We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best on Kauai”

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We try and come to Gaylord's on every trip to Kauai. This trip we went to the ahoy hour and then to dinner the next night. The appetizers at happy hour were very delicious and the dinner was awesome. I had the seared ahi and it was great. The service is great and it is a very beautiful setting. We have been here for brunch before too and it was very good ... It is a bit on the pricier side, but it is a nice splurge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica0711_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Jessica0711_S,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive in bringing the very best to our guests. We are glad that you had a memorable evening with us and look forward to your return. Thank you again for your continued patronage.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
There are newer reviews for Gaylord's at Kilohana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 866 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Places like this tend to be expensive, but tasty bargains can be found during happy hour (4-5:30pm). They have a "five for five" menu, which means five different small plates priced at $5 each. We had the kahlua pork quesadillas and an ahi-poke/avocado topping over tortilla chips. Along with the $4 beer, it made for a very satisfying late afternoon snack. All in the ambience of their Mahiko Lounge with a bar, comfortable sofas, or bar tables, if you choose. Hope this is still around the next time we come!

Thank Jim050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Jim050,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 4 Star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Happy Hour and look forward to your return. Mahalo for your continued patronage.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a wonderful lunch here sitting outside on the patio. My husband and I started with a cup of artichoke bisque followed by chicken crepes for me and grilled mahi mahi for my husband. Both meals were excellent. My husband splurged with "battered" bread pudding with vanilla bean ice cream and a butter caramel sauce. All I can say about the dessert is WOW!! A must if you are visiting Kauai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha IandIcanada,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 5 Star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us that afternoon. The Roasted Chicken Crepes and the Funnel Cake battered Bread Pudding are 2 of my favorites as well!! Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we take pride in bringing the very best to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Must admit, after spending a week on the island, we ate here 3 times after trying it...This is Hawaii and such an awesome place to relax dine and leave happy and content. The drinks are the best so don't pass up the opportunity to sip a few beverages from the bar. Awesome fish and Prime rib on Fridays and Sat. The grounds are awesome for photo taking and walking around after your dinner. Hit the happy hour and wait for the live music in the bar, it's great. Don't be surprised if your shaking hands with the owner and the manager during your visit. Trust me, the Prime Rib rocks!

1  Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha Doug F,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 5 Star review. I do apologize that Elvis did not appear on your visit to Gaylord's at Kilohana but I do feel he was probably here in spirit. (wink wink) We strive to bring the very best to our guests and are very pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you again and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very romantic , idyllic setting for a lovely evening meal. Delicious food and scrumptious desserts. A nice ending to a lovely holiday on the island of Kauai . The restaurant is a lovely converted manor that is situated on a beautifully sculptured plantation. Just on the outskirts of the town of Lihue on the west side. A dressed up attire is befitting for this little jewel of a restaurant. Reservations suggested. Entrees run between $ 25 - 35 .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank churchalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha churchalto,


Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we take pride in bringing the very best to our guests. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this 5 Star review and are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our Banana Creme pie. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing