We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, better atmosphere”

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had exceptional service, average food (seared ahi tuna and a NY strip steak), and exquisite piano music accompanying our dinner here. The best part of the meal was the piano player: Hank Hurtis. He played beautifully throughout our meal, so much so that we went into the bar area afterwards and sat and enjoyed his music for a while more before we left.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Aloha Katie O,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your 4 Star review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening here at Gaylord's at Kilohana listening to our amazing pianist Hank Curtis. We love to get feedback from our guests and take all comments into consideration. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your meal as much as the ambiance, but I do hope that you will return to give us another try during our Lunch or Brunch services or even again at dinner. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 867 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

After a very disappointing lunch, I wanted to find somewhere to make up for the horrible lunch we had. So I made a reservation at Gaylords, and they were able to accommodate with one hour notice. We were coming from the beach, tired, beat, and sandy... They said no problem, come on in. It was nice that we were able to be casual in our sandals.

The service was great, the food was great, and the grounds were super cool.
My only gripe is there is no Kama'aina.. As I particularly support places that
offer that. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spcjohn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Aloha spcjohn79,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 Star review. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch experience with us. As for the "Kama'aina" we do have a 50% guest rate of locals during our lunch service, 40% during brunch, and 50% during our dinner service. Fridays and Saturdays are more popular days for our kama'aina to visit due to it being a weekend and we are definitely a special occasions destination for them as well. We are pleased that you enjoyed Gaylord's at Kilohana and our Kilohana Plantation. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the best meal of our trip this year, if there's any way you can get there on Sunday, do it! Made a reservation through Open Table, so it's easy, too! It was a buffet PLUS a choice of 3 entrees. When we were there they were a seared ahi eggs benedict, a kiawe smoked prime rib sandwich, and a vegetarian choice I forget. Highlights of the buffet included cheesy scrambled eggs, portuguese & regular sausage, garlic fried rice, char-grilled hamburger patties in gravy to make loco moco (this was my favorite!), bourbon bread pudding, french toast with coconut syrup, house-made fresh doughnuts, and many other salads, desserts, etc. Service and ambiance are excellent, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeanneo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Aloha Jeanneo243,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we take pride in bringing the very best to our guests and are excited to hear when we have succeeded. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch selections, and that our Loco Moco was your favorite item on our buffet. It is also a local favorite here in the islands as well. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests especially when they have enjoyed our restaurant as much as you have. Thank you again for your review.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We were killing time waiting for our late night flight, and came out to the Rum Factory. Since it was about lunch time we decided to stop at Gaylord's for lunch. I had seen other reviews for it and thought we would try it. I was so impressed with our lunch. We sat outside in a beautiful courtyard enjoying the wonderful breeze while eating some of the best food we have had all week. We both had the Ono fish special and then the bread pudding for dessert. All I can say is WOW! Be sure and look throught all the great shops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Sally H,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 5 Star review. We take pride in bringing the best to our guests here at Gaylord's at Kilohana and are pleased to hear when we have succeeded. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your Fresh Catch plates that were prepared with fresh Ono and our Funnel Cake bread pudding dessert is always a yummy choice. Thank you again for the kind words expressed in your review and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The food was very good and the best meal we had in our week long stay. The grounds and mansion were very interesting and it was enjoyable to browse through the shops.

The service was prompt and the suggestions helpful. A little pricier than the others we'd tried but definitely worth it.

Thank Kittycat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Kittycat_7,

Thank you for taking the time to write your 4 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive in bringing the very best to our guests and are excited to hear when we have succeeded. We are average in price with other comparative restaurants in the area and on the island. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for visiting the Kilohana Plantation and Gaylord's restaurant and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing