We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Kung Pao is Best on the Planet!”
Review of KCL BBQ & Chinese

KCL BBQ & Chinese
Ranked #55 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spicy Kung Pao is Best on the Planet!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This simple restaurant had excellent tasting food! I have had the Kung Pao and it was super spicy the way I like it. The Vegetable Fried Rice was excellent. The Beef with Broccoli had great meat. The Sweet and Sour Pork was delicious and excited the taste buds. Also, the Cashew Chicken was great. Get some hot tea as it is traditional style. Anybody is welcomed here I observed and the people were very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This was a surprise”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We grabbed a lunch in the restaurant. The KCL stands for Korean, Chinese and Local. it was hard to know which was which on the menu. The food was serves in good sized proportions. I had sesame chicken and it came with macaroni salad...that must have been the local flavor. The food was tasty and the price was reasonable. The down side is that the interior is a bit grimy and I was able to watch some food being prepared in the back by a young person without any hair net and with bare hands. I'd go back, and just make sure that everything is served hot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Have ate here several times- it is great. You get a lot for the price- and price is a very important factor on Kauai- a majority of places are overpriced for average food. KCL is reasonable and very good food. BBQ plate is awesome. It is also great to support this mom m pop- owners are very nice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nessy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Place was dirty roaches on the floor . Chicken looked gray

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
397 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Not sure how to rate this restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The food was plentiful and cheap. My wife and I both ordered the loco moco special. Two beef patties, two fried eggs, two scoops of rice, one scoop of macaroni salad, and gravy. All for only $5.99. I thought it tasted great.....my wife didn't like it much. Friendly service. Really no complaints at all, except the bathrooms were very, very dirty. Dirty bathrooms are a huge red flag for me, so can't give KCL more than 3 stars, but I would give this place another try....especially if they cleaned up the place better - especially the bathrooms.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KCL BBQ & Chinese also viewed

 
Lihue, Kauai
 

Been to KCL BBQ & Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing