We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hula Pie, yippee!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke's Kauai

Duke's Kauai
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Kauai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoreline Access
Transit: Bus stop on Rice Street
Description: On the sand at Kalapaki Beach, Duke’s is dedicated to legendary surfer Duke Kahanamoku, Hawaii’s Ambassador of Aloha. The restaurant’s open-air design offers stunning, sweeping ocean views while the 30 foot waterfall plunges into a koi pond below that meanders through the tables. Enjoy a leisurely lunch, romantic dinner, or tropical cocktail in a fun, friendly atmosphere.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Hula Pie, yippee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped after dinner somewhere else, for Hula Pie at Duke's. It was so good that we bought the plate. What more is there to say?

Helpful?
Thank ChuckNSuzann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,788
    1,197
    454
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Only stopped for a drink but the staff were very friendly. Great decor and wonderful memorabilia. Next time will try the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great location right on the beach and just a few minutes drive from the airport. Great ambiance and service. I enjoyed the salad bar (ceasar salad) but enjoyed the mac crusted opah best! It was crunchy yet moist and was to die for! My kids loved the huge/gigantyic/humongous oreo crusted hula pie. All 3 of my kids shared this and almost coudn't finish it (alright, I admit, I had a few bites too).

Definitely try this place but be sure to make reservations as they get very busy. Also, go early because it is hard to find parking. They do have a valet which is a must if you're not staying at the hotel it is part of (Mariott). If you're on a budget or have a large family, you may want to try elsewhere as it is a bit pricy. Kauai Pasta was another fav of mine that you may want to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal but skip the salad bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I gave this restaurant a good review because the entrees and drinks were superb. The Salad bar which is supposed to be famous I would not recommend. We were there later in the evening around 9:00 p.m. so I don't know if this makes a difference or not but they were out of several items on the bar. We kept waiting for new breads to be brought out but by the time they did our meal had arrived. The upstairs interior was very quaint and had a great "Hawaiian feel".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
327 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“HI tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Never dined at a Duke's restaurants before, but this was exactly like I imagined a Hawaiian restaurant to be like.
On the night we dined it was a nice quiet atmosphere. Food was good and reasonable priced for the setting.
Afterwards we walked around the Marriot which was also attractive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rettup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing