We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Great”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Bellflower, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple, Great”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked this hotel last-minute at maybe 8 or 9pm after missing the last inter-island flight to Oahu. The staff was friendly, the price was reasonable, and the room was clean. The room we booked was just for 2. The bathroom was small but it wasn't too bad. I didn't sleep well due to the (wild?) roosters making noise all night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Our taxi drive up from the airport was scary as there were no street lights and the hotel is wedged between a residential area, but we were pleasantly surprised at the gorgeous view of Kauai in the morning. And the roosters, of course.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    124
    64
    22
    16
See reviews for
46
153
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Unlike other reviewers, we had a large room and a large bathroom with tub (room 23). Strangely, there were 3 beds (for two people!) and a table with four chairs, plus a full kitchen - but the chairs were wooden and uncomfortable, and there was no couch or comfortable place to sit. We were able to borrow a hairdryer from the office; as others have said, they were great, but not available over night. No breakfast, so-so coffee, but we could make our own. It was cheap ($105 per night) so relatively good value. No view, and in an industrial area. We were visiting friends, so we were out a lot, so it worked pretty well for us, except for the long flight of stairs to the room, which were hard for an arthritic person like me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We weren't sure when we first drove up but upon closer inspection this hotel was very nice and clean. Older style and smaller rooms but perfect if your planning on actually seeing Kauai and not sitting around a hotel all day- not to mention the manager (I'm guessing) was incredibly helpful and VERY friendly! Felt like we were guests in her home! I would recommend if you are not in to the frills of a fancy resort but instead a nice clean modest place to stay while exploring the island

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbliss318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Ours was room #7.....small room and an older hotel, but relatively clean. No breakfast. Coffee only. Only one person in the bathroom at a time..small. However, the manager and her suggestions kind of made our visit in Kauai. She was delightful!!!! Can't beat the price, for sure. Bring your own hair dryer, though....there was none. I asked, specifically, for the back side, which I had heard were bigger rooms. However, we checked in early, so I opted for the one she gave us. Air conditioners look to be about 25 years old, but work and there is a fan in the ceiling. Be prepared for the air conditioner to sound like a mac truck, however. Would we stay here again? Maybe....although my normal hotel is at least a 4 star, so this was a bit below my normal standards. I would insist next time on being on the back side in a larger room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlaFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Nice basic hotel. The rooms are small, but very clean and nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good location. Free Wi-Fi. There is a luggage storage room if you need to check out before your flight time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

During August 2012, I went to Kauai last minute to meet up with my at the time boyfriend who is in the navy. My flight kept getting delayed (I went through Go! Airlines and they delayed my flights every time I used them!) So I didn't actually get to Kauai until almost 9PM without anywhere to stay, my boyfriend wasn't arriving until the next day and I thought I had time to get there and find somewhere to stay since I was supposed to be there by 5PM!! I called Kauai Palms and they told me they would stay open to give me their last room because the office at that time closed at 9PM. I was all by myself, this young girl trying to figure out what to do and where to go in the middle of the night. It was my first time in Kauai, and my 3rd night in Hawaii, and my first time away from home! I got a taxi to the hotel and the women in the office were very, very kind. One of them walked me over to a restaurant next door because she was worried about me going by myself at night and offered up a flashlight. The room itself was a bigger room because thats all they had open, it was clean and well worth the money. It had three beds, a full size kitchen and a full size bathroom. They had the traditional condiments, coffee and tea, and little soaps that any hotel has. It's not like the five star marriott on the island but its comfortable, homey, pleasant, and quaint. I would suggest to anyone going to Kauai wanting a really hawaiian experience, without all the tourist traps, to stay here! They definitely showed me a real hawaiian aloha. Thanks Kauai Palms, Maria and Mokihana!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pntibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

So, when I found the hotel on the net, I was nicely surprised that you can book specific room. As we were staying there last 2 nights before night on the plane, I wanted nice big bed. So I booked room #28 which is described as LARGE room with KING size bed, air condition and mini fridge. At the time of booking on the net, I was asked if I have special requests, so I said that we will have food with us, so want to make sure that mini fridge is cold. We arrived at hotel just before 3PM check-in time. Got the key to room #22, so I asked why is not the @28 which I booked, so were were told that we got upgraded. O, well we will take it. Yes? ...NO! when we open the room it was smallest room I have seen in my life and it had a DOUBLE bed - quite smaller than KING, wouldn't you say???. So we went back to reception and tell them that this is not the room we booked, much smaller with tiny bed and we refuse to stay there. The receptionist was unbelievably rude and told us first with sarcasm : "I am sorry we upgraded you", so we ask what kind of upgrade is that, and she said that the room has kitchenette (means additional microwave!!!!!), so I told her that if I would want room with microwave I would book room with microwave! I want large room with KING size bed - that what I booked 2 months ago!!!!! and got confirmation for. So than she said that she can return our money!!! what??? and where I supposed to sleep for 2 nights??? so we asked for different room, but she said that they are fully booked...so not until my husband lost his temper...we got really upgraded and got most expensive (note: still available) room with full kitchen! That was not pleasant experience, and it's a pity as other 2 receptionists were very nice, one let me use the office to print boarding passes...I wish I asked the name of the rude one....Will I recommend??? judge by yourself!

Room Tip: Don't spend to much time to choose the room you want...you may not get it anyway!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvaUlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauaichelle, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your thoughts.
I did review your reservation and found that we did upgrade your room to accommodate your concerns for the groceries that you would be bringing with you. When ever possible we try to give our guests the items they may need or provide what we can to make their hotel stay more comfortable, sort of a home away from home. I do apologize if the clerk was not pleasant. Customer service is very important to all guest who enter the property. I am glad you got an additional upgrade to the Full Kitchen unit. Reviews like this help us to become a better hotel property and provide better service to all of our visitors. I do hope you enjoyed Kauai and its culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing