active stay and only used the room for sleeping. If you are the type who spends a lot of time in your room on vacation or needs very plush accommodations this probably wont suit you.

The free wireless access in the room was great and there was a fridge and microwave in our room which was very convenient. We ate at Dukes once for lunch and once for dinner since it was right across the street but you will need a car or taxi to get to other restaurant options. We ate at Dani's and Tip Top in town for local breakfast and lunch options and each time was super affordable (under $30 for 2 people) and yummy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheTravelGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Good for a night or two if you need to be close the airport.
The price is high for what you get.
Kauai is awesome so if this place fits your budget go for it.
Make sure you look around at some of the bigger hotels because they run specials

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Camelduece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed at the garden island inn for a couple of days before going to Hanalei thanks to the great reviews on here. Everything good that we read about this gorgous hotel was right on. The art that fills the whole grounds along with the beautiful gardens really gives thatold hawaiian feeling. The helpful staff and free beach gear really exemplifies the aloha spirit. I would deffinately reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean affordable stay with the old time hawaiian feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

I can't think of a bad thing to say about the Garden Island Inn. A short taxi fare from the airport but far enough away from it to not be annoyed by aircraft noise.

The rooms are lovely and the local bus stops right out front. The staff are very helpful and the price is right. There is also 24 hour help if other guests are too noisy!

A perfect place to stay while you take in the wonders of Kaua'i.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

stayed at this hotel our first night in kauai. definately what i would classify as a budget hotel. we stayed in a palm level room on the ground floor (#1). it had air conditioning and was tidy but i wouldn't say clean. there was a definate need for some deep cleaning in the nooks and crannies. the staff was friendly and helpful and the overall ambiance on the outside is charming and welcoming. also, our toliet seat was broken. okay for a one night stay but i wouldn't book for your entire trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank piperlouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £119 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing