We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Day”
Review of Kauai Museum

Kauai Museum
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A natural history museum in Kaua'i.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A wonderful Day”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went to the Kauai Museum again to see if they had new exhibits and to support their ongoing good work. The volunteers are lovely. They even remembered my Mother from the past year! That made her day.

We happened to be there on the first Friday of the month. They have a lovely, simple $20 lunch Hawaiian style (chicken long rice, kalua pork and cabbage, teriyaki chicken, rice, salad, and cake. But what made it special was the outstanding entertainment put on by the volunteers. An excellent guitarist performed music with a MC. Two of the volunteer/"aunties" sang and danced hula. I felt like I was have an enjoyable time at a friend's home. The love and joy that these volunteers can be seen.

It was a joy to go and support this local museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank patsyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    142
    56
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An o.k. museum”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After reading rave reviews in our tour book, I guess we were expecting more of this museum. It seemed oddly curated, but maybe it's because they are on a budget and lots of things were donations to the museum and didn't seem to fit. It's probably worth your while if you are interested in the history of the island. I wouldn't take children.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This little museum is well worth a visit - and maybe two because there is so much of interest to see. Everything is well displayed and described, all aspects of Kauai's history are covered and the buildings themselves are lovely. And don't miss the gift shop which is worth visiting by itself. The staff and volunteers are all so helpful, friendly and passionate about their museum. It's a treat!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington state
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“enjoyed”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we went on the first Saturday in march. not sure if it is a monthly thing but had discounted admission and local craftsman doing talks. was full but not crowded. we always look for local museums. our oldest daughter who is 7 enjoyed for over an hour, our youngest who is 5 lasted about an hour. without kids we probably could have spent several hours looking over everything. there was a movie with more history that we did not watch. I enjoyed the history about ancient Kauai, missionaries, plantations, natural history and more. a few hands on things for the kids, but probably wont entertain young children for long. well worth the stop. it was interesting to notice the names of places and roads that were named after people we learned about in the museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very informative and interesting”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit. We went late in the day and couldn't complete our tour before closing, so they gave us a 7-day pass to comeback which we've used. The film they show is about Hawaiian history and is very interesting. It's over an hour long but don't miss it. Most of the historical displays depict Kauai's history. I'm reading James Michener's Hawaii now and the museum brought a lot of what I'm reading to life. Buy your souvenirs at the museum and you'll save paying state tax. Go on a sunny day and you can tour the museum by your lonesome, it gets crowded when it's rainy.

Helpful?
2 Thank beachcomber1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauai Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing