We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kauai Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kauai Inn(Lihue)(Great Value!)
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$660
US$617
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$605
US$525
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$411
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,489)
Filter reviews
2,489 results
Traveller rating
985
993
363
92
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
993
363
92
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshutters barsand poolnaupaka terracerental carocean viewclose to the airportbreakfast buffetfire pitgift shopvalet parkingour honeymoonpools and hot tubsmain restaurantper dayparking lotpoolside bargrounds are beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,114 - 1,119 of 2,489 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place was just so-so. I realize that it is not a 5 star hotel and my expectations were not high.Upon arrival, I was pleased to see that the hotel,while being older, was in good shape. The grounds were well kept.Our room had a great location ,very clean and the beds were comfortable.However this is where the good news ends.Service is seriously lacking at this place from the front desk to the restaurant at breakfast.We were only there 3 nights and then moved to the Grand Hyatt where service there is attentive and professional.Apparently there is a lack of water at KBR which could be remedied with water stations.It's the attention to details that matter when traveling.

Room Tip: Building 4 end unit
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 570BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha and thank you for staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your positive comments on our grounds and the overall condition of our resort. Your comments are important to us as we are constantly working to improve our product and service. We have already taken steps to improve upon the areas in which you felt we fell short of meeting expectation. We trust you enjoyed your time on the Garden Isle and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for our 10 year anniversary. This was our first trip to Kauai, let alone Hawaii. We've traveled extensively, but primarily abroad.

Kauai Beach Resort is in an unbeatable location; you are almost in the middle, so trips to the West, South, and North coasts are easy and within an hour's drive. Less than 10 minutes from the airport, close to Walmart. Kapa'a is within 10 minutes and offers quite a few dining options that Lihue (honestly) doesn't compete with. Also, we did a helicopter excursion thru Jack Harter, and their office was about 7 minutes from the hotel.

We had an oceanview room in building #4 (room #4203). Building #4 is the closest to the ocean, and is only 2 stories. We had a very good view of the beach and the land next to the hotel. If you have an even # room, you will face the ocean and pool. This building is very quiet. Please know there is not an elevator in this building, but there is a bridgeway into the adjoining building that has an elevator. I was specific in my reservation, and I feel the hotel did an excellent job in matching the room to my request, which is not always the case.

Our room has the usual ammenities, with a small but clean lanai. There is an iHome unit, and includes a reggae station (pre-set), so that was fun to listen to while getting ready! Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash, hair dryer are all included in the room. Robes are not. Ample closet and storage space is available. Check out the radio station Island 98.9... nothing like reggae to get you in the island spirit!

We opted for the package that included breakfast, and it is well worth the price. It's much cheaper than paying for the buffet out of pocket. We always opt for protein packed breakfasts, and the buffet had several options. Omelette station was nice, and they have a lot of fresh fruit. We dined at the bar one night, which had tapas style menu... pricey but pretty good.

Parking is what it is. Not a very good parking area, but there is covered parking for the majority of the parking lot. The issue is, if you arrive at the hotel after 4, you're stuck parking in the dirt lot. Any time before, you can get a covered spot. Parking is around $16 day/and you pay up front.

The property is very nicely manicured and well kept. It's actually quite beautiful. We never used the pools, but they are lovely. The bar area is great. Towel service is quick and efficient. The beach is steep and has sea debri, but is quiet and very peaceful...very nice for a romantic walk. Like other reviews say, you cannot swim here, but it is relaxing.

Would we stay here again? Possibly. The location is excellent, but if you're looking for a resort community this is not it. Head to Poipu, Hanalei, or even Kapa'a. However, for the value it is very good, clean, and appears to be a very family friendly hotel (we traveled as a couple).

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YogaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We and two other couples spent ten nights here for our April anniversaries. Everything
was very nice. We were a bit disappointed with our beachview rooms. Although I would not
want the palm trees cut down, they did obscure our view. Other than that and the very windy,
somewhat cool weather, all was good!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, but the palm trees were still an issue. Try to see a diagram of the hotel grounds, if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanscheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is great as it is close to the airport (rental cars and helicopter tours) and the Kukui Grove shopping center (take out food, cases of beer and what ever else you want). The resort offers a free shuttle to and from the airport all day long and has a free shuttle to and from the shopping center several times a day starting at 9am.
The pools are nice and clean with waterfalls,a water slide and a saltwater/ freshwater pool by the pool bar. There are plenty of lounge chairs (pick the softer ones if your there to lay out all day). The beach is not nice at all, corral, rocks and warning signs of "man of war". This resort is not for the beach people its for people who like to relax by the pools.
Very nice resort overall with a friendly staff, the woman that cleaned our room was so nice and polite and some of the shuttle drivers were very nice too. We booked the room with the buffet breakfast plan and that was great, better than paying for it every day.

Room Tip: Bottom floor on corners by the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srw52199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here our last night of Kauai after staying in Princeville for a week and then being bumped on our flight home. Called the hotel at 10 pm and the shuttle arrived 10 min later. The shuttle driver was very friendly, check-in was a breeze and all the other staff that we encountered were very welcoming. Beds were very comfortable and our room very clean. Breakfast buffet was good. There are plenty of different pools, waterfalls and even a waterslide for the kids. This is a beachfront hotel but the beach here is rocky and not recommend for swimming. If you're looking to hang out at the beach, rent a car and drive up the highway a few miles. I'd stay here again and next time I'll make it a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Lofty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews