We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Chula Vista, California
1 review
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I have to say this first: the staff is so friendly and helpful. We were able to leave a duffel between weekend stays (we stayed 4 nights and added one more) between hiking weeks. The room was great (we opted for the least expensive room). My only complaint was the bed was against the wall forcing me to slide out at the foot of the bed but it was understandable given the room configuration. I just couldn't stretch my arms out sideways like I like to do. :) Lots of goods available to borrow (beach chairs/towels/coolers/books/movies) or take (we got two canisters of leftover fuel saving us time) and lots of snacks and fruit in the office - yum. A plus is the location - the beach easily accessed and visible across the street, lots of shops, and great restaurants (don't miss the Beach Hut, a great bargain for food.). Also quick drives to the mall, big boxes, and groceries simply by driving left or right out of the inn. Yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    210
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
167
393
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Hi:)
stayed for 2 nights in mid november...very picturesque little inn, loved all the paintings there, in rooms etc, Room Comfortable, Very Gracious Friendly hosts...Sheila, etc
Loved the waterfall, there at back of rooms, very Pea cefull
Dang forgot to take photos of room to put on here
Only Negatives were, no laundromat on premises
Or internet facilties in foyer
Maybe those 2 things could be addressed
Mahalo and Aloha

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The grounds and the unique artwork, painted by a local artist, on the doors and walls are beautiful. The location is great for Kalapaki Beach and airport access. The rooms are clean and cute, the price is good, and the staff is outstanding. Have we missed anything? Good meals available across the street at the Kalapaki Beach Hut (the fish sandwich is good!) and downtown at the Tip Top Cafe.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were getting married on Kauai and staying at a different hotel. I booked this condo for my children and grandchild to stay in. The staff is very friendly and they provide boogie boards, snorkeling equipment etc. It is an OK place with decent prices. Unfortunately, when we arrived, there were dead roaches in the corners and when we opened up the silverware drawer there were bugs. They came over and cleaned all the silverware and removed the dead bugs. After that we saw a couple more dead bugs, but just cleaned them up ourselves. We didn't want them to spray because of the baby. It was a bit of a walk from the Condo (separate from the hotel) to the beach, but not terrible. The location is great, it's a 2-1/2 - 3 star place, very economical, might have been better in the hotel area, but we wanted the option of cooking to save money. Next time we'll stay in the hotel part.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishin087, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Aloha, I am so very sorry to hear that you found dead bugs in your unit. Our hotel policy is to always take fresh flowers up to the condo, inspect, dust, open windows the morning before a check in; and this should have never happened. I was glad to hear that our staff responded and that you were happy with the other services we provided for you. I can tell you that we work hard to keep the bugs out, and the rosters from crowing. Thank you for staying with us and your honest review, steps have been taken to insure this doesn't happen again.

Steve Layne/owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed two nights at the Garden Island at the end of a week on Kauai, and couldn't have asked for a more pleasant ending to our vacation. We stayed on the third floor, in a room with a view of the beach and a private lanai that was perfect for our family's needs. The room was not ultramodern, but it was spotlessly clean and cheerily decorated, including fresh flowers and a locally-produced coloring book with crayons for our toddler. The biggest highlight of the stay, however, was the staff, who were gracious and helpful in ever way (I think the chance to help feed the very large koi in the pond on site was the highlight of our child's whole trip!). Highly recommended for those seeking a clean, affordable (for Hawaii, at least) place to call "home" while seeing the sites of Kauai.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Palouseparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This has to be the best value on the island. Amazing service. They squeeze every possible amenity into their rooms. The service and friendliness is the best I have ever experienced including those from 5 star hotels. Every nook & cranny has something charming. They truly care about every one of their guests. The location couldn't be better; restaurants, shops and a great beach. I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taggyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here our first and last night (2 nights), and camped the rest (4 nights) simply because we were on a budget and would rather spend $ on great food and things to do than fancy accommodations. The owner/staff at the Garden Island Inn were extremely friendly and helpful. They even let you borrow equipment, towels, coolers etc. We borrowed towels the first day because we got in late and didn't want to pack them, then bought some cheap ones from Wal-mart while we were camping the rest of the week and then gave our Walmart towels to the Garden Island inn for others to use when we left.

The first night we had a ground floor which was clean and had a comfy bed and even AC!! The last night we stayed on the second floor and had a partial Nawiliwili Bay view and the balcony was nice to hang towels and wet stuff on. It also had AC which we only used at night (we are from Alaska and like it chilly). The hotel is surrounded by beautiful vegetation and a water fountain in the back of the hotel that is just wonderful to listen to. All of the doors and other areas are hand painted and it just gives the place such a nice beach feeling without being overdone or gaudy.

We walked across the street to eat at Duke's, which is part of the Marriott and could also walk across the street to lay on the beach, play volleyball or rent paddle boards etc. There are places very close to buy souvenirs etc. We paid about $115 for each night, which is actually a deal compared to what you pay everywhere else. Out of all the BUDGET hotels in Kauai, this is the best one. I spend lots of time researching just to stay 1-2 nights and after going and staying, I would recommend this to family and friends. If you're really on a budget, camping is awesome, just go to the parks and rec website for Kauai and print out the info for each camp location so you know when they are open-closed during the week for maintenance. FYI-Northshore camping is the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKtravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing