We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at KCL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of KCL BBQ & Chinese

KCL BBQ & Chinese
Ranked #63 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
St Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food at KCL”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were a little worried when we got there, we were the only people in the restaurant but quite a few locals came in after us and the food was very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When you need a simple mom'n'pop Chinese”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Or just a 'mom.' Amidst all the more elablrate vacation meals, I craved a simple bowl of wonton soup and a stir fry. That's just what this very plain and inexpensive place offered. No complaints, no rave reviews.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMajor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and fast and great service”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It's one of those places that have been a favorite for years and years. The food is always good as is the service. One of the few places that has a very large menu. Used to go to it every Saturday night when they had the kapaa location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KapaaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Takeout Food”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

One of my favorite places to get fast take out foods to bring home. I like their shrimp fried rice, chicken katsu, and cold ginger chicken. My wife likes their steam fish. They give good size portion for the money you spend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAUAI-BOY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Long Time Visitor Gets Sick on Food”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We've been coming here for years and I have been a supporter of this place. Honestly we had joked that it was always a matter of time before one of us got sick or that the place would be shut down for health violations. I have seen food on the floor when they had the location in Kapa'a. It never seems to be busy and the service is quick.

Regretfully I got a stomach virus shortly after visiting this location and eating the Loco Moco...not a fun 24 hours afterword! So sorry...but not coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KCL BBQ & Chinese also viewed

 
Lihue, Kauai
 

Been to KCL BBQ & Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing