We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst marroitt experience ever, BEWARE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I am a 30 year platinum marriott member and have stayed at 100's of there properties. I paid a rather high price for a less than average room. I was promised and paid for an ocean view and what i got was a scenic view of a roof top and court yard. Elevator was broken, water was turned off for a day. The front desk was most unhelpful as was the asst manager. Only after i got aggressive did they see the need to try and fix the problems. Would never stay here again even if the room was free. Try another property you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank konahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Kaua'i Beach Club. As a loyal Marriott Rewards member, we take your feedback seriously and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. The service you described is not typical of our resort experience. We would like to personally respond to your concerns and invite you contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Wish we would have stayed here before Ko Olina--we were sorely disappointed when we got here expecting a fine Marriott resort. This is the old Kauai Surf--I stayed here in the 70's, but Marriott took it over after the hurricane in the 90's. It is a beautiful property, with extensive gardens, a lovely beach cove, and a huge swimming pool. They charge for everything, including fitness classes. We are Marriott Vacation Club (timeshare) owners and this is much more like a hotel than a timeshare villa. When we look at it that way, it's not so bad! The Concierge service is excellent. My husband used the stairway the other day to get to the ice machine on the next floor (our floor's machine was broken). He insisted on taking me to see the stairs, as he thought it was a good measure of the lack of real care this hotel gets--it truly was an awful looking stairwell! (We had a fire alarm the other day--many people upstairs got a tour of this stairway)! We are in the first floor of the Kahili Tower. Nice gardens outside the door, and not far to the grills (there were 3 grills when we arrived, but one wasn't working, so they removed it!). This place needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank an2net_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Aloha and thank you for visiting Marriott’s Kaua’i Beach Club! As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, our team takes your comments seriously and appreciates your feedback on areas of improvement. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate teams so we may follow up on your concerns. We are also happy to hear your kind words for the concierge associates who assist you during your stay. Thank you again for visiting and for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are a Marriott Platinum Elite or just someone that wants to spend few days expecting Marriott brand hotel and service, look at a different property. I am a Platinum Elite. My wife and I and another couple that are Platinum Elite for life decided to spend 4 nights at this property based on online pictures and after we talked to Marriott reservations and getting details on Kauai properties. When we checked in we got in line for the Elite members. We waited behind another member complaining about the room she was booked in. 15 minutes later others were checked in while we were still waiting. Finally our turn came. Soon we found out that we had a reservation problem and the one bedroom and living room that we were expecting for $325 per night it was now a room that you can stand by the bed and touch all the four walls and ceiling. Please see the attached pictures of the room with the ceiling that has water damage, the bathroom designed for handicap but with no room in the bathroom or around the bed for a wheelchair. We also found out that if you are a Platinum Elite, THEY DON'T CARE. We asked to see the manager. 15 minutes later the manager does not show up but sends the message that we are stuck with what they gave us. 45 minutes later and after witnessing 5 other people complaining about their rooms, Hannah Taito the assistant front office manager graces us with her presence to tell us that for another $100 we can have the rooms we wanted, with a living room and ocean view. After we agreed we received rooms looking at a wall and roof tops with a little ocean view(see pictures). Couple days later, after we stayed in the room they moved us we got a call telling us that the "upgrade" fee will only be $50.We called Marriott customer service that told us that unfortunately they have no control over Vacation clubs and I had to call an other number. Joseph, the manager that I talked to could not be less helpful.In summary,if you are looking for a Marriott property in Hawaii think twice before you spend over $425 per night at this property,or even own a property at this location.The Platinum check in line was only opened once in 4 days we stayed and every day there was a notice of water being turned off, elevator not working or noise because a door would be replaced.This property was better making excuses and saying "I am sorry" than the service provided.Based on my experience, this starts at the top, management or lack off it.Please see all attached pictures.This is NOT a reflection on all the wonderful Marriott properties and service I received over the years.

Room Tip: Look at a different Marriott property. You will not fin fit here, specially if you are not an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Kaua’I Beach Club. Our team apologizes we were unable to meet your expectations on your most recent stay. As a Marriott Rewards member, we take your feedback seriously and will share your concerns with the appropriate managers. We would welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback and Tripadvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The facilities are quite nice, but the Marriott website has no obvious means of reporting trouble with resort services. I could have called, it's just not my interest. Could have gone to the front desk, never got around to it.

The previous person had to have complained, because it really cycled every 20 or 30 seconds from scalding to cold to scalding to ... And that is the condition I walked into.

I'm posting the problem here in the hope that both problems will be taken care of: repairing the temperature control faucets in 1169, and providing a contact page on their website to report facility problems.

They provided a few on-site activities. But considering they are on the ocean, what they provide is laughable. The island has quite a few things to do at some distance (25 to 40 mph) and heavy traffic at times. The hotel does not provide shuttle service so you will need to rent a car.

Alamo at the time was renting cars for $60 a day; came to $71 a day with taxes.

Dukes restaurant on-site takes forever to get served. We waited 25 minutes to get seated, and 20 minutes before someone came to take our drink order. Call it island time, but service is much better in Maui.

Carnival Cruise has a stop in Lihue, and I felt so sorry for their guests. When they leave the ship there is nothing local to visit other than 2 triple priced strip malls.

Actually, thinking about it, I was going to provide an Average rating, but I must give this a poor rating.

I went snorkeling at Poipu Beach which was recommended. 4 feet deep at the deepest, rough waves outside the breakers, a completely disappointing snorkeling experience.

A snorkeling person ended up drowning off one of the other beaches while I was there.

If you are coming to Kauai, make sure you bring a wet suit to give you a better chance in the waves and on the rocks.

Sunsets are disappointing. There seems to be perpetual clouds on the horizon, so the Sun is always behind clouds when it sets.

Recommended things to do:

Weimea Canyon clockwise around the island; pretty overlooks.

Helicopter open door ride, thrilling and beautiful.

Hiking, but bring lots of mosquito repellent.

Far counter-clockwise roads end beach to see the sunset on a clear evening, if it ever happens.

Make a trip to one of the grocery stores along the way to get drinks for the evening; tea, soda, whatever. Marriott services die around 8pm. The vending machine only takes cash, no credit cards.

If you stay up late, or go to bed early, you need to provide for yourself in advance. Marriott does not have anything to occupy your time between 8pm and 8am.

If you want to be in a nice environment to get some computer work done, the hotel lobby is about the only place to work.

They charge $15 a day for internet access, so include that in the price of your accommodations.

I can only hope that Marriott reads this and "ACTS" to provide the services the customers deserve.

With a few exceptions, the staff treats customers like we have no common sense. The replies received regarding questions were thoughtless and the contrite expressions were worthy of contempt.

When I have a choice I stay at Marriott, but Kauai on Rice Road needs a second look at an alternative.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower faucets control the temp of the water. Rent a car from Alamo. There is a loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jodie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent 5 days at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club. It's a very average hotel that seems lost in a design time warp. The buildings are 1960s architecture, the pool and lobby feature Roman columns and the pool has Greek and Roman concrete animal fountains. Not what one would expect to find in Hawaii.

Our room was comfortable, but did not have a view.

The pool is quite large, but they don't have any umbrellas for shade. One of the pool attendants said this was for safety reasons, but every other hotel we've visited on Kauai offers umbrellas, so this excuse did not ring true.

With the exception of the sushi bar, which offers great food, the rest of the food was average.

The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

The area around the resort leaves much to be desired. There are a few downscale restaurants and the requisite t-shirt and jewelry shops, but not much more.

We've been to Kauai 5 times. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in this resort with my family (wife and a toddler) during early jan 14.

Pros: Great resort, simply amazing pool with a lot of space, never feel cramped for space. multiple hot tubs and a great location by the beach. we spent a couple of days lounging in the resort itself and had tons of fun. The little one loved the pool and the beach, They have a lot of activities going on everyday (paid and free) and we had fun feeding the Koi and signed up for many of the kid activities.

Cons: Only con I found was that the accommodation you get depends on how you booked the stay, We took advantage of their promotional offer through expedia and got the stay booked for a "garden view" room at very good price. Well, in this case we got what we paid for. The "garden view" turned out to be a ground floor room with a couple of trees/bushes blocking the window view completely. There are other garden view rooms on higher floors with better views but we were not offered those (we didn't request either). Also, it looked like all new guests were being offered a complimentary gift a check in ( eg. a mug with free coffee/beverage refills over the length of stay) but we did not get that either. Considering the high price of food it might be a good thing to get that gift but I wouldn't have shelled any cash at the booking for that.

The food is ok at the resort restaurants as is the case with anywhere else on the island. Duke's is pretty decent. There upscale poolside restaurant has good food but the portions are on small side to be sure to order accordingly.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors if you can. Also the parking in the far lot is very limited and open to public be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhustju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club in November-December just after Thanksgiving. The room was really great, better than I expected. Unfortunately there was a bad storm with heavy wind and rain that eroded a lot of the beach area and the whole bay turned murky brown with lots of palm fronds, sticks and garbage washing around and up on the beach. While that isn't the resort's fault, it sure ruined that aspect of our trip. Their grounds are gorgeous and the gardeners cleaned that up instantly. Also, they have little skip loaders that fixed the beach but the water remained awful. So we had to use the pool. It's very large and unique with several hot tubs and an island but is all shallow. 4 feet deep allover. We expected to boogie board and snorkel right there. I guess we could have rented a car but it cost more to park it there than to rent it. Usually we stay at a condo rental in Poipu and we'll go back to that. This resort does not give you a true picture of how lovely is the island of Kauia.

Room Tip: We had a room above the front desk (3 floors) and it faced the pool and beach. It was fairly central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £201 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing