We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatly enjoyed our stay at Kauai Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatly enjoyed our stay at Kauai Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

On our first visit to Kauai we stayed at this resort and had a beautiful 2 weeks. The location is Ideal; close to the airport, yet out of sound range. Roughly half-way between the north end west ends of road travel of the island.
We found the staff very friendly throughout. They offered us a room upgrade before we could even ask for one. They helped us to navigate on site and on the island. Their free shuttle service to car rental places, the airport and shopping were very helpful.
The grounds were very well kept. Room service was friendly and very efficient. We would return to this hotel anytime without hesitation.

Room Tip: Even though our room was in the main building, right above the "main traffic area", lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort's location to be ideal. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you throughout the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    885
    315
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,288
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

For being a beautiful resort--I was disappointed in customer service. Since I rented through the owner--the front desk had no information upon check-in. There is NO free parking --$16.95 day unless you request for less then maybe down to $10 day. Booking through the owner--everything is an additional cost---even the use of baggage cart--must have valet do it for liability reasons. Could have been a great experience except the valets and customer service people made you feel like second class guests. Facility itself is nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your overall stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the service provided by our staff, this is highly unusual and we will address your concerns with our management. We do hope to have the pleasure of your return visit so that we may show you what an outstanding job we really can do. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at KBR and this place deserves at least a consideration if you are planning to go to Kauai just for its location and value. For me, this was 4 out of 5 in most aspects of the trip. You stay in a central location to everywhere on island (not to mention, close to airport), but the local restaurants are a little far. Restaurant was good, but slightly on the pricey range (even for a Hawaii hotel). The front desk and concierge service was excellent, but service was a little uneven in other areas, especially restaurant. And the hotel facilities were great except I thought parking area was a little far out from the rooms. One under-appreciated aspect of this hotel is that I didn't feel particularly crowded like you would in a hustle and bustle resorts. Early risers will be able to find a little peace at the beach or your balcony, especially if your room is away from the pool. Maybe I was there in the low season but I did not feel overwhelmed by the crowd.

Tip - make sure you check out restaurant specials and make reservations, we missed out on the elegant saturday night seafood buffet special.

Room Tip: A good ocean view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee7977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in an ideal location and of great value. We appreciate your feedback on our food outlet services and we will address those concerns with the appropriate management. Mahalo for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were upgraded without asking and given honeymoon special discounts! Staff was very friendly and the pools with waterfalls were amazing. We enjoyed the free hula show and pool-side drinks (1 night a week). Very cold A/C, which my husband enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that you enjoyed our facilities. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and we will be sure to share your review with all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I just called this hotel based on the Trip Advisor special...the customer service person negated everything in the pop-up ad. According to her they have black out dates for my December 26th date of one night- no mention in the ad of black out dates. The rate is not $149 but $269- umm, that is not what the ad says. In this day and age, hotels can not assume they can pull this bate and switch and not be told on.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank jillb94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Aloha! We sincerely apologize for the confusion you experienced in inquiring about reservations at the Kauai Beach Resort. We would be more than happy to assist you directly by calling our offices at 808-246-5501. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. The staff was very welcoming and the grounds are beautiful. The hotel is also well located for those who want to day trip around this beautiful garden island. Be advised, however, Kauai has little to no night life. My only disappointment was the early closing of the pool bar. Six PM - really? Most folks do not go on vacation to turn in early.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall visit with us and found the location and facilities to be relaxing. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. Your feedback is important to us and will take into consideration your suggestion on the hours of operation of our poolside lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked a 7 night WestJet Vacation Package (air and hotel, ocean front view - Oct 26, 2013). Checked in late (after 10 PM), hotel was busy. We were greeted and checked in promptly. While the hotel was very busy the room was very quiet. This is the first hotel we have stayed at in a long time that has been this quiet every night. Had breakfast in the dining room every day, food good and comparably priced to what we would pay at home (Calgary AB Canada). Ate at the Shutters bar most nights. Happy hour daily featured a small selection of drinks (the same every day) would have been nice if the drink selection changed. Food good. Service friendly. Room - average, very clean,

Room Tip: Ocean view - building 4, nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be relaxing and our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take into consideration your suggestion on our drink menu in the Shutters Lounge. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing