We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Kauai Beach resort is a nice 3 star place to stay. It's a 10 minute drive from the airport. The rooms were a nice size. The decor and furniture is a bit dated and could use updating. We had a nice ocean view room with a small patio. Large flat screen television. Bathroom was okay although one day there was hair still on the floor right after the cleaning personnel had been there. Bathroom was a decent size but fixtures could use updating. The pool area is small but nice with a waterfall and a slide. The areas around the pool are very well kept. The beach is a few steps off the property but its pretty deserted as it's really rocky and swimming is not recommended. Rooms were quiet at night but there was we were awoken in the mornings by a rooster. Parking is around $16 a day. Free Wi-fi is available only in the lobby. It should be free in rooms too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeReeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our accommodations and facilities to be comfortable and you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    886
    316
    78
    45
See reviews for
433
1,288
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a great time at the Resort. Great location, great staff. Especially the valet when we got back to the hotel our first night there and he said "welcome home". Great customer service !! Our only complaints are the beach towel thing is hard to figure out at first, but really wasn't a big deal.
One other problem is all hotels in Hawaii are smoke free, and we had one of the only true beach front rooms, so where do they put the smokers outposts? Right in front of our room, so when you wake to watch the sun rise over Kauai you get to have all the smokers to hang out with.....not cool

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I have been to Kauai twice and both times we have landed past 10:30 in the evening so instead of driving North we decided to stay at the Kauai Beach resort for just one evening. The hotel is OK. I would not stay here for the full duration of our vacation. The last time we stayed the fire alarms went off several times before 10 am. We called the front desk, no answer so we finally left our rooms to see what was going on and was told they were testing. We are NY'rs.. alarms going off with no justification does not ease our fast past and paranoid minds. lol.. some sort of notification about there being testing in the first place or at best someone answering the phone at reception would've eased our minds a bit. Also, After 10 there is absolutely no food. Zero.. not a vending machine or anything. It took us ALL day and three flights to get there. It would have been nice to at least see some kind of vending machine.. chips.. something. The rooms are average size and a bit dated. Very muggy inside which doesn't help. If they at least ran the air before check in it would not smell so musty.

Overall, it's not a terrible place to stay but definitely a one night sort of deal. When we go back next spring, we will try a different place (or get there during the day).
Kauai is amazing though!!! Love it there.
:)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnGee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be in an ideal location to the airport and convenient for your late arrival. We apologize however, for the inconvenience you may have experienced with our food outlets closing at 10:00 PM. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments into consideration. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the week of October 19th-26th. We stayed at this resort for my moms best friends 50th birthday. It's a beautiful resort the pool areas are amazing and the rooms and beds are super comfy. The front desk staff and the bell hops and Valets were all awesome too. You also can't really beat the sunrise it is worth getting up early in the morning. The downside to the hotel side of the resort is that they do not have any microwaves and you only have the expensive on sight restaurants as an option for eating unless you want to head on in to kapaa. Food in the shutters lounge was actually really good. We had salads and some flat breads pizzas there a couple of nights that were really good. The coffee bar was not very good though. Luckily there Is a Starbucks down the road that can provide you with your coffee fix. The main reason I'm giving this only 3 stars is the spa. The service my moms friend received was just ridiculously bad. She went into the spa the night before and made an appointment for the next day. Went in at 9 am and no one was at the front desk area so she waited like 10 mins when someone finally came out and wS like what are you doing here?? She said I have an appointment at 9 am for a massage and facial and she said I don't have you here and I have a 10 am appointment so?? Pretty much trying to blow her off. She should have basically turned around and walked out at this point but really was looking forward to the massage. The masseuse finally said fine I guess I can take care of it really quick? So she takes her back performs a mediocre massage and takes her back out front where she asked about her facial to which she replied well I have a 10 am massage scheduled so? Again blowing her off so she said fine let me just pay for my massage and get out of here. So the lady asked her if she enjoyed her massage to which she replied no. The lady then proceeded to throw her credit card at her and said fine then don't worry about it? Now she basically gave away the massage and was extremely rude about it to the point of our friend just walking away from the situation. So not only did she get berated because she did no like the service Instead of it causing relaxation it caused the opposite she was sore afterwards and ended up walking away with a headache. Not the way you want to feel after a mAssage. We found out that it is independent from the resort but my feeling is that you Should check into how it is being run because it is obviously lacking in customer service and is cause for my lower rating in this review. Other than that loved this place and I may return. Next time i might get a condo though just to g er a kitchen to save on the food costs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndiP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and facilities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We are however, very disappointed to learn of the unfortunate experience your Mother's friend received in the Rainforest Spa and rest assured, we have notified the management to research this incident as this is certainly an exception and not the norm here. Also, at your convenience, we would like to hear from you directly regarding this situation and kindly ask you to call us directly at 808-246-5501. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

On our first visit to Kauai we stayed at this resort and had a beautiful 2 weeks. The location is Ideal; close to the airport, yet out of sound range. Roughly half-way between the north end west ends of road travel of the island.
We found the staff very friendly throughout. They offered us a room upgrade before we could even ask for one. They helped us to navigate on site and on the island. Their free shuttle service to car rental places, the airport and shopping were very helpful.
The grounds were very well kept. Room service was friendly and very efficient. We would return to this hotel anytime without hesitation.

Room Tip: Even though our room was in the main building, right above the "main traffic area", lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort's location to be ideal. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you throughout the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

For being a beautiful resort--I was disappointed in customer service. Since I rented through the owner--the front desk had no information upon check-in. There is NO free parking --$16.95 day unless you request for less then maybe down to $10 day. Booking through the owner--everything is an additional cost---even the use of baggage cart--must have valet do it for liability reasons. Could have been a great experience except the valets and customer service people made you feel like second class guests. Facility itself is nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your overall stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the service provided by our staff, this is highly unusual and we will address your concerns with our management. We do hope to have the pleasure of your return visit so that we may show you what an outstanding job we really can do. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at KBR and this place deserves at least a consideration if you are planning to go to Kauai just for its location and value. For me, this was 4 out of 5 in most aspects of the trip. You stay in a central location to everywhere on island (not to mention, close to airport), but the local restaurants are a little far. Restaurant was good, but slightly on the pricey range (even for a Hawaii hotel). The front desk and concierge service was excellent, but service was a little uneven in other areas, especially restaurant. And the hotel facilities were great except I thought parking area was a little far out from the rooms. One under-appreciated aspect of this hotel is that I didn't feel particularly crowded like you would in a hustle and bustle resorts. Early risers will be able to find a little peace at the beach or your balcony, especially if your room is away from the pool. Maybe I was there in the low season but I did not feel overwhelmed by the crowd.

Tip - make sure you check out restaurant specials and make reservations, we missed out on the elegant saturday night seafood buffet special.

Room Tip: A good ocean view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee7977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in an ideal location and of great value. We appreciate your feedback on our food outlet services and we will address those concerns with the appropriate management. Mahalo for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing