We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I LOVE this resort!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is one of my favorite resorts in all of Hawaii. It has a wonderful pool, a beautifully manicured resort area, a great beach just steps from the resort/pool, very comfortable rooms with great views and an excellent location that is centrally located on the island. Easy access to the north and south of the island. The spa services are good, but the environment is just OK--it's in a small area of the hotel but the massage therapists were awesome!

Room Tip: Splurge a little and make sure to get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idahojoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    904
    340
    148
    84
See reviews for
685
1,403
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First stayed here about 22 years ago, when it was a Westin (before hurricane Aliki).

Hotel is in very nice shape now, but without the Hollywood air of the Westin--no longer the mahogany boats to take guests to a lagoon restaurant, only one of the 4 macaws now near the lobby pools. (The boats are said to be in storage, and may return someday.)

Good news is that a second timeshare resort has been built on the lagoon portion of the original property, and it is spectacular.

Hotel restaurant food is excellent (Japanese, Italian and Hawaiian), very large store on property, several shops and galleries.

Prices are $$$. Staff are very attentive and morale is high. Grounds are still beautifully landscaped, and well-maintained.

Well worth the time to listen to the Vacation Club spiel--immediate $120 cash and a nice 20% off card that works in many of the restaurants. The Club appears to be bargain. (I joined.)

Room Tip: "Ocean View", high floor (23rd, 24th) Gives a nice beach and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
313 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here one week and basically enjoyed our stay. There are some excellent aspects to this facility, first and foremost all the staff, room attendants, service persons, everyone was so friendly and the service was spot on. They also have the fastest elevators I have ever experienced( not the speed of the ride, the speed of arrival) we never had to wait for a car. And the in room coffee is from the Kauai coffee plantation, and it is the absolute best in hotel room coffee I have ever had. So we had to go to the plantation to buy some Kauau coffee to take home! We had an ocean view room and were housed in the Ha-pua tower. It did have a partial view of the bay, but was also right above the swimming pools including the kiddie pool so peace and quiet wasn there. Next time we'll get a full ocean view which I think might be at the ends of the tower with no pools underneath. The first morning there our in room alarm went off at 5 am, not cool! We pushed all the off buttons to be found, and the next morning it went off at five again! So then we unplugged all the cords, took out the batteries and were able to sleep after the second day. Housekeeping should check that alarms from the previous guests are removed. Tour helicopters flying over the resort were annoying to me. The grounds are a lush tropical jungle and so beautiful. The main issue we had with this stay was the handicapped parking and the length of distance between places as well as the steepness of some of the ramps. First, if you park at the beginning before the resort entrance it is quite a hike up hill to get to the valet station. Then, if you decide to walk,you traverse a large entry room, and go down a long steep escalator, then walk over flagstones along a terrace, then down stairs to get to the lobby to check in. I then found out that there is a hidden elevator behind the front bell-captains desk. Ordinarily the hike wouldn't be a problem but dragging luggage with a bad arm was difficult. When I talked to the front desk about it she did tell me about the parking lot right behind our tower for which we were grateful. However, because the Kalapaki Beach is also open to the public, that small parking lot soon became full on the weekend, so we were back to parking in the lot much further away. My advice if you are pushing a wheelchair, ask for accomodations close to restaurants and pools (they do have pool chair lifts!), and use valet service. I really liked the location of this resort, close to things we wanted to do, close to the airport. The rooms were big and clean, much appreciated! The on-site dining was good but very pricey. There are refrigerators in the rooms so you can keep a few snacks in your room.

Room Tip: If mobility is not a problem ask for a room at the end of a tower facing the bay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent: in room towel re-use cards, glass not plastics except for poolside.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Truly a paradise pool. Dining area adjacent, and a beautiful balcony setting for private dinners above the pool area made for very romantic dining experiences. We felt fortunate to get a "sale" through a special website, but were not pleased with the room in the back, overlooking remodeling areas, and trash pick-up. Asked for a room change, but nothing seemed available. Since this was Spring a couple of years ago, and the hotel not full, we were surprised. Guess you get what you pay for.
Marriott would not give us any points for this stay either. The resort fee is rather exorbitant, considering one obviously would be using the pool, etc. Fees are to cover parking as well, which isn't always available, since the public uses the parking lot, and charges them for the same spaces we needed. The public has the right to use that beautiful beach, I understand. But this creates a bit of a conflict when one is paying and extra $30 to simply park and use the pool. This problem is not unique to Marriott, however. These extra fees have caused us to rethink staying in hotels, and look for Bed and Breakfasts instead. One doesn't get the amenities, but we don't use the gym and we could book a spa experience even if we stayed elsewhere, so why so much in additional fees? It is, sadly, changing our way of traveling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

To be fair. The staff at this hotel were very attentive and friendly. The room was nice. I have just never paid $400 a night for a hotel room ( yes it looked over the ocean from the 11th floor, across the pool and beach) and then been hit with a $30 a day "resort fee". This a great place for couples and families, it's just not my thing. My two nights here, cost almost as much as 5 days at my ocean front condo on Maui. Sorry Marriott, not this time.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott Resort! Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination. I would like to have the opportunity to speak to your further about your stay. Please contact me directly at the hotel at 808-245-5050.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is very nice. Rooms seem recently updated. Bed was much more comfortable than lower-end Marriott properties. Bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The pool is great. Love the pool. Can't say enough good things about the pool. The restaurants are OK, not great but not bad; at least you don't have to leave the property. If I go back t Kauai I am staying here. Parking can be a little bit of a hassle. The public comes to the beach and parks in the lot it seems, don't know how to explain the crowded lot otherwise.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent five nights at this hotel in early May 2014. I had a room in the Haupu Tower overlooking the pool and a partial ocean view. I could hear the ocean waves from my room! This is a large resort. We parked in the lot near our building, but this lot is also for the public during the day, so sometimes it was full and we had to park quite far from the building. Don't be surprised by the resort fee that you pay in addition to your hotel rates. This includes internet and self-parking and some other things. The room itself was nice, clean, and comfortable. It had a heavy sliding bathroom door. There is a microwave and coffee maker in the room. The pool is really nice and relaxing! You can get towels near the pool. We did not get a chance to enjoy the beach here because of our busy schedule. There is an ABC store a short walk away. The staff were friendly and professional. I prefer the Poipu part of the island, but this is a great hotel if you decide to stay in Lihue. Very close to the airport and easy to get to where you want to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovywilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing