We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

This was the second time we stayed in this timeshare resort. The grounds and lobby are very floral. Currently, the resort is under construction causing some closures and rearranging of some locations. Just required walking or re walking to find the beach or pool. We stayed in Unit 720/721, the unit was clean, the bed was comfortable. The unit had 2 refrigerators, one in the kitchen , and 1 in the bedroom. We had a balcony that looed out to the ocean. So beautiful. These units have 2 bathrooms. Only problem I found no umbrellas at the pool for those of us who need shade. A little surprised from a Marriott resort. I recommend this resort....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    209
    98
    39
    26
See reviews for
187
355
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Traded from our Beach Club in Ko Olina for time in Kauai. Have also stayed at Poipu at the Beach Club, but this is the best of all three. Loved the short drive from the airport and ammenities closeby in Lihue. Lucked out and got beachfront room with a fabulous view of Nawiliwili Harbor. It was the perfect vacation. The grounds are spectacular!! Everywhere we walked, the hotel grounds provided us with surprises of lush plants, tropical waterfalls and ponds full of beautoful koi. The shopping is very good at the hotel -filled my suitcase with lots of terrific goodies. Beautiful artwork is displayed throughout the resort. The swimming pool is gorgeous. Sculptures, waterfalls and sparkling water. This hotel is a wonderful oasis.
Construction noise was obnoxious - shame on Marriott's for scheduling construction during peak vacation times, but we didn't let it bother us. We just ordered more mai tais from the bar ... The hotel needs to address the lame locals who party at the pool - but, don't let the lazy staff get you down - it's paradise, so who cares?? I can't wait to get my Aloha spirit back in Lihue.
Aloha Girl from Sacramento

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed in the Oceanfront Tower timeshare units which have just undergone a major renovation. The interiors are super, with the nice furnishings and furniture the background for one of the best views in Hawaii. The harbor laid out in front of you with all of the beach activity, constant waves, sailboats and canoes, and a continuous cast of surfers really make this a special place. The quick and easy food available at nearby joints from Duke's to the Beach Hut make dining quick, easy, and affordable. The golf operation is first rate, and the proximity to the airport is incredible, when you realize that you almost never hear a jet taking off or landing. The staff here is mostly long term, and although the whole tourism industry in Hawaii is suffering from the global economic slowdown, they are dedicated and know that their place is one of those that will always be there for the return of good times. Minor inconveniences are present during the remodel of the hotel lobby and the remainder of the hotel side, but try the timeshare side - they are really nice and after a few days you feel this is another one of your homes. Kauai is the best, and Lihue and the Marriott Beach Club make you feel you are part of the Ohana.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KauaiKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

We exchanged our timeshare The Ridge for MKR for one week May 31-June 7. I called the MKR to see if we could check in one day early because the other resort we had booked was not so great. The reservationist were wonderful and reserved us a garden view beautiful room for May 30th. Even let us check in early. Then on the 31st the bellman move us to our fabulous 2bd,2bath ocean view villa. Our large rooms had comfortable beds and feather pillows as usual. Small efficient kitchen, nice size living and dining room. We had 3 lania's, all with ocean views. The staff at the front desk, the shops around the pool were all very friendly. That makes the stay that much nicer.

Directly in front of the resort the cove beach was excellent for swimming and playing in the waves. 2 fresh beach towels were provided each day. There were plenty of lounge chairs at the beach . Volleyball set ups as well. We enjoyed watching all the kids play. The swimming pool being 25,000 sq. feet and 5 jacuzzis were unbelieveable. We shared our time between the beach and pool. It was so much fun.

We had lunch and dinner at Dukes Canoe Club. Food was wonderful and plentiful. The drinks at the on site Kalapaki Grill were delicious. There are also many restaurants within walking distance that are also decent.

I can truly say that I highly recommend Marriott Kauia Resort and would gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We have just returned from Marriott resort and spa and after being there four times in the past this was the first year we could honestly see a difference. It is definitely not the hotel/time share it used to be.
Firstly, we were for the first time treated very rudely upon arrival. We had just flown from Oahu where we have a time share in Ko Olina and were told we had to wait as we weren't owners and were lucky enough to get a room there ! we pointed out that we had given up our time share as an exchange in Ko Olina and we weren't to be treated like second class citizens. The exchange was done through Marriott on an exchange only basis so Marriott had control not us.
The room was on the second floor overlooking people smoking which wasn't very pleasant. The room also needed updating considerably and would not have been acceptable in most hotels. Even the restaurant is not the same, if you ordered the a la carte breakfast menu you used to get juice and coffee, these are now extras and chargeable making the price way above the breakfast buffet. A tip for others, have the continental breakfast on the terrace, you can get cereal, toast, muffins, delicious croissants and chocolate croissants all at reasonable prices. The latte's on the terrace are very good indeed and you are served in a very friendly efficient way.
On the good side, the place is still in a beautiful location and the grounds are quite lovely. The pool is great and the beach is very pleasant indeed.
We don't mind the odd cruise ship or plane and love the chickens.
We like eating at Duke's restaurant very much - if you dine there ask for a table on the terrace where you have a lovely view of the ocean.
We will go back sometime but not next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We just returned from a 11 day stay at the Kauai Marriott Resort and Beach Club . This was our 3rd visit to Kauai and each and everytime we have stayed at the Marriott.

This particular trip we stayed in the Time Share Villas and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The new bedding was wonderful! My understanding is the Time Share rooms were recently refurbished. We had an oceanfront room with spectular views of the ocean and harbor. The daily housekeeping and ammenties were excellent. In 2006 we stayed in the hotel portion of the hotel and we were not that impressed. The rooms were starting to show its age.

The resort grounds are beautiful and very well kept, a tropical paradise. We love the entry driveway, its very lush with trees and tropical plants. The pool is one of the best pools on the island. Even when it is crowded it doesnt feel crowded. There are 5 hot tubs off the pool that are very nice , especially in the evening.

As far as the food, we are not that crazy about the main restuarant KuKui's. But we love Dukes for dinner, especially the views. Dukes downstairs is average, typical bar food, but still fun. The drinks are better and cheaper at Dukes also.

We love the Marriott we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texasduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Please note that our stay was nearly a year ago, so this is not a review of a recent trip.

We unexpectedly stayed at this hotel for one night on our honeymoon after checking out early from the Hanalei Bay Resort (which was a nightmare!) We asked for the least expensive room, and had a good laugh when we saw the room had a MURPHY bed (wall bed)!! The room looked like a living room with a couch, coffee table, and tv. To sleep, you move the cushions off of the couch and pull the bed down from the wall. The bed was comfortable enough, surprisingly. However, had we stayed longer than one night, I would have preferred a room with a regular bed, as the pull down bed took up a great deal of space in the room and it was difficult to maneuver around. Other than the strange bed, the room was nice.

The resort was absolutely beautiful and we couldn't have been happier. The pool was fantastic with plenty of available chairs and a beautiful view of the ocean and mountains. We enjoyed a nice, relaxing day at the pool and on the beach.

The resort is in Lihue, which has it's advantages and drawbacks. Lihue is not a pretty town like Poipu. If you leave the resort you drive past car dealerships, Walmart, etc, and it doesn't feel like an upscale resort area. However, the advantage of staying in Lihue is it's central location, which is great for being able to explore the entire island. The resort is near the airport, and we could hear an occasional plane while laying by the pool, but it was not obnoxiously loud.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing