We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here in early December 2013. The weather wasn't great so we didn't use the beautiful pool area too much. We spent most of our time on the southwest side of the island where it always seems to be sunny (this was our 8th trip to Kauai). This is a really nice hotel that does its best to keep up with maintenance on an older property in a very humid climate. You will not find a hotel in Hawaii that doesn't battle with this challenge. The staff is excellent. Helpful and friendly. Our only complaint was the cost of in-room internet and parking. Why the nickel and diming? Most hotels include these.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank racingwiththewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our staff provided you with friendly and helpful service. We also appreciate your feedback on our parking and in-room internet fees. Most resorts in Hawaii will charge a daily resort fee of $30 and up for these services. We do not charge a resort fee and give our guests the option of these services. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We look to the pleasure of your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you're looking for somewhere to stay on Kauai, this is the right area for it. You're right in the middle, which is ideal because you can't drive all the way around the island. This resort is top-notch. I love the pools in the middle. There are three or four of them, plus hot tubs and a water slide. The resort is right up against the beach, though the beach itself is nothing to write home about. It's rocky, but it has a great view of the sunrise. If you opt for an ocean view, most of your view will probably be of the pool. The view is worth the premium, but not as much as it would be at taller resorts on the island.

Parking is a little steep ($16/night), but valet parking is the same price. There are no nearby parking lots, so just pay for it. The in-house restaurants are a bit overpriced, but they serve good food. You're better off going to Kapaa for food, though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DXLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our location to be in an excellent location for all island activities and that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Kauai is a beautiful place! Green, never ending beaches, Hawaiian pace to life and not as commercial as some other vacation destinations. Kauai only has a population of 65,000 residents, a few million feral chickens and their building code doesn’t allow for buildings taller than a coconut tree! The people are very nice, very friendly but more laid back than on the other islands so remember to shift into ‘island speed’ once you arrive.

That means one drink at a time – they can’t serve you another until the first one is gone!

The Island capital is Liheu which is the largest city (Costco, Kmart, etc) and somewhat centered on the Island with their International airport. Being close to Liheu makes it easy to see the whole island, be close their main shopping district.

Liheu airport is a good, smaller scale airport, rental car pickup and drop off is off site but they have desks and shuttle buses so it’s not too inconvenient. If you’re going to need a van book well in advance – they exist but are hard to get. Check in can be a zoo if you come late so be on time or early – they have one air conditioned bar after security otherwise it’s an open air terminal = hot.

The island has great taxi service, meters, honest drivers that can give you great tips on local things to see.

I would recommend doing the flight tour as well as driving as much of the island as you have time for. It’s not too busy and the roads, canyons; bridges are a hoot to drive. On the North side the one lane bridges are frequent and local custom is to allow 5 to 7 cars each way. A double offset single lane bailey bridge is very interesting as once you enter it you can’t see if anyone has on the other end! Driving to the West side take you into some amazing canyon drives with towering lookouts – great roads but keep to your side on the corners!
Most of the more famous waterfalls can be reached by car and surprisingly quickly. All worth the photo, some you can hike down to for a swim. I’d recommend exploring all the signed areas. At Opaekaa falls look across the road away from the falls, cross the highway and the lookout there has a great view of the valley which most people missed. Driving to Wailua falls is a short trip up a hundred ‘s’ turns with some real narrow parts. You just get into it an viola your at the end of the road and a small parking lot – watch out for the other tourists standing on the road as your on them in a second. The view is great and you can park and hike down for a swim if you want.

For a younger family (small kids) the best beach we found for snorkeling was Lydgate Park – just North of the Wailua Municipal golf course. It has a small rock walled pond that has lots of fish and isn’t too deep for kids. Of all the snorkeling we did we saw the most fish here! It has bathrooms, showers and a life guard for the regular beach area. The largest pond like area for snorkeling is on the West side at salt Pond Beach park – but its open to the Ocean and much deeper, great for serious snorkelers.

We swam at most of the beaches and they are all incredible but for a family – Lydgate Park has it all. *Just needs a better sign at the last turn towards the Ocean.

For our flight tour we selected Wings Over Kauai. Absolutely recommend them to you, we got a good price, had lots of time in the air, circled some highlights including some whales, got lots of good photos and saw the whole island. We also bought the DVD video ($30.00) of the flight as they use Go Pro cameras to capture the views as well as conversations inside the plane. Using Bose headphones they play appropriate music for the different views and movie locations so you don’t get drowned out by the engine noise. It’s a great way to remember the trip. Pilots were super friendly, professional and know the islands history so make great tour guides. www.wingsoverkauai.com

Shopping in Liheu has everything but the best beach side or surfing shopping area is in the East side town of Kapaa. Great to walk; have a meal, shop, etc. The main road goes right through it so you can’t miss it. Park and have some fun.

Lots of the excursions launch from the South side of the island down by Port Allen – it’s nice but don’t miss the North side of the island where the big surf is.

We stayed in the Kauai Beach Resort which is just North of the Liheu airport. It’s central so the airlines have their crews stay there for shift changes. It’s well a well kept condo – resort type place to stay. An outer ring of condos faces the north side of the resort. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and alittle bit of everything for everyone. This resort is unique. I would recommend it with some advice on what to expect. So in point form:

Beach Resort = has no swimmable beach
Garden view room = view of front entrance & parking lot, hear the car alarms and doors closing
Beds are super soft = sore back
Buffett is fabulous but get it included with your package = or it’ll cost you.
It’s a resort with a dirt bike race track beside it = so all day Sunday you can listen to the bikes.
Pool bar is beside the kiddie pool and kiddie water slide. It closes at 5:00 so that the restaurant bar can open = this isn’t an adult only resort so what did you expect?
The restaurant bar has one large fire pit but good luck getting a seat as it’s always surrounded by kids or families with young kids = It closes at 10:00 so as not to disturb the guests above it.
It has a business centre but everything takes Visa – even printing boarding passes. Sign says go to Guest Services to print boarding passes, Guest Services says “oh yes you can do that with your Visa card at our business centre” = might explain why no one is ever in their business centre.
Gym is nice but small and no adjoining bathrooms or showers = plan ahead.
They have two hot tubs one works one doesn’t = go to the one that works.
No complimentary rooms for late flights out but they can hold your bags.

Now I know these seem negative but they are just observations – we had a great time, great restaurant food, great music every night, clean rooms, keys that always work (when does that happen) and the nice staff made for a nice stay. There is a beach next door for afternoon swimming if you want but don’t stay all night as the local fishermen come down to fish for Barracuda and they chum the shallow water to bring the fish in.

Looking at some of the other resorts the Kauai Beach Resort was a great choice in the end – just have to get that Ocean view next time.

Aloha!

Room Tip: Ocean view only or your listening to cars all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 49Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in an ideal location with comfortable accommodations and friendly service. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nice property - definitely 4 star quality. Would definitely recommend it.

Positives:
- convenient location close to airport (good for helicopter tours etc)
- stunningly beautiful beach (though practically un-swimmable)
- nice friendly staff
- Overall nice rooms. They gave us a free upgrade upon request.
- Convenient on-demand shuttle to the airport
- charming to see the occasional chicken running around the grounds

Negatives
- bit of noise from corridors & neighbours
- beach is un-swimmable
- Couldn't get any food after 10pm - not even potato chips or chocolates - after a 36 hour flight to Hawaii (but this seems like standard practice across Hawaii - no food after 10pm - so won't blame this resort).
- self parking is in an unpaved lot

I would recommend this resort. Great value for money in a state where everything is terribly overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be of great value and in a convenient location to all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will address those concerns you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Very pleased to get a room in Building 4 facing south. It was quite tranquil, facing the ocean and a nearby state park. Building 4 is a bit of a walk but you are closer to the water.

The pool setting was top notch with 4 pool options, two with a cascading waterfalls and one with a sand area. The beach is nice but you can’t swim in front. Walk north 5 minutes, cross the small creek to find better and more swimmable surf.

We found the service staff to be very good, from the front desk to the pool side staff.

As we stayed for 7 days, we did self parking which came at 10.00 per day. You have to pay for internet if needed but there is free access in the lobby.

On the food front, we did a breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The latter was a bit pricy for what you get, we found better dinner options in Nawiliwili Harbour to the south. The breakfast buffet was fine, good fruit, but go for the prepared omelette as the it will be fresh and hot.

We did enjoy the appetizers at the lounge (shutters) and found were able to make a good meal of the variety of offerings.

As for the location, it is a good spot on the Island as you are midway between the north and the south as you will want to rent a car and source out the variety of beaches and sites on the Island (and chase the sun if required). Rain is likely in the north with the sun right behind, warm and hot most days in the south.

Would stay here again but would look to get into building 4 once again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our stay. Very pleased to get a room in Building 4 facing south. It was quite tranquil, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be perfect and your accommodation met your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the very good service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The good and not so good.

Good: valet people are amazing, location, ocean and landscaping pools but they fail to clean the sand out daily.

Not so good: we had 3 couples 3 different resorts one got engaged one celebrating their 3rd anniversary and we celebrated 15 yea together and married the first day...everyone got upgrades dinners and bottles of wine EXEPT us. Room furniture is from 80's and in poor shape door metal was extremely rusted see pics. Walls has not been cleaned in months...who knows what was on walls. Food and staff at restaurant NOT good.

DEFINITELY NOT a 4 star.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenNPhx_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your recent review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and rest assured we have addressed your concerns of the guestroom conditions to our Housekeeping management. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves with your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Quick info about us: We are a family of four, husband and wife for 16+ years and twins (boy and girl born in 2001). Our daughter is the social butterfly, our son has autism (he is non-verbal, but loving and happy). Our travels are interesting because they always have the perspective of a family with a special needs child as a part of them.

We planned on staying at the Kauai Beach Resort for several days based on the reviews that we found here on tripadvisor, but we ended up leaving after one night. Here's why...

The resort is located not too far from the airport in an area that has good shopping and eating options. It is fairly central to the island's main attractions, so while you will need to drive, most of the big options are the same distance away. There is a beach but it really isn't for family swimming. Lydgate isn't far away and it's a much better option but still not nearly as enjoyable as Poipu.

The resort's pool is amazing! Waterfalls, multiple pools with differing depths and unique aspects. The slide is slow but fun for the kids and well monitored. Many parents seem content to let their children run free at the pools all day long (so it's noisy and a bit chaotic). The pool was something both our kids loved and we enjoyed as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Whether it was the nice ladies at the check in, the bell boys offering help with luggage or directions, or the pool staff walking by or monitoring the slide, I felt that they all were very kind and sincere and embodied the Aloha spirit. Even when we chose to leave early they worked things out for us (they had apparently already billed us for 3 nights even though we were planning on staying on a night by night basis, it took some work and explaining but they were kind and helpful throughout).

Now the reason we left early. We stayed in a garden view room with two (very small) double beds. The room itself was yellow and outdated, and very much on the small side of things. When we had the roll a way bed added there was really no room for it except to squeeze it between the two small double beds and thus create a weird concoction of three small beds. The beds were not comfortable and the bathroom was on the small side as well. Being that we were on vacation and wanted to enjoy our time together, we just couldn't see ourselves getting a good night's sleep (which kind of ruins vacations!). Thus, we decided the Kauai Beach Resort with it's great pools and friendly staff just wasn't for us. The cost of parking was also a turn off since they had it in abundance.

If you are considering this resort, know that it is a good value compared to other options, but you need to be prepared to compromise room comfort for the price. For us, we found spending 40 dollars more a night was well worth it for a more spacious living area. Again, having a son with autism does make us more picky than the average family, we understand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoofers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be ideal in location and the facilities perfect for your family. However, we are disappointed that your accommodations were not conducive for the size of your family and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please note that our front desk staff are available to assist you and perhaps could have offered to relocate you to adjoining rooms. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have you give us another try when you return to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
63 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £137 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing