We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I love this hotel. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. Our hotel room was clean. In the morning, it was really awesome to watch the sunrise by the ocean. It was great walking by the beach. I always dreamed of seeing Hula dancing by real Hawaiians. I was so blessed because at the time we stayed in the hotel, they had welcome party for guests. Their were Hula dancers and they perform for the guests. It was a dream come true for me. I had a relaxing time here just watching the waves of the ocean. However, I was not able to swim in the ocean because it looked like it was not safe to swim, but, they have a big pool to compensate for the rough sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhuliaBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and that you were able to take part in our Tuesday evening "E Komo Mai" Manager's Welcome. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    894
    318
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,299
92
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I was concerned a little after reading some other reviews. We stayed 10 nights and none of those concerns were necessary. This is a great location right on the ocean. We had a great view from building 3. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The grounds are immaculate. The house keeping does a great job. True this is not a brand new place but it is very well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the furniture is good. They had free entertainment by the pool with free mai tais twice while we were there. They have a gift store with some refreshments including good coffee. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times, but it was a little pricey for us even though the food and service are very good. Driving to Lihue is only 10 minutes. This location is pretty quiet even with the airport nearby. We never had to park in the "dirt" and were given a reduced parking rate which included valet. We preferred not to use valet parking just to save time. We had no issues with mold in our room or mold smell. There's lots of humidity, but he resort has no control over that. We liked having our room open to hear the ocean and waterfalls at the pool. Smoking is very restricted to just a couple of locations and not allowed in the rooms or inside the buildings. We liked that. We saw kids having a great time in the pool and waterslide. We saw surfers there, too, but I don't know how safe that may be. I would definitely go there again and recommend this resort which was included in our Pleasant Holiday package.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool, but might have chosen a more quiet location such as building 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shastastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our accommodations and facilities to be of excellent value. We very much appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The grounds were very nice and well cared for but our room was damp. There was even small circles of mould inbetween the glass and the print on the pictures hanging on the wall. Everything, even our sheets had a damp feeling to them and our bathing suits/towels never completely dried. Food was very good though, no complaints there. We rented a car for the 5 days on the island and on the 3rd morning, there was a note on our windshield stating our car would be towed if we don't pay for parking. Not impressed!!! The fully paid "ticket" was clearly displayed on the dash! Location was ok, but we would stay further to the south next time, not much going on around this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room and check for mould!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Beach Resort was very nice, probably the best resort of our 3-island hop. I will end up rating the island low but, the resort high.

Rural, quiet, except for the roosters at daybreak, but it was 9 am at home when they started. The Resort had the best beds, worst coffee, and a very nice buffet. Pools are beautiful, beach is quiet. You will need a car to get around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RatherBeCruising2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our accommodations and facilities to be comfortable and relaxing. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. Grounds are beatiful and the location was great for us. We wanted to see all of Kauai and this hotel was right in the middle of the highway. The only thing i didnt like was that the waters at the beach from this hotel was to dangerous to swim in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selenemikaiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our resort to be in a convenient location to all island activities. With respect to the ocean area fronting the resort, although this is a reef area and not recommended for swimming, there is a three-mile stretch of beach north of the resort that is suitable for swimming and strolling along. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I will start with negatives, which are not many. Cellular service sucks. During are stay we went to lobby to use internet, but there cell service was down. We complained and they got us free internet to are rooms, which hardly ever worked. Avoid the car rental service there, super expensive. To park overnight is 16 bucks, which is typical in Hawaii. The pro's are the cleaning staff was terrific, and everybody is nice. We got a good deal, and the resort has nice watefalls and scenery. The rooms are good size. Yes we would return if we get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mario j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the facilities to be comfortable and relaxing. With respect to the interruption in cellular service during the period you were here, we made every effort to rectify the situation and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a nice property, I wouldn't want to stay here for a week but it's a great option at this price at a location near the airport. The pools are fun and the grounds are kept clean, but this is not a 4 star resort like it's advertised in some places. With that said, it's far superior to the nearby Marriott Courtyard. If you are looking for a real resort experience, you can't go wrong with the Grand Hyatt in Poipu, it's simply magical. If you are on a tight budget this is a good place to stay. The beach is not swimmable but the pools are enough to keep you busy and happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaelyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We very pleased that you found our resort to be of great value and convenient location to the airport and island activities. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing