We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauna Loa Helicopters Tours

Mauna Loa Helicopters Tours
Ranked #3 of 33 Tours in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Kauai for years and never did a helicopter tour. This is truly a "must do" at least once in your life. Did a lot of research and chose Mauna Loa because it had great reviews on TripAdvisor and the helicopter held three passengers. Since we had three in our group, it truly was a private tour! Everybody got a window seat. We chose the doors off tour and definitely recommend this as the way to go. It does get a bit cold at a times (dress appropriately) but the views were great without the doors. We went with the extended tour. Got to see just about everything on the island (too much to list), but would recommend this if you can. Our pilot was Reese from New Zealand. Very friendly and took great care of us from start to finish. Would definitely recommend Mauna Loa.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boss_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    24
    5
    4
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've done the doors off helicopter tour 17th of June, it was just amazing to see Waimea canyon, the beautiful Na Pali coast, Hanalei Bay and multiple waterfalls after some tropical rainfall. A must do in our opinion if you are in Kauai! Definitely recommend the doors off for a much better view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mareille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Kauai helicopter experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This was a little more money than some of the other helicopter tours - which I haven't done. But Rhys our pilot and tour guide was excellent all the way from the time we met him until the time we left him. I highly recommend this tour. I think the smaller Robinson helicopter made it a better experience. This is a must do if you want to actually see Kauai in my opinion.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shinemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, IL
2 reviews
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did doors off last week with Rhys as our pilot! Loved every second and was worth every penny!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doors Off!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Absolutely amazing excursion. It isn't the cheapest option out there, but if you choose Mauna Loa, you have options of doors on or off, and up to 3 people max, so everyone is guaranteed a window view. The pilot was fantastic pointing out the different sites and flew the helicopter in the canyons not above them like the larger helicopters. Truly memorable, great value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauna Loa Helicopters Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mauna Loa Helicopters Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing