We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short notice”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short notice”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I needed a room on short notice for one night. We stay at this facility which is fantastic! BUT I think the room rate of over $250 was extremely high considering we were in the back of the facility and facing the workers parking lot. Extra charges for internet also.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be fantastic for your brief one night visit. It appears on your review that you stayed with us in March of 2013 and during that time we were at a very high occupancy due to a large group at the resort. Our room rates do increase during busy periods and last minute reservations are not easy to come by on the island. We do offer complimentary WI-FI in the lobby areas of the resort. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit when you may enjoy the resort more and experience more of our accommodations at a great value. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    904
    321
    78
    46
See reviews for
437
1,317
93
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Wow, one of the best beach sunrises on the island. You won't be sorry for the view if nothing else. One morning we watched a whale frolic in the sea in the sunrise, you can't beat that. The pool and grounds are beautiful as well as the hotel itself. The customer service was top notch in all aspects. The restaurant was quite expensive but we mostly ate out anyway so wasn't an issue. They have alternatives available as well. Best thing is the location, it is centrally located to get to just about any interest point on the island, it just can't be beat. The Tuesday evening greeting with dancers and music was a lot of fun while we partook in the free Mai Tai's. Try it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you had the wonderful experience of the East side of the island's beautiful sunsets and whale watching from your guestroom lanai! We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the top notch service you provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Kauai in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Kauai is such a beautiful Island and different to the other islands. This hotel is stunning - the grounds are impressive - the rooms all have great views regardless of where they are. We had a room overlooking the pool and beach - idyllic.
The staff were all excellent - friendly - chatty - very professional and always smiling (I would be too if I lived in Hawaii).
The rooms had everything you need and the hotel also had a laundry room, which was fantastic and much cheaper than the hotel laundry.
If you want to explore the Islands I would hire a car, although we did a day trip and it was a great way to see the Island. I would definately recommend this hotel, breakfast was a buffet and included in our booking, again, fresh, excellent fruit (pineapple so sweet and juicy) and also hot stuff, pastries, toast, cereal. If you have a bit of everything you wont need lunch !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and you get the beach view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nockster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed visit with us and found the resort grounds to be stunning and your accommodations were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Our family has been going to the Kauai Beach Resort every other year for the past 10 years. We are "owners" and this is our home resort. We love this place for several reasons: accommodations , pool area, beach, restaurants ( Dukes, Portifinos) , golf and great location. The staff is so friendly and helpful. In fact we are coming again in a few months. If I had one complaint, it would be that there are not in-unit washer/dryers like in the other Marriott Vacation Club sites. Put washers and dryers on every floor at least. I have suggested this many times to management. Overall, the place is fabulous!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 78MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great arrival and cheerful greeting by a happy front crew. Will gladly valet park if you want. Tip’m generously. Grand entrance into a lovely, bright and airy lobby. End of it—at least for the time being. Some front desk gals need the Aloha spirit. Often no welcoming smile.

To the room. Ours on a high floor was magnificent. Bright, fair-sized, well-appointed, comfortable. Sparkling-clean bathroom, lots of big, white towels, but no glasses. Have to ask for them. First night the air conditioning blew only very cold air, miserable. Next day, after exchange of thermostat slept heavenly for 12 hours in their comfortable bed.

Looking over and walking through their big, magnificent courtyard is an experience of what you come to Hawaii for. Swaying palm trees, in balmy air, blooming bushes, splashing waterfalls, happily burbling fountains and 4 inviting pools, all splendidly maintained by 5 full-time gardeners. You have arrived. A more attractive place than any in Waikiki.

But, the telephone. Alexander Graham Bell invented it in 1876 and nothing much has changed there since then. Sometimes it didn’t work at all.

To the good: The maids, a pleasure, doing great work, greeting you with a smile, “Good Morning, Madam,” and are grateful for any gratuity you give them

And the bad again: The buffet breakfast, the worst. Unexciting and meager food selection with horrible service at a hefty price. In grave need of review.

And the good again: The new outside fireplace bar. Lovely, sitting around the fire, enjoying cocktails served by a sweet waitress, being surrounded by lit-up Hawaiian torches and being under a full Hawaiian moon is truly memorable. Once a week in the afternoon free tropical drinks with music.

What to do on Kauai? On Saturday morning the Open Market at the Kauai Community College is a must. 2 papayas $1.-, 2 big avocadoes $1-, 5 bananas $1.-, delicious big Philippino lunch $7.-

Final departure: Great again, our car already waiting at the front, and a valet man cheerfully bidding us, “Good bye, Mr. …, do come back soon.”

I want to come back again for another beautiful day—in Hawaii Nei. On Kauai.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GCHHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the facilities to be beautiful and our staff provided excellent service with aloha. We very much value your feedback and we will take into consideration the areas of concern you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back the beautiful Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our vacation on Kauai, as we were meeting friends coming over from Maui the next day with whom we would be sharing a condo. We also made arrangements to spend the last day on the island here as well as we had a late departure flight. We arrived in the evening, and what a wonderful surprise to wake up to! Due to a mix up with the airport shuttle, we were offered a complimentary breakfast buffet for two, delicious! We were so impressed with the beautifully kept grounds, lovely pools and waterfalls, and above all the warm and friendly staff! They really helped to "fine tune" our holiday so we were able to enjoy every moment! Special thanks to "Crystal", who in our opinion went above and beyond in accommodating us, helped made us feel the warm, welcoming nature of the Kauai people. Her professionalism and friendly personality are a definite asset to this resort! Mahalo, we do hope to be back!

Room Tip: We had both a mountain view and pool view, both were nice, but the pool view really made us feel on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with the us and that you found the resort to be in an ideal location and the facilities suited your needs. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and in particular, Krystal at the front desk, who provided you with excellent service with aloha. We will be sure to share your review with all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The location is great, just 10 minutes from the airport, and central for trips to the north or west of Kauai. The complex is very nice with immaculately maintained grounds and landscaping with waterfalls and nice swimming pools etc., with several eating opportunities on-site. The resort has several well-spaced buildings not exceeding 3 stories so the complex felt open, light and airy as compared to some with much taller buildings crowding in on the gardens. The beach is non-swimmable with rocks and every warning in the book posted, so for all ocean activities you need to go off-site. There is nominally a beach path but I was only able to follow it for a quarter mile before being forced onto the difficult-to-walk-on sand. (If a swimmable beach is a top priority book the Marriott in Lihue (but a less attractive location, being next to the industrial harbor) or go to Poipu or Prince$$$$ville)
We booked via Hotwire; as a result I am sure they therefore gave us their lowest ranked room on the back, but it was in reality the best room (unless you really must overlook the swimming pool, artificial ponds (“lagoons”) or the ocean horizon) as it looked over a pleasant dune-slack tall-grass area with the ocean just visible beyond, and was very quiet with a nice patio for sitting for breakfast.
I rate it as less than outstanding because the rooms with two beds have double rather than queen-sized beds as in most up-to-date hotels. A couple can reserve a room with a king-sized bed, but we were vacationing with our young-adult daughter, and a double bed is a little tough for a couple used to a larger bed.
The dining room is pleasant and the food quite good, though breakfast is expensive for what you get. If you buy $9.95 thermal mug at the coffee shop you get unlimited refills at 99 cents a time – a good deal.
The first morning they offer a half-hour description of island activities, which is worth attending (gets you a half-priced breakfast buffet too): as a result we booked a helicopter tour which was fantastic and highly recommended.
Parking will cost you $16.95 per day. The site says free internet: the charge in your room was $12.95/day which isn’t free! If you go to the business center (where there was a charge for computer use or printing) it was possible to access the slow Wi-Fi for free on your own device.
Overall a very nice place at a good rate, reflecting excellent value. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: See review: were were in unit #3 on the south side on the ground floor overlooking a tall-grassy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gibberellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in ideal location and the facilities to be well maintained. We also very much appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing