We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep Here but Don't Eat Here”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, nice bathrooms. Pool side was well kept. Staff were friendly. Just don't eat here...we had dinner here at the main resteraunt (not sure how the bar food is) and it wasn't good-boxed frozen foods (eg, the meat for burgers) unless you ordered the Hawaii fish. Otherwise....this place was awesome! Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starling2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for our honeymoon. We had an overall good experience. The staff was very friendly and when they found out it was our honeymoon they treated us to a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms were cleaned very well everyday. We did use the fitness center and we found it very uncomfortable. The equipment is not maintained and there is no ventilation. We did enjoy the entertainment in the lounge at night that was provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great location near the airport, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Awesome Breakfast buffet and omelet station! We were able to skip lunch often because of our amazing breakfast. Super friendly bartender by the pool who gave good tips on where to go and where to eat in town. The best mai tai was here for 3 dollars! during happy hour. Great pool with a slide.. not many kids around. The live music at night at Shutters Lounge was really good.. Great gift shop in the hotel with very good prices. Although the beach is not a swimming beach, you can hop in your car and pick a different one to swim at- Kauai is a very easy and safe island to explore.. not one whe you just stay at your resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 60893Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. I was there with the family for 7 nights. I'm glad we stayed here as it was a great location to explore the island, 25 mins to Poipu and about 45 mins to Hanelei. Staff was friendly. Parking lot was like 50 yards away unlike some reviews saying it is too far. I have a 4 year and 7 year old and not once did they complain about walking to the parking lot. Overall great stay as price was right. Don't expect a five star quality like Grand Hyatt or Ritz as those you need to pay upward of 500/night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pathwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Everyone at the Kauai Beach Resort was very friendly and helpful. The resort was beautiful and very clean. It was located close to the airport, but far enough north that we didn't hear any planes. (When we visited the south side of Kauai, the hotels were packed in like sardines. This location was much better, even though the beach is not safe for swimming.)

The resort has beautiful grounds and pools. We had a room on the first floor that faced the pool. We could hear the pool's waterfall from our lanai and could follow a quaint stone pathway to the pool area. The boys found coconuts on the beach and had a lot of fun trying to open them. My husband enjoyed having coffee with a friendly rooster on the lanai one morning. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VnG_Eagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our second stay at KBR and once again we were delighted. From the tree-lined entry to the beautiful and quiet pool and grounds and lovely beach, it was perfect. We spent 8 nights as a couple this trip, and 10 nights with two small kids last year. The rooms are not huge but perfectly adequate (even for a family of 4!) and immaculate. Who wants to spend a lot of time in their hotel room anyway - you're in Hawaii!! The beds are incredibly comfortable, always a great night sleep (be warned of the omnipresent roosters however - don't think you can find a hotel on Kauai where you can't hear them!). We were upgraded free to ocean view on the end of Building 1 and loved the room, overlooking a little pond with ocean views (across the parking lot but you can shell out the big bucks for ocean front if you want, we saved a bunch paying about $120 a night). The staff were all incredibly friendly and accommodating. Love the variety of pools, especially the water slide and sand bottom pool for little ones. The beach is perfect for taking a long walk, and almost always deserted! We had a conference at the Marriott down the road and were under impressed by its giant size, very noisy pool, airport noise, and snooty staff, aside from the $300 a room price tag. Plus the location in Lihue is perfect - very close to the airport but not at all affected by the noise, and about a 45 minute drive to either end of the island. Overall we loved it!

Room Tip: Stay on the east or north side facing the pool or ocean if possible, the front of the hotel on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lswDosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on our recent first trip to Kauai. We were very pleased. The grounds are understated but very nice and clean - definitely not the Disneyland type landscaping you might see at some other big resorts. The room was great. Nice small balcony with an ocean view - we even were lucky enough to see a whale frolicking just offshore, right from our balcony. We were on the side overlooking a big open field (as opposed to the poolside) so it was also nice and quiet, for the most part. Contrary to some reviews here, we did notice some airplane noise from the nearby airport, but it was very infrequent and non-obrtrusive and we never noticed it after dark at all. The hotel is also centrally and conveniently located for exploring Kauai, whether you go "clockwise" to Waimea Canyon or "counterclockwise" to Hanalei. And lastly the breakfast buffet was very good. It's still a buffet, so it's not perfect, but well above average.

If I had one complaint about the hotel it would have to be the lack of wi-fi in the room. There is a ethernet cable, but that doesn't help with my tablet computer. So I had to go to the lobby to get a wi-fi signal to download e-books, check email, check the news, etc. In 2012, every nice hotel room should have wi-fi. But that was a fairly minor inconvenience. All in all, the hotel was great and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool will have better ocean views, but airport noise may be more noticeabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElliottCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £137 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing