We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,great location,not so nice service!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place was just so-so. I realize that it is not a 5 star hotel and my expectations were not high.Upon arrival, I was pleased to see that the hotel,while being older, was in good shape. The grounds were well kept.Our room had a great location ,very clean and the beds were comfortable.However this is where the good news ends.Service is seriously lacking at this place from the front desk to the restaurant at breakfast.We were only there 3 nights and then moved to the Grand Hyatt where service there is attentive and professional.Apparently there is a lack of water at KBR which could be remedied with water stations.It's the attention to details that matter when traveling.

Room Tip: Building 4 end unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 570BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha and thank you for staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your positive comments on our grounds and the overall condition of our resort. Your comments are important to us as we are constantly working to improve our product and service. We have already taken steps to improve upon the areas in which you felt we fell short of meeting expectation. We trust you enjoyed your time on the Garden Isle and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for our 10 year anniversary. This was our first trip to Kauai, let alone Hawaii. We've traveled extensively, but primarily abroad.

Kauai Beach Resort is in an unbeatable location; you are almost in the middle, so trips to the West, South, and North coasts are easy and within an hour's drive. Less than 10 minutes from the airport, close to Walmart. Kapa'a is within 10 minutes and offers quite a few dining options that Lihue (honestly) doesn't compete with. Also, we did a helicopter excursion thru Jack Harter, and their office was about 7 minutes from the hotel.

We had an oceanview room in building #4 (room #4203). Building #4 is the closest to the ocean, and is only 2 stories. We had a very good view of the beach and the land next to the hotel. If you have an even # room, you will face the ocean and pool. This building is very quiet. Please know there is not an elevator in this building, but there is a bridgeway into the adjoining building that has an elevator. I was specific in my reservation, and I feel the hotel did an excellent job in matching the room to my request, which is not always the case.

Our room has the usual ammenities, with a small but clean lanai. There is an iHome unit, and includes a reggae station (pre-set), so that was fun to listen to while getting ready! Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash, hair dryer are all included in the room. Robes are not. Ample closet and storage space is available. Check out the radio station Island 98.9... nothing like reggae to get you in the island spirit!

We opted for the package that included breakfast, and it is well worth the price. It's much cheaper than paying for the buffet out of pocket. We always opt for protein packed breakfasts, and the buffet had several options. Omelette station was nice, and they have a lot of fresh fruit. We dined at the bar one night, which had tapas style menu... pricey but pretty good.

Parking is what it is. Not a very good parking area, but there is covered parking for the majority of the parking lot. The issue is, if you arrive at the hotel after 4, you're stuck parking in the dirt lot. Any time before, you can get a covered spot. Parking is around $16 day/and you pay up front.

The property is very nicely manicured and well kept. It's actually quite beautiful. We never used the pools, but they are lovely. The bar area is great. Towel service is quick and efficient. The beach is steep and has sea debri, but is quiet and very peaceful...very nice for a romantic walk. Like other reviews say, you cannot swim here, but it is relaxing.

Would we stay here again? Possibly. The location is excellent, but if you're looking for a resort community this is not it. Head to Poipu, Hanalei, or even Kapa'a. However, for the value it is very good, clean, and appears to be a very family friendly hotel (we traveled as a couple).

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YogaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We and two other couples spent ten nights here for our April anniversaries. Everything
was very nice. We were a bit disappointed with our beachview rooms. Although I would not
want the palm trees cut down, they did obscure our view. Other than that and the very windy,
somewhat cool weather, all was good!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, but the palm trees were still an issue. Try to see a diagram of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanscheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is great as it is close to the airport (rental cars and helicopter tours) and the Kukui Grove shopping center (take out food, cases of beer and what ever else you want). The resort offers a free shuttle to and from the airport all day long and has a free shuttle to and from the shopping center several times a day starting at 9am.
The pools are nice and clean with waterfalls,a water slide and a saltwater/ freshwater pool by the pool bar. There are plenty of lounge chairs (pick the softer ones if your there to lay out all day). The beach is not nice at all, corral, rocks and warning signs of "man of war". This resort is not for the beach people its for people who like to relax by the pools.
Very nice resort overall with a friendly staff, the woman that cleaned our room was so nice and polite and some of the shuttle drivers were very nice too. We booked the room with the buffet breakfast plan and that was great, better than paying for it every day.

Room Tip: Bottom floor on corners by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srw52199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here our last night of Kauai after staying in Princeville for a week and then being bumped on our flight home. Called the hotel at 10 pm and the shuttle arrived 10 min later. The shuttle driver was very friendly, check-in was a breeze and all the other staff that we encountered were very welcoming. Beds were very comfortable and our room very clean. Breakfast buffet was good. There are plenty of different pools, waterfalls and even a waterslide for the kids. This is a beachfront hotel but the beach here is rocky and not recommend for swimming. If you're looking to hang out at the beach, rent a car and drive up the highway a few miles. I'd stay here again and next time I'll make it a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Lofty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time in Kauai and the place was fabulous. The location was so convenient....near the airport and on the beach. Friendly staff....very welcoming. When we arrived we were just in time for complimentary drinks and a hula show. The pool was very refreshing and the pool bar was great and convenient as well. The restaurants were great too both catering to breakfast crowds as well as nightly entertainment. The only downfall was the parking situation (having to pay for parking and location is a bit too far) but everything else compensates for it. Another thing to keep in mind was that our air conditioner was acting up so a little too hot for comfort but didn't call because we were only there for 3 days. Otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summergrl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you chose our resort to celebrate your anniversary and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your feedback and we will address the concerns you had with the guestroom air conditioning. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Isle. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The best thing about the resort is the location.. Very close to the airport and other scenic locations..Although the dining places close up real quick... excellent swimming and spa facilities.. really enjoyed the pool area and very relaxing stay.. Can improve on service though..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the resort's location to be convenient to all island activities. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: £135 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing