We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Island paradise spot. Beautiful beach, gorgeous grounds and pool, recently redecorated villas, spectacular lobby, comfortable beds - just a great spot to relax or enjoy the entire island. Centrally located between north and south shores, easy place to get around, plenty of beautiful sights to see. I try to get there once a year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha and thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Kaua'i Beach Club! We are so happy to hear you love the resort and visit us us once a year. We look forward to many more trips to come in beautiful Hawaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    215
    101
    41
    27
See reviews for
191
365
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are Marriott timeshare owners. After reading some of the reviews on this sight, I had some reservations and wasn't sure what to expect. I think there are just some whiny people that expect perfection. Yes, this property was once all hotel rooms, so there wasn't quite as much room as our home resort in Orlando or the Aruba Ocean Club we visited last year. That being said, we had a 2 bedroom with a living/dining area in between. One of the bathrooms was huge, the other less so, but both very adequate. There is a small fridge in EACH room, so although they are small, there are 3. There is a microwave, a sink, a small dishwasher and a small amount of dishes, silverware etc. We didn't expect to do much cooking, but if you did, you might be disappointed. For us, it was more than adequate. We were on the first floor (not ground) of the Nounou tower and it was an oceanview room. The ability to walk from the beach to the pool in literally 30 seconds is wonderful! The sound of the waves was lovely and the omnipresent roosters only woke me up one morning. We rented a car and it was very easy to get around the island and do lots of things. We did a helicopter tour with Blue Hawaiian, which was awesome although somewhat disappointing because of cloudy weather. (We hit a rare bit of lousy weather with cooler temps and some rain. We went for spring break the 3rd week of March.) We did an ATV trip with Kauai ATV, which was OK. We rented snorkeling gear one day and snorkeled at Poipu beach which was great, once we found the beach - not easy! We ate at Duke's upstairs and the Cafe Portofino onsite, both of which were great. Duke downstairs wasn't quite as good. Overall, a great trip and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Not sure what to say here. Marriott emailed us and asked us to request location and view and then ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finplanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this resort. We stayed in a one-bedroom timeshare on the 3rd floor with an ocean view. The view is incredible. It was so nice watching cruise ships come and go. My favorite part was sleeping with the doors open and hearing the waves crash or the raindrops fall overnight. The view overlooking the pool/Kalapaki Beach was also incredible.

If you are going to Kauai to explore a bit, you definitely need to rent a car. We rented a car from enterprise on property. We booked a couple of months in advance and everything worked out great.

As far as the hotel/resort, I think this location is better than some of the other options on the island (Kapaa, Poipu, Princeville). ou can relax on property, walk next door to Duke's for food, drinks or entertainment or walk across the street for other restaurants, bars, shopping. We went to Kalapaki Joe's one day for Happy Hour to watch a sports game. We also had a great time hanging out at the Kalapaki Grill bar during the day (pool bar).

The staff was incredibly nice. The rooms were well equipped. The property is gorgeous.

The fitness center was fine. Nothing spectacular, but enough for a morning workout. FYI- there are not locker rooms, but I liked the adjoining yoga room to go in to do situps and hand weights.

We were here on our honeymoon and now we can't wait to return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha, our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor Review! We look forward to your next stay at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I really needed this vacation, and was looking forward to a lot of relaxation. my first room was less than desirable, but they were able to move me after the first night. I had an Ocean View on a high floor and it was great!! All the staff were very helpful and friendly too. I spent a morning in the spa, facial was wonderful, massage was adequate (I'm kind of spoiled from the therapist I use at home though). Restaurants were good - all you can eat prime rib and crab legs for $51 - not a bad price I thought. The location is great - free airport shuttle, and near a lot of attractions that you can walk to. You will definitely need a car though to explore the rest of the island

Room Tip: Be advised that Ocean View could just mean a corner of the bay. Higher floors are the best - great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I think think resort is gorgeous. Great pool, nice easy beach access. The staff are accommodating enough, pleasant but not over the top. The resort is located near the airport on the south side of the island. You definitley want to rent a car anywhere on this island. The north side of the island is gorgeous and you will want to explore it. This particular Marriott is huge! One observation for me was that so many guest arrive late at night and they do not have very good signage or enough attendants around to make sure that guest are arriving to the correct entrance etc, so some patiance may be required especially if you are arriving late at night. Ok here is the disclosure, as i said great hotel but they will nickel and dime you for every single thing. With that said, i dont think such practice is unusual in Hawaii...its just the nature of things, just go in eyes open. Their famous friday buffett dinner, over rated, it is convenient and its a fair qaulity but certianly not worth $50+ dollars per person. So overall.... good experience, great for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha and thank you for visiting Marriott’s Kaua'i Beach Club! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us on your holiday vacation. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the resort signage and buffet pricing. Please know, your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers for further review.Thank you again for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fennville, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our first time to Hawaii and this resort. Upon our early arrival, we were greeted with a ready room and a pleasant welcome from the parking staff and bell service. We had a garden view room but could see a fair amount of the Nawilwili Bay. The staff was great from the pool attendants, restaurant wait staff, welcome desk and even housekeeping. The heated pool is a beautiful as the photos on the website. The first day, the ocean beach was a little cluttered with branches and who know what from the previous storms but was cleaned up everyday after that. The resturants - Dukes, Kuku's, Cafe Portofino were all good. We also found some more economical places within easy walking distance for times when we didn't want the big meals and fancy ambiance. The lobby area and walkways with some small stores, galleries and the Koi pond were quite relaxing to walk through or sit for a while to relax. The room was well furnished as a one bedroom villa. It has been renovated from two adjoining hotel rooms. One as a living/dining area, the other as a bedroom. It wasn't a problem for us but could be tight on closet space for more than two. We had a great vacation week there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bterry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ont.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Marriott Beach Club in Lihue is a great place to see the rest of the island. The complimentary shuttle service from the airport was quick. The concierge was lovely suggesting to us where to go and what to see and booking our Blue Hawaii Helicopter ride. The pool area was fantastic with 5 jacuzzis as was the grounds. The hotel lobby was grand. All the beautiful appointments from statues, to birds, the fish pond and the stores were fabulous. Dukes was a great restaurant and the Hilo pie was to die for. My husband golfed there and the views and golfing was spectacular. The beach/lagoon area was sandy and the water was calm. The servers around the pool area really hustled and they were always smiling. Thanks girls!
The room was alright. We were given a room near the elevator and ice machine that was no where near soundproof. All the chatting in the hallways could be heard. We were on the ground floor and I felt it was not private enough for us. The main entry door to our building was just 2 doorways over and was not locked. There was a coffee maker and small fridge in the room. All the plants surrounding the walkway into our building were overgrown. The room was updated somewhat but it was still obvious that the dresser was from the 1970's. The air conditioner was situated at the head of the bed, perhaps that is where I got my cold from. In hindsight, I should of asked to be moved but I didn't as we were only there for 3 nights and as I said the pool area was fabulous and we were there for the outside activities! The hotel was under construction but it did not affect us. The General Manager was quite nice actually emailing me before hand and contacting us while we were there but we did not connect. This hotel is trying to update itself so it has a little while to go.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators. High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Aloha and thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club! We appreciate your feedback about your stay and apologize the villa did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our facilities team as we continue to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will return to the resort in the future so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing