We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Casual Place”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Did an overnight here. Friendly staff, the resort os clean, great walking beach. Avoid the nachos at the bar--as bad (or good depending on perspective) as at a high school sporting event. Swimming pools are clean, and the hot tub is nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muchtraveledindeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit with us and that you found the resort to be clean and the staff to be friendly. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the food quality at the pool bar and we will take your suggestions into consideration. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you want a place to relax near the beach, this is it. Several large comfortable pools, 3 outdoor spas, poolside bar, entertainment bar, great landscaping. The 10 dollar breakfast voucher you can prepay is outstanding with fresh fruit, changing variety of hot items on buffet, and pastries. And an excellent omelet station that will also make you eggs your way. Rooms are reasonably sized and have a safe and frig but no microwave. Maid service was good. The only major complaint is that have inadequate paved parking, much of which is some distance from hotel entrance. The overflow lot which many have to use is a mud/dirt patch while maintenance and hotel employees have their own paved lot on one side (outside our room) which is usually mostly vacant. That said, this is a great place to stay with everything you need and a concierge/tour desk. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just choose according to the value and/or view you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chasclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be truly relaxing and the facilities exceeded your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the parking lot overflow and the condition of the alternative parking area. We are addressing this area and hope to have this resolved in the very near future.. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Really easy to find from the airport. Nice pool beach grounds room etc. Watching the sun come up was great. What you would expect for the price. No regrets for the first two nights. Beach is not a swimming spot. Free wifi in the lobby Breakfast was decent. Nice staff

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Purplehaze_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that you enjoyed your short visit with us. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Upon checking in to our "Mountain View" room, I was very disappointed to see that the only view we really had was that of two DUMPSTERS and no mountains. (this area also appeared to be the designated smoking area...YUK).
The room itself was clean, and had a mini fridge (no microwave). Our room was a "king" but, the bed seemed smaller, I am 5'6" and was not 10" wider than I am tall. Maybe 1 or 2 inches... which isn't even a bed size.?!? It was comfortable and had enough pillows.
The pool area was very nice with a pool slide & a sand pool. There were 2 hot tubs which were nice (we even had one to ourselves one night). The beach is not good for swimming, however, it is great for walking and there were better areas on that walk if you want to swim. We walked every day for miles ! Wonderful !!
Some other things to be aware of: Happy Hour is set up in a strange and deceptive way. Happy hour is from 5-7, but there are different prices based on time. We ordered $5 wine at 5pm, not realizing once the clock hit 6pm, the special price stopped.
Also, as others have mentioned, parking is expensive, it was more than we had to pay at the Fairmont Kea Lani on Maui !! And the parking lot is HORRIBLE. It is the red dirt and if it is wet, your shoes and legs will be covered in this by the time you get to the hotel. There were also 2 "special" events in the 4 nights while we were there, which made finding a spot anywhere next to impossible.
The Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby area and the business center charges you 49 cents a minute and 99 cents a page ~ I have NEVER seen this before!!
The friendly staff & nice walking beach are the highlights of this resort.

Room Tip: Don't go with a mountain view in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wags02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations. We are always more than happy to move our guests to alternative guestrooms upon availability. We are however, very pleased that you enjoyed the resort facilities and the friendly service you received from our staff. We appreciate your feedback and we will take into consideration the suggestions you provided us. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I am a Concierge at a resort in Arizona. I did quite a lot of research before booking this hotel. There were a few negative reviews but I went ahead and made the reservation. We thought it was great. We had a oceanfront room which was lovely.The valets were beyond friendly. Our cleaning lady Lilybeth was a jewel. Everyone greets you, every time they see you and make you feel welcome. The restaurant we ate at only once and it was average but a bit overpriced. The bar and happy hour good but need to add a well drink at a reduced price. Not everyone drinks beer and wine. Would not hesitate to book again. Oh we had bldg. 4. Its a longer walk but worth it.

Room Tip: Building 4 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consumer2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be lovely and the service you received from our staff exceeded you expectations. We also appreciate your feedback concerning our lounge happy hour offerings and will take into consideration your suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I just stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for my fifth time. Every time I have stayed here I have found myself regretting the fact that I was leaving so soon. This is a wonderful property and the Staff makes it all the more wonderful. The location is ideal for being able to see all of Kauai easily. It has beautiful grounds and a picturesque setting. The live entertainment is always high quality and has become something I look forward to during my stay. Overall, this is truly one of my favorite hotels in the islands. A great value and a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you returned to visit with us for the fifth time and that we continue to meet your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provide. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was the nicest hotel of our 3 week trip through the Hawaiian islands. We had an Ocean Front room and enjoyed the sunrise many mornings during our 5 night stay. The grounds are beautiful from the tree lined entrance through to the spectacular pool area with waterfalls, hot tubs, etc. The ocean is really best for whale watching since the beach is not great for swimming. The location however is excellent being 5-10 minutes from the Airport at Lihue, and then located almost halfway up the Eastern coast between the attractions to the North and the beaches, Poipu etc to the South. The Resort is also very close to Kapa'a, a town to the North about 10 minits with stores, beaches, markets.
The staff were really nice and very helpful. The Spa staff are great and the yoga on the grounds excellent. Restaurants were good
The room was great and well cleaned by the cleaning staff. Had a really relaxing time and would recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing visit with us and that you found the resort to be in an excellent location and the staff to be helpful and friendly. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to your return to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £136 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing