We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for what you get!”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great price for what you get!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place is a good choice if you are on a budget. Is not the most fancy place but it has a little bit of everything (not a beach to swim, just to look at, jellyfish alert!!!) the service was good but I didn't like that the pool closes early, and they are not flexible with the pool bar or any other options, pretty much YOU accommodate to them and throught the whole island..everything closes early (restaurants, shops,ect) so don't think about getting hungry after 9 pm. you won't find food! Unless you go to a convenient store....night life? nonexistent...Kauai is perfect to relax, outdoor activities, water sports, and sunsets, but if you want some night life you will be bored...just stay in Maui and take a day trip to Kauai!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamihot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    917
    324
    78
    46
See reviews for
444
1,329
94
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just returned from a week at the Kauai Beach Resort. It was relaxing and casual. We were booked for a mountain view room and was bumped up to partial ocean view, without even asking.
The room was very nice and updated. The hotel is plantation style and not fancy but clean and quaint. All the help was friendly and helpful. This hotel is close to the airport. I noticed many of the pilots and stewards stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonCSealBeach_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, nice bathrooms. Pool side was well kept. Staff were friendly. Just don't eat here...we had dinner here at the main resteraunt (not sure how the bar food is) and it wasn't good-boxed frozen foods (eg, the meat for burgers) unless you ordered the Hawaii fish. Otherwise....this place was awesome! Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starling2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for our honeymoon. We had an overall good experience. The staff was very friendly and when they found out it was our honeymoon they treated us to a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms were cleaned very well everyday. We did use the fitness center and we found it very uncomfortable. The equipment is not maintained and there is no ventilation. We did enjoy the entertainment in the lounge at night that was provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great location near the airport, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Awesome Breakfast buffet and omelet station! We were able to skip lunch often because of our amazing breakfast. Super friendly bartender by the pool who gave good tips on where to go and where to eat in town. The best mai tai was here for 3 dollars! during happy hour. Great pool with a slide.. not many kids around. The live music at night at Shutters Lounge was really good.. Great gift shop in the hotel with very good prices. Although the beach is not a swimming beach, you can hop in your car and pick a different one to swim at- Kauai is a very easy and safe island to explore.. not one whe you just stay at your resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60893Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. I was there with the family for 7 nights. I'm glad we stayed here as it was a great location to explore the island, 25 mins to Poipu and about 45 mins to Hanelei. Staff was friendly. Parking lot was like 50 yards away unlike some reviews saying it is too far. I have a 4 year and 7 year old and not once did they complain about walking to the parking lot. Overall great stay as price was right. Don't expect a five star quality like Grand Hyatt or Ritz as those you need to pay upward of 500/night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pathwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, MN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Everyone at the Kauai Beach Resort was very friendly and helpful. The resort was beautiful and very clean. It was located close to the airport, but far enough north that we didn't hear any planes. (When we visited the south side of Kauai, the hotels were packed in like sardines. This location was much better, even though the beach is not safe for swimming.)

The resort has beautiful grounds and pools. We had a room on the first floor that faced the pool. We could hear the pool's waterfall from our lanai and could follow a quaint stone pathway to the pool area. The boys found coconuts on the beach and had a lot of fun trying to open them. My husband enjoyed having coffee with a friendly rooster on the lanai one morning. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VnG_Eagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing