We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Oriented Resort on Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banyan Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent the 4th of July weekend at this centrally located resort in Lihue. The grand kids had a great time swimming in the good size pool, playing shuffle board, basketball and even tennis! We were able to view the awesome fireworks, "concert in the sky", with the other guests and their families from the pool area. Everyone applauded after the show!
With the kitchenette, it was nice to have the grandparents, cook their grand kids favorite dishes.
Also, the entire staff were very helpful and friendly.
Of course, the best part for the grand kids was the super pool!
We are planning to make this an annual 4th of July fun weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beleev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyle O, General Manager at Banyan Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Mahalo for your review and we pride ourselves on being centrally located, well priced for the accomadations received and we love sharing the Aloha Spirit with all of our Guests! Mahalo! Lyle Otsuka GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a great place if your staying for several days or more. The unit I rented had a complete kitchen, washer and dryer, and sleeper sofa in the living room. Although there was only one air conditioner in the living room, the cool air migrated to the bedroom and overhead fan kept that room comfortable. The ground floor unit requires you to descend some stairs so be sure to let the reservation folks know if you have a person with mobility issues. The staff was extremely friendly and checked us in early before our unit was ready. There's a bunch of restaurants close by so you won't have to drive to get there. The price I paid was very reasonable and in the end, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kahu808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Plain, no frills resort, although, the resort isn't very resort like. Almost seems like you are staying in an apartment complex. But despite that, the unit was spacious and clean. Not much of a view from our unit but you can see the harbor and cruise ships. Staff is amazing and super friendly.

Best feature of this resort is its location. It sits in the middle of the island and it is easy to get to either side. The opposite sides of the island have different climates and was a blast to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauidreemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The resort was very close to the airport and within walking distance of a beach. The accommodations are somewhat dated but fairly comfortable. The staff and resort work hard to be accommodating by providing beach chairs, toys, towels, etc. and helping with tours. The location is right off of the main road, so it was pretty noisy and the grounds are not very "resort" like.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the beach and the harbor and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at Banyon Harbour as we had a Family Wedding and as we were quite a large family decided to book here. In fact our first day there we were greeted by an Earthquake with our Brother in law out on the Balcony on Tsunami Watch!!!! The 2 bedroomed Condo was comfy and fitted in with all our needs. I would suggest however that you rather choose the Bedroom in the front (by the Car park and not round the back as Chickens and Cockerel 's make a racket all hours!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel/condo was centrally located on the island and our rooms were nicely furnished and clean. There was a beach across the street though wasn't the best beach in the island. The pool area was just ok nothing special. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Banyan Harbor is a great alternative to a hotel. Fully furnished small condo, full kitchen, and perfect location across the street from one of the best beaches on the island, Kalapaki Beach. Each condo is different, we stay in E building, and while there is nothing too elaborate about the condo itself, it's comfortable and a good, quiet spot upstairs in the back with the lanai overlooking the gardens and you feel like you are in a rain forest (even though the road is right on the other side you wouldn't even know or hear it). A great place to enjoy coffee or reading. The condo kitchen is nice to not have to dine out for all meals, and there is a common BBQ deck and the pool area is very nice sitting atop a hill overlooking the entire beach area. DO check with the front desk first thing for beach towels, discounts on island activities and restaurants and ideas of places to go. They love to help so enjoy the accommodating service! It's a skip across the street to many restaurants (all with fun happy hours and menu items), plenty of shopping if that is your thing, and then of course the amazing beach which usually always has some waves to splash in, and watch a majestic cruise ship arrive. There are volleyball courts, plenty of places to rent boards, surfing lessons, etc., (but not to miss Da Life and Kauai Boys right out front, good service) - and you cannot pass up the Mai Tais, calamari, Kahlua pork nachos, and fish tacos at Dukes! The location is also very convenient, close to the airport, Costco shopping center, and centrally located to enjoy easy day trips to Poipu, Waimea and Hanalei. If you are looking for a cost-effective, low key and nice place to stay, this is worth looking into!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.7 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Harbor Resort

Address: 3411 Wilcox Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9553
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lihue
Price Range: £101 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banyan Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in Nawiliwili, the Banyan Harbor Resort is ideal for your next getaway. From the moment you set foot in our island-styled lobby, you'll feel the Aloha Spirit that has made Kauai the popular destination it is today. Your "Home away from Home" is a block from Kalapaki Beach, shopping, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Anchor Cove Shopping Village and the Harbor Mall are both within a short walk. Three golf courses, Kauai's largest shopping center, Kauai's largest movie theatre and world class ocean & air charters are available within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Harbor Hotel Lihue
Banyan Harbor Kauai
Banyan Harbor Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing