We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun introduction to sushi for kids”
Review of Genki Sushi

Genki Sushi
Ranked #66 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun introduction to sushi for kids”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This restaurant is in Lihue's biggest mall, so don't look for scenic views. The sushi comes round on a conveyor belt, or you can order off the menu. Food is ok, and kids will enjoy the experience. Service can be slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We went there nearly every day for lunch. The food was good and reasonably priced. The service was a little slow but worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Conveyor Belt Sushi!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Dined here to celebrate a birthday in our group. It was a very fun, relaxed atmosphere. A'La Carte sushi travels around the restaurant on a conveyor belt. From your table, grab anything you wish to devour. The server comes around at the end and adds up the plates you took from the belt. Dishes each have their own colored plate to reveal their price.

Good idea for a group that will share different items with the table.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Never Again - A Local Customer”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

I've watched this place decline since it opened. Most recently I watched the staff seat their friends at a table that I and my family waited on for 20 minutes. There's no mistake what I saw - they sat 2 guys who hadn't been there the whole time we waited nor did they even look at the list. Just a smile to the staff and they sat themselves right down. Uncool!
So after having eaten here maybe 15 times it's now gotten so bad that I won't be back. Considering how much pride a real sushi restaurant usually displays, this place is a disgrace.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Interesting idea, the food comes around on a conveyor belt and you choose what you would like. When we went it was during lunch time so we had a pretty long wait, and when we got inside I could see why. There were very few selections on the conveyor to choose from. As I needed to get back to a training I had to settle on one selection of California Roll (ironic I was from CA) and a glass of water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genki Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Genki Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing