We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good: great location for a fully equipped condo. Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banyan Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed the first night in a basement unit (booked it over a hotel site). It was very basic and very dated. We spent the next week in a two-floor unit booked through RCI timeshares. It was still pretty dated but was an improvement in almost every category. If you want a condo unit with a full kitchen in a great location, this is awesome.
The staff are fantastic and will help you with almost anything on the island. Definitely contact them before you get there to check prices on excursions. They often have a partnership with companies and get good prices.
If you want to relax by the pool in privacy, go ahead. We preferred walking across the road to the beach. Just avoid the fishermen buy the rocks after dark.
Tips:
- Ask the front desk about borrowing beach mats/floaters/snorkels/etc
- If you fly in late at night, keep your eyes open for the food truck beside the river. We flew in at 1pm and were treated to fantastic giros
- Kalapaki Joe`s restaurant is nearby and really good (ask around about specials for fish-tacos and such)
- The Feral Pig is in the same building...ask for the Feral Pig burger. It is fantastic, yet confusingly not on the menu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Labaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night when we first arrived on Kauai. Good location, right across from the Marriott & Duke's Beach Club w. a nice beachfront. Facility dated. Looked like interior was designed by the Ropers from "Three's Company". AC unit in guest bedroom not working, but crew got it replaced quickly. Push the door tightly on the W/D unit or will give error message. Not likely to stay there again if other more modern options available. Not bad, not great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank due331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great mineral pool, clean and comfortable condo, and in general, a good place to just plain chill. Complaints of other reviewers seem petty. Remember: you're in Hawaii! Call ahead and ask for ocean view; we did and we got it. Coffee on out lanai every morning ... Beautiful, even when the cruise ships are in the harbor.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Wyopoke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Obviously the unit we had was privately owned, since it had a guest book for everyone to sign. We thought it was lovely - two great bedrooms, full bath upstairs and half bath on the main floor. Fully equipped kitchen, probably not enough to cook a gourmet meal, but enough for us to make a simple meal with lots of dishes and glasses. Nice and clean. I would say not deluxe but certainly not shabby. We loved Kiki at the concierge desk. She arranged a whale watching tour for us, and certainly would have done lots more had we asked her. She's very witty and loves her job - great personality and happy to oblige with anything. We had beach towels from the office which we kept in the car for the week - I know they also have other equipment to lend. We would definitely stay here again. Its right in the best location to go either north to Princeville or out to Waimea Canyon area.

Room Tip: One of us is a smoker, and all units and buildings are non smoking. Smoking area behind the securit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101LindaS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our regular time share was booked full when we decided to go to Hawaii. The unit was a little smaller and a little less posh however, 1.5 blocks from an excellent swim beach about 15 restaurants and 10 minutes from the airport. Great people, good service

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Location is perfect, close to everything in Lihue. We loved our apartment, it was designed with a true aloha spirit - imagine lots of palm trees, shells and hawaiian prints everywhere. Kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed - even blender for margaritas! There was a washing machine and dryer in one of our bathrooms and even laundry detergent. We were very busy with our activities (there are so many things to do in Kauai and we only had 4 days) and I would like to thank you to our hotel concierge Kiki, who was very helpfull and gave us a great advice on Na Pali coast cruise and trips to Waipo valley and waterfalls. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KackaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The condo was very clean and comfortable (well besides the boxy sofa). The place was huge and spacious with a nice balcony and plenty of stemware to enjoy a cocktail with. 3 AC units throughout the condo kept it comfortable. The pool was nice and the beach and shops/restaurants are only a 5 or 10 minute walk away. Parking was fine. The only complaint, and it's a huge complaint, is the helpless wifi. I've never stayed at a place that advertised wifi but had such poor coverage... so bad that to load webpage I had to be leaning over the deck to pick up a signal 4 buildings away. I emphasize this because others had left the same complaint and it had not been addressed by the time we stayed there.

Room Tip: Don't anticipate high speed internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.7 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Harbor Resort

Address: 3411 Wilcox Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9553
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lihue
Price Range: £99 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banyan Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in Nawiliwili, the Banyan Harbor Resort is ideal for your next getaway. From the moment you set foot in our island-styled lobby, you'll feel the Aloha Spirit that has made Kauai the popular destination it is today. Your "Home away from Home" is a block from Kalapaki Beach, shopping, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Anchor Cove Shopping Village and the Harbor Mall are both within a short walk. Three golf courses, Kauai's largest shopping center, Kauai's largest movie theatre and world class ocean & air charters are available within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Harbor Hotel Lihue
Banyan Harbor Kauai
Banyan Harbor Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing