We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nice property - definitely 4 star quality. Would definitely recommend it.

Positives:
- convenient location close to airport (good for helicopter tours etc)
- stunningly beautiful beach (though practically un-swimmable)
- nice friendly staff
- Overall nice rooms. They gave us a free upgrade upon request.
- Convenient on-demand shuttle to the airport
- charming to see the occasional chicken running around the grounds

Negatives
- bit of noise from corridors & neighbours
- beach is un-swimmable
- Couldn't get any food after 10pm - not even potato chips or chocolates - after a 36 hour flight to Hawaii (but this seems like standard practice across Hawaii - no food after 10pm - so won't blame this resort).
- self parking is in an unpaved lot

I would recommend this resort. Great value for money in a state where everything is terribly overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be of great value and in a convenient location to all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will address those concerns you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    917
    324
    78
    46
See reviews for
443
1,329
94
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Very pleased to get a room in Building 4 facing south. It was quite tranquil, facing the ocean and a nearby state park. Building 4 is a bit of a walk but you are closer to the water.

The pool setting was top notch with 4 pool options, two with a cascading waterfalls and one with a sand area. The beach is nice but you can’t swim in front. Walk north 5 minutes, cross the small creek to find better and more swimmable surf.

We found the service staff to be very good, from the front desk to the pool side staff.

As we stayed for 7 days, we did self parking which came at 10.00 per day. You have to pay for internet if needed but there is free access in the lobby.

On the food front, we did a breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The latter was a bit pricy for what you get, we found better dinner options in Nawiliwili Harbour to the south. The breakfast buffet was fine, good fruit, but go for the prepared omelette as the it will be fresh and hot.

We did enjoy the appetizers at the lounge (shutters) and found were able to make a good meal of the variety of offerings.

As for the location, it is a good spot on the Island as you are midway between the north and the south as you will want to rent a car and source out the variety of beaches and sites on the Island (and chase the sun if required). Rain is likely in the north with the sun right behind, warm and hot most days in the south.

Would stay here again but would look to get into building 4 once again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our stay. Very pleased to get a room in Building 4 facing south. It was quite tranquil, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be perfect and your accommodation met your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the very good service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The good and not so good.

Good: valet people are amazing, location, ocean and landscaping pools but they fail to clean the sand out daily.

Not so good: we had 3 couples 3 different resorts one got engaged one celebrating their 3rd anniversary and we celebrated 15 yea together and married the first day...everyone got upgrades dinners and bottles of wine EXEPT us. Room furniture is from 80's and in poor shape door metal was extremely rusted see pics. Walls has not been cleaned in months...who knows what was on walls. Food and staff at restaurant NOT good.

DEFINITELY NOT a 4 star.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenNPhx_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and rest assured we have addressed your concerns of the guestroom conditions to our Housekeeping management. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves with your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melba, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Quick info about us: We are a family of four, husband and wife for 16+ years and twins (boy and girl born in 2001). Our daughter is the social butterfly, our son has autism (he is non-verbal, but loving and happy). Our travels are interesting because they always have the perspective of a family with a special needs child as a part of them.

We planned on staying at the Kauai Beach Resort for several days based on the reviews that we found here on tripadvisor, but we ended up leaving after one night. Here's why...

The resort is located not too far from the airport in an area that has good shopping and eating options. It is fairly central to the island's main attractions, so while you will need to drive, most of the big options are the same distance away. There is a beach but it really isn't for family swimming. Lydgate isn't far away and it's a much better option but still not nearly as enjoyable as Poipu.

The resort's pool is amazing! Waterfalls, multiple pools with differing depths and unique aspects. The slide is slow but fun for the kids and well monitored. Many parents seem content to let their children run free at the pools all day long (so it's noisy and a bit chaotic). The pool was something both our kids loved and we enjoyed as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Whether it was the nice ladies at the check in, the bell boys offering help with luggage or directions, or the pool staff walking by or monitoring the slide, I felt that they all were very kind and sincere and embodied the Aloha spirit. Even when we chose to leave early they worked things out for us (they had apparently already billed us for 3 nights even though we were planning on staying on a night by night basis, it took some work and explaining but they were kind and helpful throughout).

Now the reason we left early. We stayed in a garden view room with two (very small) double beds. The room itself was yellow and outdated, and very much on the small side of things. When we had the roll a way bed added there was really no room for it except to squeeze it between the two small double beds and thus create a weird concoction of three small beds. The beds were not comfortable and the bathroom was on the small side as well. Being that we were on vacation and wanted to enjoy our time together, we just couldn't see ourselves getting a good night's sleep (which kind of ruins vacations!). Thus, we decided the Kauai Beach Resort with it's great pools and friendly staff just wasn't for us. The cost of parking was also a turn off since they had it in abundance.

If you are considering this resort, know that it is a good value compared to other options, but you need to be prepared to compromise room comfort for the price. For us, we found spending 40 dollars more a night was well worth it for a more spacious living area. Again, having a son with autism does make us more picky than the average family, we understand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoofers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be ideal in location and the facilities perfect for your family. However, we are disappointed that your accommodations were not conducive for the size of your family and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please note that our front desk staff are available to assist you and perhaps could have offered to relocate you to adjoining rooms. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you give us another try when you return to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I can not say anything bad about this place. our stay was wonderful. beachfront room. large property to explore. was a little pricey in restaurants but worth it. Had lots to do and located close the airport, You couldn't hear the noise so don't worry about that

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for the your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the resort to be in an ideal location. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had two "Ocean View" rooms. The room on the pool side had what could reasonably called a distant view of the ocean. However, calling the room on the opposite side of the building "ocean View" is misleading. The view was of a field with a glimpse of the ocean in the very far distance. We reserved rooms with two beds, but only rooms with one bed were available at check-in. They waived the ridiculous parking fee and put a rollaway bed in the crowded room. Other than the view issue and the crowding caused by the rollaway, the rooms were nice, clean, and were quite. The decks were very small but usable. The pools are nice although the water was very cold. The beach is not swimmable but is nice for walking. There is a marginally swimmable area a few hundred yards north of the hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The buffet breakfast was good but not spectacular. However, the service for lunch and dinner was painfully slow almost to the point of being unbearable. However, the servers were friendly and the problem appears to be in the kitchen. The food (when it finally came) was descent.

The location is good if you have a car, but otherwise you are stuck in the middle of no-where. All in all, an adequate but not spectacular low key resort.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the driveway. If you want an "Ocean View" room, you need to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we will address those concerns you listed in your review. We do appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provided. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity for you come back and experience the resort as it should be. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Property is in a good setting...mountain views, lagoons, ocean, several pools. Room was very nice and we had a small patio overlooking pool and waterfall. Good service from staff but cleaning staff could do a better job cleaning the room. Staff could also do a better job cleaning pools and hot tubs...bugs, leaves, grass, etc. Food and drink prices are a little high for good/average food. Short walk to beach...swimming not allowed...somewhat rocky and rough surf at times. Laundry facilities available.

Room Tip: Ocean and mountain view rooms probably have less noise as you are away from the pools, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the location of our resort and the facilities. We appreciate your feedback on our guest services and we will address those concerns you had of our housekeeping and ground maintenance areas. We look forward to welcoming you back the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing