We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The Kauai Beach Hotel is a great place to stay. The pools and waterfalls are great. There is even a water slide.
The beach is fairly minimal, but if you just want to sun bathe, it is fine. The accommodations are excellent and very clean. We did not eat on site.
We were in Building 3 with a pool/ocean view. Excellent location. One can even watch the sunrise from the balcony. There is laundry available, but only 4 washers/dryers for the while complex. Be prepared to wait. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    904
    321
    78
    46
See reviews for
437
1,317
93
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were sent here by United because our flight was cancelled. Their customer service was very poor and they were harsh to us. We did not ground the plane and choose to stay at the airport all day (on the runway for 2 hours) we were trying to go home. We have a baby who just turned 5 months old and two other kids age 4 and 10. This is a whole different situation when a flight is canceled. Starting from the call to the hotel to ask for the shuttle pickup the tone of the operator changed as soon as we were identified as being a member of the canceled United flight. As if we were now second class in their book.

I asked for two rooms being connected and they did not give us that. Seeing more than half of their rooms are empty I asked for a late checkout, because United re booked us on a flight that leaves at 8pm the next evening. We have at least six hours with three kids not have a place to go. Their answer is late check out is 10$ an hour. The next morning, my husband went to ask them again for a late checkout, their answer was they are fully booked, we have to move our rooms to another room in order even to pay 10$ an hour for a late checkout! This hotel is on Hotel Tonight everyday for about a couple of months at least. How could they be fully booked when they are on Hotel Tonight? Maybe when you are there by choice for an extended time they will treat you differently, but if your flight is cancelled and you are sent here by United, then you get nothing but nasty from front desk. Without hesitation and without empathy, regardless if you are traveling with baby or not. They even give a sarcastic aloha at the front after they tell you they will not be granting a late check out. The bell boys are genuinely respectful and try to make up for the lacking front desk party.

My husband and I have been to many hotels and places in the world ranging from great value to luxury. Usually everyone is very sweet and friendly to us and seem to make you feel welcome with children. They are as far from the true spirit of Aloha as possible. We have spent three weeks in Kauai, and it has been the best vocation ever! We've stayed at two other vacation homes and the Hanalei Colony Resort. We have met many friendly locals and folks who just moved here. Everyone is so easy to talk to and the front desk persons at this Hotel is totally the opposite. They apparently have been getting stuck with United passengers from canceled flights and this must be extra work that they did not plan on. We can understand that, but United is to blame not the stranded passengers. All in all it was a bad set of circumstances that led to a bitter end to a sweet trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BoneyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This resort is in a lovely location. We were not able to go into the ocean as they said there was jellyfish. The room we stayed in was on the main floor. It was clean and by the pool. The bad part of the review has to do with the rental car which came free as part of the package for the room. Rental is from Dollar rental car. We have never experienced such bad service. Car was a 2012 Focus, 43000 miles, smelled of urine, and mechanically unsound as it stalled twice. If you value your vacation time and do not want to spend it returning an "unfit" rental vehicle, take this review seriously. Worst part is the rental agents are rude too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodstar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

While in Kauai stopped in to check out the Kauai Beach Resort and to go to South Pacific in their theater. I was very impressed with the service we received, the location, the theater, the pool area and the meal we received. Enjoyed it very much.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you were very impressed with the service you received, the location, the South Pacific show, the pool area and the meal you enjoyed at our resort. We invite you to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This resort has a lot to offer at very reasonable rates . The rooms are spacious and comfortable .
There four theme pools cater for the very young , teenagers , adults and the elderly . This is the outstanding feature of the property . The complimentary mini bus service to and from the airport and Kauai`s largest shopping centre is an added bonus . We were in a ground floor room (our choice ) but you need to be on a higher floor to get good views . The gardens are outstanding and the entire outdoor areas kept in pristine condition . Most of the staff were very helpful and eating options satisfactory . To get out and about a rental car is recommended . Ask at reception or book in advance for very reasonable costs , as limited vehicles are available at the resort .
The movie tour was most enjoyable for we oldies . Generous happy hours by the pool and then on into the bar were great .
We would strongly recommend this resort if you need to watch your dollars.
Kauai is a beautiful island .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisjrb .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are glad you found our rates to be reasonable and our accommodations spacious and comfortable . We're so happy that you enjoyed our pool experience and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to the shopping mall. We're so happy you enjoyed your visit to Kauai and look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Not the newest or plushest but you easily get what you pay for. Great walking beach that goes on forever if not a good swimming beach. Location is great except getting turned out onto Kuhio Highway is tough. The overflow parking is a dirt lot, so don't be late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha and thank you so much for your comments! We appreciate your input as we are constantly striving to improve our services and guest experience. Thank you for selecting Kauai Beach Resort. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are planning a trip to the beautiful island of Kauai which I recommend; during our stay in Kauai we stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort. If you are traveling with kids this resort is perfect for family's. The pools are very clean and nice, there are 3 pools and one with a slide. This resort is on the beach with beautiful sunrises and sunsets allthough you cannot swim at this beach due to the rocks but the resort is in the perfect location and not far from the other beaches that are safe to swim and relax by, also close to all excursions an resturuants. We will stay at this resort on our next vist.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building #3 on the 2nd level it was pool view and ocean view, it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txlonghornman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Director of Sales at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Aloha and thank you very much for your input. We're so happy you enjoyed the pool experience at the Kauai Beach Resort. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing