We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool area to forget the worn out rooms”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

You generally don't come to Kauai to stay in your room, but having said that, this hotel needs major refurbishments in the rooms, specially in the toilets. Walls and doors are paper-thin, meaning you'll wake up when your neighbors do (particularly if they can't control their children!)The hotel has a very nice set of pools (with the longest waterslide in Kauai I was told), which are very relaxing, with enough place for everybody to lounge around. It's by the beach, although it didn't look like a swimmable beach. The hotel is very conveniently located, 5 minutes from the airport (but you won't hear many planes).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with our accommodations. Rest assured, we will be making improvements to the guestrooms in the near future. We are however, pleased that you found the facilities to be relaxing and the location of the resort to be very convenient. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We flew to Kauai to get married. We stayed at KBR and it was a delight. We got a really nice room upgrade. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Service was excellent. The parking is 17 dollars a day, but that does include valet parking, so use it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Congratulations on your recent wedding here on Kauai and thank you for choosing to stay at our resort. We are pleased that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable and that our staff provided you with excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here. We took a last minute trip to Kauai while vacationing in Oahu. We flew over to Kauai and got a rental car, then booked a hotel just from some quick research on our phone and with guidance from the rental car lady. We found a great deal on a hotel booking website.

The hotel is pretty and airy in the lobby area. The pool area looks really pretty and like lots of fun for kids. We chose not to take part in pool time due to the weather being a little chilly.

Upon check in, the guest relations lady offered us a pool view or mountain view room. We chose mountain view as we didnt care much to stare down at people in the pool. When we arrived in our room, we checked out our view. The "mountain view" was more of a roof view of a building lower than us. Not nice at all.

The internet in the room and hotel in general is terrible, so is the cell reception.

Our stay here was nice, but not 5 star. The bed and pillows were not too comfy.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are always happy to accommodate our guests with alternative guestrooms if they are available. The pool view rooms are lovely and some have partial ocean views. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we only hope that we may redeem ourselves with your return visit to show you what an outstanding resort we are. Mahalo for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The property was beautiful and well kept. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable. The swimming pool area is very nice. There were plenty of chairs, except for during the Tuesday afternoon free Hawaiian dance show. I loved the driveway entrance with huge trees lining the way. And the whole place had the look of a plantation.


We booked our room for a great price through Hotwire.com. We bought a few groceries in the next town and enjoyed breakfast on our lanai most mornings. Two roosters would come beg each morning, but they never woke me up. The first morning we attended the tour info session and then got the breakfast buffet for a discount.

We enjoyed walking on the beach, but spent more time at more swimmable beaches on the island. One afternoon we checked out beach chairs from the pool towel guy. We didn't have to walk far to have the beach to ourselves. In fact, walking on this sand is not easy, so we didn't make it very far. He also had a boogie board and some snorkel equipment, but we had already rented those elsewhere. Check out the pool towels when you arrive. Exchange them each day for clean ones. Then return them before you leave. I liked that.

You can't really walk to anywhere off the property. The place is practically isolated, which I loved, especially at the beach. But there were other hotels toward Wailua and Kapaa that were within walking distance of restaurants. We didn't have time to enjoy the hotel as much as we wanted because we were always getting in the car to go someplace else.

This hotel is within a few miles of the kayaking tours on the Wailua River and swimming and snorkeling at Lydgate State Park. Also pretty close to the airport, but the noise was not a factor at all. We only heard planes when we were on the beach.

The parking is expensive, but usually available. If there aren't any spots such as on a Friday or Saturday night, have the valet park your car. The only cost difference is the tip. The valets are very nice. They always had our car waiting because we would call them before leaving our room.

We booked our stay for a great price through Hotwire.com, without knowing for sure which resort. We had a good guess of which resort we would get and hoped to not get the cheapest room in the place, which I guess is a Mountain View. When we arrived they said we were upgraded to a Garden View. The view was of a lagoon, water fountain, and condos. If we had been able to see the ocean, that would have been much better, but we chose not to pay for that. There were several high school Cross Country teams staying at the hotel, some even on our hall. But the room was very quiet.

I'm sure this isn't as nice as the top resorts. We usually travel economically, so this place was really nice for us. A lot depends on your perspective!

Room Tip: We booked our stay for a great price through Hotwire.com, without knowing for sure which resort. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and found our resort to be of great value. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It's interesting reading reviews, one persons trash is another's treasure. We loved the resort. We were warmly greeted by the bell/valet staff and they were great the entire week. We were also warmly greeted by the front desk staff, who were very helpful and even provided nice discount cards for the morning buffet breakfasts. Our room (third floor) had a great view of the ocean and the pool-garden area. We found the four pools (including sand covered), rock waterfalls, large slide, pool equipment, lounge chairs etc in great repair and plenty of them. The two spas, one with a little waterfall coming into it to be romantic, secluded and just the right temperature. Our room also had a nice balcony and small fridge, and while not huge it was just right for the two of us (king bed). A few other comments, we loved that the resort is secluded, but close to shopping and restaurants. It's nice that the Walmart and Costco are only 10 minutes away but the resort is all alone on the beach with numerous palms and not a non resort resident to be seen. The golf course next door is beautiful and reasonably priced. Another note about the location, it is half way between the north coast-Princeville and the southwest coast-Wailea Canyon; roughly 30 minutes either way to everything. The bottom line, great resort, great location, great staff, reasonably priced. We'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: Get higher up; third floor, or in building right next to the ocean (building four I think), we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoomisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you loved our resort and found the location to be very convenient. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service with aloha they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had the pleasure of visit the resort as part of a business trip/vacation, and I was blown away. The staff was incredible. They were welcoming and genuinely glad to help in whatever we needed. We had a first floor poolside room that still gave us a view of the ocean, and were extremely happy with it. The restaurant had excellent food. Their fish of the day was always spot on.

I would go back to this resort in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Poolside is the way to go. First floor rooms have a lanai with seating area that allows you to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you our resort exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the accommodations and food outlets. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Okay, let's try this again, I guess my first review wasn't detailed enough for tripadvisor AKA it wasn't a nice review so the hotel told them to remove it.

SO ARE YOU READY FOR SOME DETAIL?

Don't stay here, the hotel was probably nice when it opened in 1982, however it clearly has not been remodeled since. The hotel rooms were meh...they had a moldy smell to them, which I realize it is a tropical island but that's no excuse. My parents live in Honolulu and our house doesn't smell. That is a cop out if they use than as an excuse.

The pool is really really old. The paint is chipping and the stones around the grotto area were slick with mold/moss, no thanks. If I remember correctly its 3 separate small pools all in one area, the lounge chairs were super old too.

The staff was nice, that's the only thing that makes me feel mildly bad about giving them such a poor review, but it's not like the staff owns the place.

The pool bar food is scary. I ordered a wrap that arrived in a pool of juice which made the wrap super soggy, it was gross.

For the price I guess it's fine if you want to be close to the airport, but I'd suggest staying further from the airport and heading up to princeville. Basically this place needs to either be knocked down and redone, or a MASSIVE renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christinelaine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Aloha! We have tried to reach you directly to learn more about your visit to Kauai as your description of the property you visited does not match that of the Kauai Beach Resort. Our last renovation was in 2006 and we have recently completely upgrades to the exterior facilities. We are well known for the quality of our pool and spa facilities and we take great pride in maintaining the grounds. Please contact us at your earliest convenience. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £135 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing