We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good time had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good time had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great stay in Kauai with great service at the Marriott. Pool was enjoyed by all. Beach was clean and easily accessed. At first, I was a little hesitant about the look of hotel from outside as it appeared to be in an industrial area, very near the airport and town - until we got on site. The grounds were well-kept and beautiful. The walkable access to a variety of local restaurants off-site made for easy meal procurement that was less expensive. In our 4 days there, the most expensive meal we ate was at the pool side grill. Again, helpful, informative staff at check-in and throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Marriott Rewards members should use their upgrade for ocean-view room and not rely on an upgrade fro...
See more room tips
Green Features: They gave the green-choice of reusing towels for those staying multiple days
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHawk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    853
    322
    141
    82
See reviews for
642
1,322
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

There is one building that is only a hotel (where we are now) and the others are timeshares. I can only speak to the hotel building. We have 3 rooms, two on the. 16th (actually 2nd) floor and one on the 23rd (actually 9th) floor. The rooms are very nice, with newer carpet, good beds and new updated bathrooms. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is very very nice. Two minor complaints. The inside of the elevator doors need to be refinished (scratched up a bit) and although the pool is enormous and beautiful, it is ready for some upgrading (eg the black tiles along the waterline are very worn and some of the bottom tiles are as well). One big complaint. The width of self-parking spots is ABSURD. Only a Fiat could fit into those spots! I should add that the air conditioning is excellent. Views from "pool view" rooms allow views of the ocean from the decks but I suggest rooms above the 19th floor for the best views. Finally, Hannah (one of the managers) was very nice and is allowing us late checkout for one of the 3 rooms. This was a real plus as we have late afternoon flights, but even if she couldn't have done this they will give a room to use until 6 pm for just $99. Overall, a great stay so far and a very very nice Marriott!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellmorons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

There is no need to leave the hotel grounds to enjoy your Kauai stay. Everything is here!! Coffee, breakfast, lunch, dinner, shopping, pool, beach, roosters, entertainment, fitness options, gardens, local vendors. No need to leave the grounds! But we did to explore. Always coming back to friendly staff, clean room, wonderful experience. Mahalo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Let me preface my review by stating that I am a Marriott Platinum member. We stayed at this resort just for one night before we ventured up to North Shore to stay in Princeville. This one night was intended to be just a one night, get rested from the flight, get your bearings type of a stay. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Being Platinum, we were upgraded to probably one of the best rooms in the resort - an ocean front first floor room right at the beach front. I doubt that we would have been afforded the pleasure of staying in this room if we were staying more than the one night. The room was on the corner of one of the tower buildings had a large bedroom, large family room, dining room, and a large bathroom, with windows on all two sides of the room. Although, things seem to be a bit dated; the property could use a face lift.

When you think of a Hawaiian Report, this is what you expect. The pool is gorgeous. This is a great resort for kids. My kids loved the pool. Kalapaki beach is gorgeous. The resort overall is well maintained, the grounds are well manicured with lush green grass. The grounds contain koi ponds and duck ponds; many spots to take nice pictures.

The breakfast buffet was not too great; not of the level you find in a Marriott city property. The dinner, was good but a bit on the expensive side. Try Merrimans in Poipu for better seafood selections for dinner, or walk down the beach and try some of the restaurants on the beach.

Tip: If you are a Marriott Elite - get the Elite daily resort package for $30 that includes parking, discounts in restaurants, and free dessert in the restaurants as well as some other amenities, including bottled water. This is well worth it.

Overall, a good property, but was made better by having an ocean front room. One fact another reviewer posted is that you have a loooong walk from the parking lot to your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillionMilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overall the outdoors on the property is beautiful! Our room 1516 by the garden was not so much. It smelled like mildew every time we walked in since we arrived. The bed sheets had makeup on them as did the pillow sheets. First few nights we had a neighbor who did not sleep and spoke like he was outdoors. One, three in the morning on the phone. One night he had the tv on sooo loud that we finally called the hotel service. They sent security and they came knocking on the door, calling for like 15 minutes. No response then they opened up the door meanwhile the door lock was on. All this at 11:30 pm. They must have moved the guy and they we get lucky enough to get a couple that was arguing about not being able to have friends because of insecurities. Overall room stay was terrible!!!!! Kauai however is beautiful!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc W, Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Aloha! Thank you so much being our guest and sharing your feedback with us. We apologize that your in room experience was not exceptional. We do our best to be proactive and anticpate guest needs and again I am sorry if we failed. If there is anything I can do, please feel fe to contact me at marc.walz@marriott.com. Mahalo! I look forward to assisting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Kauai Marriott for the 2nd week of our honeymoon. As a first time visit to Kauai, we lucked out by the location as it is central to everything on the island. Going 1 Hour in either direction allows you to take in both the North Shore and the Waimea Canyon and surrounding area. Also, given the proximity to the airport, Helicopter tours are very close by (and the Hotel Airport Shuttle will even drop you off at the Commuter Terminal so that you can get to the tour). I am glad we didn't stay in Princeville as it is too much like a planned community...and pretty much is exactly like the South Park episode of where Butters goes to Hawaii.

As for the hotel itself, we stayed in one of the Vacation Club towers that had just been renovated. It's not the full kitchen / en suite laundry combo of other MVCs, but it made do. The view from the room was of Kalapaki Bay, which was quite nice (I think most of the rooms are in fact Ocean View).

Pros -

-Customer Service was good (for example we had a bottle of Sparkling Wine in our room to celebrate our honeymoon when we arrived)
-Restaurants on Site
-Location

Cons -

-While the pool area is very nice and it is adjacent to the beach - there is almost no where to sit where there is shade/any protection from the sun.
-Hospitality Suite for late departing guests was filthy; which was surprising given the amount of people who have late flights off of the island at the end of their vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Kauai Marriott resort is very conveniently located at less than a mile from the Lihue airport. It was easy to navigate to the South, West, East and Northern parts of the island via rental car. A private access road and frequent Marriott shuttle service makes airport return stress free. We opted to return our rental car on our departure day and return to the Marriott via shuttle to relax for the remainder of the afternoon before our evening flight. Even though we had to check out by noon the Marriott staff was helpful offering a hospitality room to change clothes for those in our party who spent the last day at the beach/pool. While you are not touring the island, the Marriott property offers a beautiful resort style pool with plenty of lounging and swimming areas. An adjacent kiddie slide and wading pool was a popular spot for families with small children. Beach frontage is lovely and scenic with Mountain views and lush flora. Local businesses rent SUP's and offer surf lessons at the end of the beach. Beach volleyball is active there, as is the surfing and other water sports. Best place to eat - the famous Duke's restaurant on the property serves your typical tasty Hawaiian cocktails and an extensive menu, the fresh fish entrees were just right on hot days and nights. Live music at Dukes and some evenings (mainly Thurs-Sun) upstairs at the Marriott bar was fun and family friendly attracting folks to linger and join in for the sing along songs and Hawaiian favorites.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool/ocean offer nice views even from the sides, as you get mountain views as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Marriott and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing