We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food very overpriced!”

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food very overpriced!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The tour of the plantation was severely dampened by the downpour of rain! The car we were in on the train did not have windows so needless to say we got wet. The vendors at the mansion had nice products but they were a bit overpriced. We chose the the sit down dinner instead of the buffet so that we could get the reserved sitting for the Laua. I do not consume large quantities when I eat so for me to say the portions of food were very small, means there was not alot of food on our plates! Having the reserved sitting for the Laua was the high point of the evening. We were all the way at the front which allowed us to have a great view of the show.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKLDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha AKLDallas,

The meals served are not Gaylord's choices or sizes. This is a Luau option of a 4 course plated menu meal. I do apologize about the sizes, which are out of our control and based on customer reviews in the past 7 years of doing the Manor House dinner. We do value your comments and I will relay this to the Luau Chef.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    299
    110
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent food, overpriced ”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was a bigger win than the food. The plantation is beautiful and the covered outdoor dining adds to the experience. It's very serene. Appetizer portions are large and our crab dip was VERY good. However, entrées are very expensive and do not deliver on quality. Ahi tuna was good, but nothing special. Spare ribs were tough. Overall, food quality could use some work. Service was timely and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank KYCowgirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha KYCowgirl91,

Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive to bring the very best to our guests. It seems that your dining experience was not our best and I do apologize for that. I do hope that you will be able to join us again and you will have a more memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to end our wonderful trip!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place came highly recommended to us and it did not disappoint.It is a very charming old plantation estate that must have been something in its time.We dined outside on the patio and had great service and a fabulous fresh ono for dinner.The ambiance here is so charming you do not even miss the ocean.Upstairs were art galleries and a fantastic women's clothing boutique with gorgeous apparel. All and all a great experience.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 570BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha Barbara S,

Thank you for your kind words expressed in your 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive at bringing the very best to our guests. We are glad that you had a memorable experience at both our restaurant and throughout Kilohana Plantation. We look forward to your return and would like to thank you again for your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant for the first time and it was so great there was no discussion we went back the second night. Great food, service and atmosphere. The Sashimi Plate was the best I have had anywhere in Hawaii. At the other end of the spectrum the Spareribs were "lick your fingers" good. Music each night with the attentive staff. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Darny7,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we pride ourselves in bringing the very best to our guests and are very pleased you had a memorable experience. We look forward to your return and continued patronage.

Mahalo,

Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A paradise within paradise”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a must when you visit Kauai. The historical charm of the building adds to the sophisticated ambiance while dining. The seating borders the courtyard and tables are spaced to provide privacy. A piano player provided mellow music to complete a romantic evening. The food was excellent and the service superior. We started with a buttery ahi poke, my husband had a melt in your mouth rib eye and I had the perfect sesame encrusted seared ahi (sashimi grade). After dinner we toured the home that have interesting shops housed in the former bedrooms. We will definitely be returning to Gaylord's on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 863marciac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Aloha Marcia C,

Thank you for your kind words and your 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we pride ourselves in bringing the best experience to our guests. We are very pleased that you had a memorable experience and look forward to your return. We agree as well that our property is "A paradise in paradise".

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing