We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, just be careful of how you book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in this resort with my family (wife and a toddler) during early jan 14.

Pros: Great resort, simply amazing pool with a lot of space, never feel cramped for space. multiple hot tubs and a great location by the beach. we spent a couple of days lounging in the resort itself and had tons of fun. The little one loved the pool and the beach, They have a lot of activities going on everyday (paid and free) and we had fun feeding the Koi and signed up for many of the kid activities.

Cons: Only con I found was that the accommodation you get depends on how you booked the stay, We took advantage of their promotional offer through expedia and got the stay booked for a "garden view" room at very good price. Well, in this case we got what we paid for. The "garden view" turned out to be a ground floor room with a couple of trees/bushes blocking the window view completely. There are other garden view rooms on higher floors with better views but we were not offered those (we didn't request either). Also, it looked like all new guests were being offered a complimentary gift a check in ( eg. a mug with free coffee/beverage refills over the length of stay) but we did not get that either. Considering the high price of food it might be a good thing to get that gift but I wouldn't have shelled any cash at the booking for that.

The food is ok at the resort restaurants as is the case with anywhere else on the island. Duke's is pretty decent. There upscale poolside restaurant has good food but the portions are on small side to be sure to order accordingly.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors if you can. Also the parking in the far lot is very limited and open to public be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhustju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club in November-December just after Thanksgiving. The room was really great, better than I expected. Unfortunately there was a bad storm with heavy wind and rain that eroded a lot of the beach area and the whole bay turned murky brown with lots of palm fronds, sticks and garbage washing around and up on the beach. While that isn't the resort's fault, it sure ruined that aspect of our trip. Their grounds are gorgeous and the gardeners cleaned that up instantly. Also, they have little skip loaders that fixed the beach but the water remained awful. So we had to use the pool. It's very large and unique with several hot tubs and an island but is all shallow. 4 feet deep allover. We expected to boogie board and snorkel right there. I guess we could have rented a car but it cost more to park it there than to rent it. Usually we stay at a condo rental in Poipu and we'll go back to that. This resort does not give you a true picture of how lovely is the island of Kauia.

Room Tip: We had a room above the front desk (3 floors) and it faced the pool and beach. It was fairly central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, yet very spread out. My husband and I felt there was a lot of "empty" space.

We were disappointed with the service of the front desk as we were told the hotel was fully booked, and that we were not able to be upgraded.... Though, the pool was never crowded and we never had an issue finding a spot to sit, getting a reservation, etc. What they were saying didn't seem to match up with what we were seeing.

We enjoyed the pool, though the temperature of the water was really cold! The hot tubs were nice.

The Hotel did a great job creating a special celebration on NYE. We had fun dancing to the DJ.

The rooms were just okay. Our air conditioner was very loud and would go on and off just about every 5 minutes. That was a bit difficult to get used to.

A-OK experience. We would choose to stay in Kapaa or Poipu on our next visit to Kauai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C1221C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent two weeks in Kauai, the first week at the Marriott property at Poipu Beach and our second week over Christmas at the Beach Club.
We much preferred Poipu Beach Marriott, but were also happy with The Beach Club.
It is a larger property, so you we felt we were with the "masses" for most of the time. While we had beach/poolside chairs each day, it was busy. We are Owners and requested and paid for an Ocean View. We were a bit disappointed having a full view of the rooftop, just over the lobby and partial ocean views. The small kitchen facilities were great, blender, microwave, mini-fridge etc. We were in a Suite and only had our room tidied once over the 7 day stay. They would come in daily and take the garbage out, but really should also have been checking/changing towels. We are a family of four and we had to ask several time for new towels and extra toilet paper. These are small details, but should be handled better. The food on site is very good, but expensive. The ocean is great for swimming, boogie boarding and paddling. It is not good for snorkelling. Small boardwalk that takes you to various other restaurants, which is very convenient, so no need to drive. Dukes was great, they have a different menu for upstairs and a different one for downstairs. Both were worth the visit. We also went to Portifino, as we heard it was excellent. Honestly, it was nothing special. They were busy, and the service was poor, food quality was mid-Italian. If you like a larger resort atmosphere you will not be disappointed. If you like a smaller more intimate location, with a few walking choices for beaches, great snorkelling and a bit more of a surf, then try the Poipu location (which is known as the sunniest part of the Island). The rooms were also nicer and larger, but no on-site restaurants, except for the pool bar. We will visit Kauai again, I preferred it to Maui. Lots to see and explore. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Lots of ocean view options. While its a large resort, we did not think it was difficult to walk aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fourniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a beautiful view!! You won't regret your choice of hotels. The pool is huge and it's steps away from the beach. You are surrounded by mountains and pure beauty! Water sport rentals are available nearby as well as a few restaurants that are off property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The pool and beach a this location are very impressive, though the rip currents in the ocean are brutal most days it seems. We stayed here for a week in an ocean view room on the 5th floor which was in excellent shape. The pool is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen and there were plenty of poolside options for food and drinks. A downside is that it is expensive, as is much of Hawaii. The 1 oz rum pina colada, for example, was $11.50 plus tip, of course. To save some money you can walk across the road to the harbor shops or to JJ's on the same side of the road. The only other downside is part of the beach is spoiled by an ugly container / port area and factory, but it's really not noticeable.

We stayed over Christmas they had lots of fun things for the kids.

They could not (or would not, one never knows) accommodate a late checkout request, and gave us keys to the hospitality suite which has only one shower for males and one for females. Given the limited flights from Lihue to the mainland, this is one area they really fall down, especially with a lot of families staying here.

It's still one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever been at view wise and has excellent facilities. I would stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamC668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just came back from 20 days on the Hawaiian Islands of Kauai and Big Island. We stayed in 4 different places but our trip started here. We were using our Interval International time share and exchanged for a week at the Marriott. Because of this, we didn't get the best view - we had a garden view villa that looked at a wall. It didn't matter, because we didn't spend much time in the room and we had pretty flowers and trees in our view as well. Our room was a hotel room with a king and then adjoined another studio which had a kitchenette and a murphy bed in the wall. The rooms very comfortable, clean with lots of towels. The small kitchen area is incredibly equipped for such a small space - have just about everything you could need to cook a simple meal - there are barbecues on property. We made our own lunches and breakfasts and then ate dinners at the local restaurants (we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant the first day - it was quite pricey but good). The hotel staff went out of their way to get us some food when we arrived very late - all restaurants were closed but they managed to put together some sandwiches for us. Very appreciated. The hotel is located at the end of a bay which has lots of other restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We enjoyed this aspect of staying here, as all other places we stayed required driving to get anywhere. The grounds and pool are beautiful and staff very helpful. The beach is gorgeous - very swimmable and the kids enjoyed boogie boarding here but the snorkelling is much better other places. Make sure to visit Dukes while you are here - great drinks and food. I would definitely recommend this place to stay. Here's another tip - the resort sells a Marriott travel mug for $32 - and then you can refill it with any kind of soft drink or coffee for your entire stay. I didn't discover it until day 3, so could have used it a few days earlier, but nobody offered it to me. I saw lots of people with the mug, but thought it was something they had picked up in the gift shop. Make sure to purchase one right away. You will save lot's of money, because coffee and soft drinks are quite pricey. We didn't participate in many resort organized activities but my daughter loved feeding the Koi at 9 every morning. A staff member comes out and feeds the fish and then leaves a tray of little containers of fish food. We discovered that if you wait for the fish to finish all the food that the staff member gives them, the fish will literally come and eat out of your hand - they kind of suck on your palm. They don't have teeth and my daughter got the biggest kick out of this!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms may look at another building, but are close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aliceaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £192 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing