We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect week over the holidays”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect week over the holidays”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the KBR from Christmas Eve until New Years Eve. I read many reviews prior to booking so I was prepared for some of the cons, however, other than the relentless mosiquitos, our stay was nothing short of great. The rooms are a little worn but very comfortable and we weren't there to spend time in the room. Our booking had the breakfast buffet included, we ate a later breakfast daily and weren't hungry again until dinner time. We did rent a car so we ended up eating only dinner only twice at the resort, once in the lounge and once at the outdoor bar area by the pool. Again, no complaints.
Although the beach in front of the resort isn't a swimming beach, it's a short hike to get to an area that is.
I would recommend the KBR to anyone who is headed to Kauai for a relaxing, stress-free Hawaiian vacation.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront room, I would recommend spending a little more for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose our resort to spend the holidays and that you enjoyed a relaxing and stress free vacation. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    885
    315
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,288
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Initially we were quite excited upon arriving at the resort, however that was reasonably short lived due to some difficulties getting the rooms we required (not really the resorts fault, however they did attempt to provide a resolution for us which still left our children in another room a the end of a hall away from us.) Our main concern is the front desk staff were a little lacking in understanding our requirements even to the point of our checkout causing some confusion. The rooms were nice but nothing special and maybe a little dated. The pool area looks great and the teenage kids did enjoy that facility. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, there is no real beach to talk about. The resort is locate in a reasonably isolated area mid way between the airport and town, so if you do not have a car you will need to rely on shuttles to get anywhere, which can leave you rather isolated with limited entertainment options within the resort. The two restaurants serve nice food, but after a few days it could become boring. We have not really stayed in a resort like this before and have certainly decided we would rather be in a mainstream hotel nearer more facilites and restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Building 4 has the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. Though the resort is in an isolated location, we do offer daily car rentals for our guests to explore the island at their leisure. We appreciate your feedback and will address the front desk service concerns you had with our Guest Services Manager. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at beautiful Kauai Beach Resort in Kauai recently and loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is located for close to airport and they have free scuttle bus to hotel and shops which is great. Staff are very friendly which makes the stay even more pleasant. The hotel is located on the beach and have several pools. The only small issue we had one day was with hot water and TV which they came and fixed it straight away so overall a fantastic stay as staff make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frida001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and you found the facilities and accommodations to be beautiful and relaxing. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

2-night stay starting New Year's Eve. Not too noisy. Oceanfront room was small but nice. Mosquitos are relentless, but it's a tropical environment. Makes it tougher to enjoy grounds as these are day biters.

Room had two DOUBLE (not queen) beds, which did not promote restful sleep. There is space for queen beds, no idea why a hotel trying to move up the sale would have such small beds.

Big backups at front desk, only 2 clerks, long wait to return pool towels at checkout. Bellhop no-showed a timed luggage assist at checkout.

Beach here is pretty but non-swim able. Safe winter swimming and decent snorkeling 5' north at Lydgate beach.

10' from airport, and safely south of the Kapaa traffic nightmare. Not far from Poipu and Kapaa. Boogie boarding is decent at Kealea, about 15-20' north, rent gear on the way. Smiths luau is 5' away, and there is a free shuttle.

Pools are nice but quite cold in winter, depending on weather.

Late checkout option is a very reasonable $10/hr which is great for evening flights home, if available.

Overall a nice hotel with some service shortfalls and small beds. Would have given 4 stars if either problem was fixed. Nice small feel compared to the big Poipu resorts.

Rates were reasonable for Kauai winter holidays, around $260/night including 4 buffet breakfasts (2/day).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjay2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We also appreciate your feedback with respect to our guestroom accommodations and your concerns on the front desk service issues and we will address these items accordingly. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kauai Beach Resort over the Christmas break. It is on a lovely secluded beach in Lihue, about 10 minutes from the airport. The staff were all wonderful, so friendly and always helpful. The rooms were amazing, beautifully decorated. Although there was no microwave in the rooms, there was a microwave on each floor for guests to use. The grounds are beautiful, with many pools, hot tubs and an incredible beach. The beach right in front of the resort is not good for swimming because of rocks, but if you walk 5 minutes down the beach there is a public beach that is better for swimming (but there is no lifeguard). We found the concierge Christen incredibly helpful with setting up our activities for the week. Christen was very knowledgeable and we really appreciated her help with all the tours and diving with us. We went to the main restaurant for new years and we were a bit dissapointed with the dinner, especially considering the amount they charged for dinner. The bar does offer lighter fare that is less expensive than the main dining room, but it really is lighter fare...more like appetizers. There are no restaurants or shops in the immediate area around the hotel, so a car is necessary. Fitness centre is very good with several different cardio machines, weights, and mats. Fitness centre is open 24 hours. overall, I would stay here again because of the beautiful property and great service and would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gammay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the resort to be conveniently located to the airport. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is run down and not being invested in. The food in the resaurants is mediocre and I had to swat Mosquitos while I ate.

The room was an "ocean" view. The ocean could be seen in the far distance. But not as advertised.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaTom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and at your convenience, we would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Please contact us directly at 808-246-5501. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our family of 4 (including our children ages 12 and 14) spent 5 lovely days at this resort over Christmas. It was a perfect location as a base for our touring of the beautiful garden isle - away from the hustle and bustle of Po'ipu to the south and Princeville to the north.

Upon arrival from our 17-hour travels from Canada, this resort is only 5 minutes from the airport so after picking up our car rental we were virtually there. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. Great pool with various locations to suit all needs (including water slide for the kids). While the beach was not swimable at this time of year, the sunrises were gorgeous! Our oceanview suite was well-appointed and comfortable for our family. As an added bonus, the air-conditioning was efficient and ran quietly during the night for you light sleepers out there. Beautiful view of the ocean too!

Buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful (recommend to get the bed and breakfast rate like we did as likely less expensive than paying for breakfast separately). Poolside food was just ok - only ate there once and wouldn't eat there again - expensive and not the best. All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the valet parking was great for the golfing days and days at the beach where we didn't want to lug our stuff to the parking lot. Same price as regular daily parking and we really enjoyed the convenience.

Overall it was a perfect spot for us and we would return if ever back on Kauai.

Room Tip: If you are in an oceanview suite or room, request a room closer to the beach, as the further away yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in a very convenient location for all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing