We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We were very lucky to find that our room had an ocean view - beautiful. The room was a good size, and clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had been recently updated but for some strange reason still had a horrible shower curtain (a glass partition would be much nicer!). The towels were very small but that seems to be standard for American hotels. The room itself could do with an update as it was a little chintzy but fine. The balcony was a good size.

The facilities are fine. The three swimming pools are each a good size. The kids pool looked good too although I didn't use it. The bar by the pool served a nice selection of meals and drinks. There were plenty of comfortable loungers and you can have up to 2 beach towels per person. Again the towels were a little on the small side and looked a bit tatty, but they were clean.

The beach was almost deserted and is a really pretty stretch of golden sand, but the ocean was very rough on this side of the island. The south and north of the island seem to be better for swimming, snorkelling, etc.

The hotel is not within walking distance of any towns so you have to drive everywhere, unless you're happy staying in the resort the whole time. I prefer to visit local restaurants so didn't eat dinner at the hotel. I did use the bar each evening though as all the towns seem to close down at around 10pm. The main bar at the hotel stayed open till circa 11pm but hardly anyone stayed that late so the atmosphere wasn't great (although I think I came off season). They had live music every night until 10pm which was nice, but often the same person and routine. The bar could do with a spruce up too as it is also looking a little old fashioned. We came here for breakfast too as they serve a selection of coffee and pastries. There are a few tables outside overlooking the swimming pool and (sort of) ocean which is nice.

The staff were all nice and helpful. We organised a couple of trips while we were here and weren't disappointed.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take into consideration the suggestions your provided. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    880
    310
    77
    44
See reviews for
419
1,280
89
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Returned to hotel after staying here 9 years ago when it was a Radisson, and thankfully not much has changed! We were travelling with a party of 8 and had 3 Lagoon View family rooms for 7 nights. The rooms were ample size, nice and clean, with comfy beds. Only slight grip would be they are starting to look a little dated and could do with a lick of paint - but nothing to spoil your trip! Staff were more friendly then our previous visit, although us and the kids really missed the nightly torch lighting and dance performance the hotel used to put on! We did attend the "Tuesday" night management drinks which was nice, but not a patch on the nightly show we used to see (please bring it back!!!). Grounds and pool where immaculate and the "roosters" didn't bother us - in fact after a few Mai Tai's became a source of entertainment!! We ate in all restaurants and the food has improved on our last visit, especially found the light bites in the bar delicious! Nightly entertainment was great, although beware of getting too friendly with Makapa Brown, he is very "spiritual"!!!!!!
Whilst in Kauai my husband and I renewed our Wedding Vows at the Coco Palms Hotel courtesy of Mr Larry Riveria. I cannot praise this man highly enough, he is a legend and the whole day was fantastic. If you can catch is show at Cafe Portofino on a Wednesday at the Marriott you won't be disappointed!!
We all had a fabulous week at the Kauai Beach Resort and would highly recommend this hotel, my only negative is that it is so far away for us to go back yearly!!!! Kauai has a very special place in my heart!

Room Tip: I'm sure a sea view is best, but we love the Lagoon View rooms - good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased to have you return to our resort and to learn that this visit was very memorable. We appreciate your feedback and we will be take into consideration your entertainment suggestions. Your kind comment on the friendly service you received will be shared with all. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My partner and I had a very short experience at this hotel which was very unfortunate. We needed a hotel that would be close to the airport since we had a day layover. Oh how I wish we could have stayed an extra day. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and considering it's only 10 minutes away from the airport, we weren't disrupted by the traffic at all.

The pool area was HUGE with lush waterfalls and a water slide!

The onsite restaurant was very nice, with a nice choice of food with that Hawaiian flare.

The staff was very nice and helpful :) Always a plus.

My only issue was that the walls were a TAD bit thin for my liking. It was very easy to hear people in the hallway and fairly in the next room. But the rooms were very cute, spacious, and the beds were comfy!

I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I would request a resort or oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that you enjoyed the facilities and accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for an extended stay in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great location. Biggest surprise was the on property restaurants. Best food and atmosphere, while the prices were in line with others on the island. Duke's Kauai was great. Good food, good music and the best view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wineryrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the resort to be in a great location. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Kauai Beach Resort for five nights April 2013 and it was the best hotel we had during our three weeks on the Hawaiian Islands. Its located not too far from the airport and Lihue but still is a quiet and remote resort by the waterfront. The rooms are spacious, clean, very well equipped and with great beds. With pools for every need, a cozy bar for you afternoon drinks and a very good restaurant, the resort covers all your needs. Great staff and an excellent consierge service that can help you with everything. If we ever go back to Kauai we will choose this resort for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in an ideal location for all island activities. We appreciate your feedback as well as your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is central and easy to find from the airport, there is minimal noise from being so close.
Beautiful beach for walking on, swimming pools to relax by and very clean for swimming in. The rooms are clean and very well cared for by the service staff. Had the buffet breakfast included in our room rate and we were very happy with the choices, lots of fresh fruit and local pastries, and the hot choice was changed daily. The staff we encountered were very friendly and provided great service.
Would have liked free wireless in room, but the service is free and fast in the lobby and restaurant areas. They could use a small golf cart for bringing you back from the car park when you have spent the day in the sun :-) but you can valet park easily.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwialaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our resort to be in a convenient location and our facilities were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights and both felt it would have been nice to have stayed longer to explore more. The resort was very nice. We had a buffet breakfast every morning that was ok, i was not impressed with the service of some of the staff. Very close to the airport we ended up hiring a SUV being a long weekend we missed out on the cars that were available, you need a car to get anywhere. Should have done my homework more on the hotel before we left as i was so disappointed that we could not swim at the beach! The pools were great and the rooms were large the bed was fabulous along with the pillows! We had a room with sea views and looked onto the pool as well. After spending over a week at Waikiki it was nice to slow down and rest, very quiet compared to Waikiki as you would expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and found the resort to be in an ideal location. We appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness of our accommodations and we will be happy to share your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing