We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a great week in Kauai. Everyone at the Marriott was very friendly. The accommodations were excellent. Beautiful view.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjkvwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

My family has been to the Marriott Beach Club on four different occasions spanning fifteen years. We've always enjoyed it and found it to be the best value on Kauai. Why? The prices are always competitive with other resorts at similar levels and for the following reasons:
1) The best pool in all the islands--This is a huge pool with fountains,waterfalls etc. It's about 4 feet deep all around,so,no diving. There's an adjacent "baby pool" with a slide for kids so they're away from the main pool for the most part. Staff will bring lunch or drinks to wherever you're sitting.
2) The beach is safe and fairly long. Bigger than most beaches at other hotels.
3) The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. If you walk out the entrance and turn right you will find yourself in Marriott's Lagoons which is their time share property. It is a vast,sprawling property with great walking.
4) The staff is always great. Never intrusive and very polite and helpful.
5) The hotel "gift shop" is really a very nice mini-mart with a large selection and is fairly priced.

Negatives- It does show age in a few instances but, nothing offensive. The wine list is mediocre at the restaurants and at the pool bar. The restaurants are just so-so.

If the food service was up to par I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have visited this resort over ten times. It has never disappointed. The grounds are stunning. The beach is expansive and quite. Very safe for swimmers yet enough small waves at one end to permit surfing and SUP. Since this is the only resort using the beach, it is never crowded. The timeshare rooms are lackluster but comfortable. The kitchens are only partial and have no stovetops or ovens. Like all Marriotts, everything is expensive, so we generally eat at Duke's or offsite.

We have also stayed in the hotel rooms and found them very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had no problems with this resort it deserves 4 stars. But to be honest we woke up had a quick breakfast in the room, and headed out, came back around dinner time, liked Dukes better than the restaurant next to the pool, although their sushi was good. Internet was fine in the lobby if you needed to check. We had breakfast buffet on property on our last day, thought it was good. Got in the hot tub one night after our 8mile hike, nice and hot. Maybe we are just not that picky. Good location central located between North and South. Only complaint is self parking lot gets full and its a pain to walk that far, guess I could have valet if it bothered me too much. Great artist in pool lobby area on Wed. Bought some prints and he personalized it for us. Service was fine, maybe I just wasn't hounding them, no wait at restaurant for us, maybe cuz I smile and say aloha, and realise I am on island time. Property is clean and very nice.

Room Tip: here is a tip, relax take it easy your in Kauai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_sjafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have to be honest and say this was a big disappointment. OK the pools great but thats about all. We had a beach front apartment...problem was we where in the original tower built in 1962. This needs a serious update. It took 3 days to find the laundry room, the internet was poor at best....it kept failing. Yes its on the beach but would i swim there...no. Quite simply it was very murky. My major issue was not enough staff.Every time we went for breakfast or dinner no matter what time is was a 30 min wait despite the fact there where clear tables. Just not enough staff. I got so fed up i checked out 3 days early and went and stayed elsewhere. Did they ask why..no they didn't. The breakfast food was pretty poor as well. The same almost everyday on the buffet with just pineapple, papaya and melon as your fruit choice.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere....there are better value hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My family spent a week in March 2012 at Marriott's Beach Club and overall, found the hotel to be a disappointment. The highlights included the pool and beach, both of which were nice and not overly crowded. The ocean water at the beach was dirty compared to other beaches we went to on the island. The rivers empty at this point on the island, creating murky water at the hotel. If you stay on the North side of the island, the water is much more clear, as the rivers do not end there. The rooms were average at best. Small for a Marriott. The worst for us was we found the staff to be aloof and indifferent. From the front desk to, bars and dining to, worst of all - the concierge (who were down right rude everytime we went to them for help and recommendations! And not the same person either - all three we spoke with were rude). If you are used to dealing with customer focused hotels, you will not be happy staying here. Maybe that is the Hawaiian culture (this was our first visit to the islands). But overall we would NOT stay here again. This was the hands down worst staff we have ever encountered.

The food was also overpriced for the quality. Next time we will stay elsewhere. The island itself was amazing and stunning. We kayaked, hiked, snorkeled, and paddle boarded. Very beautiful place. Lame hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 20HappyTravelers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our family went here during mid January,2012. Had no idea it would be auch a nice place.
Everyone, from valet parking service, front desk-welcoming service, concierge, restauant staff, cleaning personell,as well as the rest of the personell, were excellent. Definitely a service oriented place. Restaurant food was average to above average. Beach and gardens were very nice. Excellent view of the ocean from our rooms. Great golf course adjacent to the resort, also aowned by Marriott. Would go back again. Children friendly. Great location for going to either the north or south parts of the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Stay in one of the villa rooms, if possible, which have more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denny44526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £137 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing