We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vacation”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. We spent one week here and one week in Princeviile. Both sides were amazing. There is everything in one place when you stay at this Marriott, no need to go anywhere.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view. Very peaceful sleeping, well except for the roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonBG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    885
    336
    145
    84
See reviews for
665
1,377
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wow--we stayed at the Kauai Marriott for 10 days, and I can't say enough about it. The hotel and grounds are top notch. We have a 4 and 5 year old, and found it to be a great place to stay with kids. The gardens are amazing. Has a beautiful koi pond--the kids can feed the fish each morning. Has a great kiddie pool(with a water slide) & adult pool. It is right on the beach--complete with towel service and beach chairs. The rooms are very nice. The service is exceptional. This would be the perfect get-a-way for a honeymoon or vacation with little ones. I'm not sure about the night life, as we didn't check it out. The food at the resort is expensive, but there are a number of cheap eats within an easy walking distance. I highly recommend it. Although we rented a car, one could easily just stay at the resort and have a great time. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

By far the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed at. I don't think there's a bad view. It's within walking distance to everything you need. Also the service was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicahongtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
432 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Better hotel then expected. We usually stay at Marriotts as they seem to be very consistent. This hotel was better then we expected. The pool area/ beach area are fantastic and the grounds are gorgeous. There is an easy walk to a few restaraunts and some shopping areas as well. As far as the island goes, this is a good location and its about right in the middle as well as being close to the airport. The room we had was very nicely sized with a large sitting area and a good sized bathroom. Seems like a nicer resort then some of the other Marriotts we have stayed in. Great place for a family as well with a huge pool and pool area. The beach is on a bay that is pretty well protected and pretty calm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Perfect place for a family, or multiple families, to stay and play. The staff treats you like you are royalty. Just rent a car for a couple of days and then just stay at the resort to swim, kayak and eat at multiple good restaurants. Duke's barefoot bar is our favorite for an afternoon snack. Kukui's is ideal for a small healthy breakfast or the elaborate breakfast buffet. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JenBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed Feb 26-29, 2012. Overall, I was really pleased with the hotel. Given some of the negative reviews here, I was not expecting it to be as nice as it was. I was treated very well and my Marriott Gold status was acknowledged upon check in. I was given an automatic upgrade to an excellent pool-view room in the Hau'pua (sp?) wing because of the Rewards Program status. My profile requests were all honored. The view encompassed both the pool and the beach beyond. I think the hotel is a tremendous value for the price paid. We both thought the bed was quite comfortable, and the room was nicely appointed-not shabby or worn at all. The carpet in the hallway looked almost new. (From these reviews, I can see that rain damage occurred right after we left, but the hotel was pristine when I was there).

Kukui's is the restaurant right in the hotel (adjacent to the pool). Make sure you get the Marriott Vacation Card from the Timeshare Lady on your first morning (no sales pitch necessary) because it gives you twenty percent off at Kukui's. The buffet breakfast at Kukui's was mediocre, to say the least, especially given the price (thirty dollars or so). You might like it, but we found it awful, because everything we got was cold and tasteless, the juice was watered down, and some of the bread products were stale. The Omelet station, on the other hand, was excellent, so you might think it's worth it just for that. I say, order an omelet from the menu if that's what you want...at half the price...and skip the buffet madness.
When we ordered from the menu at Kukui's, the breakfasts were really good. The Molokai eggs, the blueberry pancakes, and eggs benedict were honestly very tasty. We also enjoyed a simple dinner at Kukui's the first night we arrived...we had the appetizer called Mongolian Beef and it was really enough for a meal if you add a serving of rice (extra three dollars). Convenient, quick, inexpensive and hot after a long day of airport food and a late arrival to the hotel. They stay open until ten p.m. or later (The other hotel-affiliated restaurants involve about a 1-2 block walk along a beach path, depending upon where you are in the hotel, and are not the best choice for evening flight arrival guests).

We ate next night at Portofino's Northern Italian restaurant and found it to be overpriced and underwhelming. Service was spotty. My husband's minestrone soup was thin, weak, and cold (nine dollars, thank you very much). They did have good desserts, however. The next night we went to Duke's and it was entirely a different story. Great value. Fresh and abundant salad bar, excellent entrees at very reasonable prices, great bread selection. Friendly and welcoming wait staff.

Hotel's pool, kiddie pool, hot tubs, and common areas all breathtakingly beautiful and very well cared for. Water in pool comfortably warm. The hotel's physical plant was stunning and well worth the price we paid to stay. I really shouldn't complain, but there are some caveats.

Negatives:
Coffee is five dollars (no free coffee in lobby) to bring back to room. Wouldn't mind so much, but it wasn't good...weak and lame. Coffee appears to be one of their big money-makers here.
Check-In is awkward, weird, and involved. You have to go down an escalator and walk a ways, then down three or four marble steps to get to the check-in from where you first enter the hotel. Very cumbersome when you have rolling luggage to schlepp. Waited in line awhile, too.
Kids (and some intoxicated adults) behaved badly on 2 of the 3 evenings out at the pool area, even after official closing time. This noise echos up to the rooms. Some high-school age kids congregated in the kiddie pool area beneath our balcony somewhat late into the night. Have to wonder if they were even staying at the hotel.
Had a non-alcoholic pina colada at the pool bar, and thought it was dreadful tasting (nine dollars without any rum in it!)
Fitness room and business center seemed WAY out of the way to me. Hard to find and, when I did, nothing to write home about
Hot tubs were not hot enough for my taste, and often overrun with kids, even at night.

All that having been said,
I would stay here again without question because it's comfortable, beautiful, fun, offers so much choice, and has an exquisite view. And because of the extremely reasonable rates offered to Marriott Rewards guests (and others) compared to other Kauai resort hotels. It's also a great place to stay when you first arrive in Kauai (especially if you have a late night arrival), even if you have other hotels on your itinerary. Ultra close to the airport, the shuttle is painless, you can relax for a few days, and then go on to your other hotel(s). If you have booked at an extremely expensive hotel elsewhere on Kauai, this makes even more sense. Who wants to pay those rates for a very late-night arrival in the dark, driving on unfamiliar roads? Stay at the Marriott and then take the shuttle to the airport and get a rental car when you're rested and ready. For us, the three days was just right. We pocketed the money we would have spent on a rental car and just decompressed from our East coast mainland flight.

Additional Positives:
The shuttle drivers were wonderful. I received excellent service, from and back to the airport. Friendly and kind.
Interesting shops at this hotel...bought two dresses at Tropical Tantrum (island wear). Very helpful lady named Anahita helped me find what I needed. They carry plus sizes as well as misses, which is hard to find in resort wear boutique shops as a rule.
Had a manicure and pedicure at a very reasonable price (as resorts go). Down-to-earth and comfortable salon.

Room Tip: Pool View in Hau'pau wing sweeping and open-no rooftops to look over. Get higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rothea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We only stayed for a few nights at the Marriott Kauai Resort before going on to Maui but we wished we had booked more time here. Excellent service. Clean room and restaurants. Terrific (huge) pool, balconies and natural setting (bay, hills/mountains, etc.). The walk from the parking lot to the lobby is an event unto itself (pond, historical artifacts, oversized planters, great landscaping). By comparison, we visited the grounds/lobby/pool area of the Kapalua Ritz Carlton in Maui as some relatives had stayed there and found that we preferred the grounds at the Marriott in Kauai. There's not that much to do in Lihue so taking a car to visit other parts of the island may be of interest. But if you just want to kick back and relax, this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSchalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing