We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a really really nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We spent Christmas with our adult kids up in Princeville (at a fancy place), then moved down to Lihue after they left. Our 8 days at the GII were much more pleasant than the time up north.
We had a nice large 2nd floor room with a small fridge for cold drinks. It is a short walk across the street to Kalapaki Beach, a very clean quiet crescent beach. The office has beach chairs, boogie boards, towels, & snorkel gear for your use. Lihue is in the middle of the island so it is easy to drive to other beaches north or south (btw the front desk hooked us up with a rental car at a great rate!) but most of the time we did not have a car. The local bus stops right in front & the fare is only $.50. There are at least 8 restaurants within a short walk, so you have plenty of choices nearby. Best of all, the entire staff is super nice & helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUBuffFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife and I traveled with her sister and husband, and we had an enjoyable experience. With the help of Tripadvisor we researched this place, and it was everything we expected. We stayed at one of their condos for basically the same price of their rooms which are a bargin to start off with. You have a view of the water, but you are not on the beach. There is traffic noise, but if you use the air conditioning you do not hear it at all. Most of the noise was from the roosters that are present everywhere, and they are quite funny even when they wake you up early in the morning.

The rooms were clean, but note that the bedrooms and the main bathroom (with the tub and shower) are upstairs. Could be a problem for some people. Their maid service is listed as "periodic," but you can request service any time you want, or pick up towels if you need them. The office has beach chairs, beach mats, coolers and other items that you can borrow. Check what they have before you buy anything. They have a library of tour and travel books that I suspect were contributed by past patrons, and the staff could not have been more helpful.

The condo was clean, very well stocked; in fact, check to see what you have before you head to the grocery store. Coffee, paper towels, 3 cork screws (!) no calorie sweetner, etc. were all in the room. A nice small balcony to watch the sun come up and enjoy your morning coffee, good sized kitchen, eating and sitting area.

The pool is a short walk and is salt water. Nothing special, but it is there for your use.

We used it as a base of operation, and since we had a rental car it did not matter if we had to drive to see or do something. Chances are most people will need a rental car anyway, and abundant, beautiful beaches are all over the island. Unless you need to be on the beach (and pay for that dearly in most cases) you would be wise to give this place a try.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I have to say this first: the staff is so friendly and helpful. We were able to leave a duffel between weekend stays (we stayed 4 nights and added one more) between hiking weeks. The room was great (we opted for the least expensive room). My only complaint was the bed was against the wall forcing me to slide out at the foot of the bed but it was understandable given the room configuration. I just couldn't stretch my arms out sideways like I like to do. :) Lots of goods available to borrow (beach chairs/towels/coolers/books/movies) or take (we got two canisters of leftover fuel saving us time) and lots of snacks and fruit in the office - yum. A plus is the location - the beach easily accessed and visible across the street, lots of shops, and great restaurants (don't miss the Beach Hut, a great bargain for food.). Also quick drives to the mall, big boxes, and groceries simply by driving left or right out of the inn. Yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Hi:)
stayed for 2 nights in mid november...very picturesque little inn, loved all the paintings there, in rooms etc, Room Comfortable, Very Gracious Friendly hosts...Sheila, etc
Loved the waterfall, there at back of rooms, very Pea cefull
Dang forgot to take photos of room to put on here
Only Negatives were, no laundromat on premises
Or internet facilties in foyer
Maybe those 2 things could be addressed
Mahalo and Aloha

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyMKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The grounds and the unique artwork, painted by a local artist, on the doors and walls are beautiful. The location is great for Kalapaki Beach and airport access. The rooms are clean and cute, the price is good, and the staff is outstanding. Have we missed anything? Good meals available across the street at the Kalapaki Beach Hut (the fish sandwich is good!) and downtown at the Tip Top Cafe.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were getting married on Kauai and staying at a different hotel. I booked this condo for my children and grandchild to stay in. The staff is very friendly and they provide boogie boards, snorkeling equipment etc. It is an OK place with decent prices. Unfortunately, when we arrived, there were dead roaches in the corners and when we opened up the silverware drawer there were bugs. They came over and cleaned all the silverware and removed the dead bugs. After that we saw a couple more dead bugs, but just cleaned them up ourselves. We didn't want them to spray because of the baby. It was a bit of a walk from the Condo (separate from the hotel) to the beach, but not terrible. The location is great, it's a 2-1/2 - 3 star place, very economical, might have been better in the hotel area, but we wanted the option of cooking to save money. Next time we'll stay in the hotel part.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plcgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishin087, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

Aloha, I am so very sorry to hear that you found dead bugs in your unit. Our hotel policy is to always take fresh flowers up to the condo, inspect, dust, open windows the morning before a check in; and this should have never happened. I was glad to hear that our staff responded and that you were happy with the other services we provided for you. I can tell you that we work hard to keep the bugs out, and the rosters from crowing. Thank you for staying with us and your honest review, steps have been taken to insure this doesn't happen again.

Steve Layne/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed two nights at the Garden Island at the end of a week on Kauai, and couldn't have asked for a more pleasant ending to our vacation. We stayed on the third floor, in a room with a view of the beach and a private lanai that was perfect for our family's needs. The room was not ultramodern, but it was spotlessly clean and cheerily decorated, including fresh flowers and a locally-produced coloring book with crayons for our toddler. The biggest highlight of the stay, however, was the staff, who were gracious and helpful in ever way (I think the chance to help feed the very large koi in the pond on site was the highlight of our child's whole trip!). Highly recommended for those seeking a clean, affordable (for Hawaii, at least) place to call "home" while seeing the sites of Kauai.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Palouseparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £109 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing