We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taco Tuesday's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke's Kauai

Duke's Kauai
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Kauai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoreline Access
Transit: Bus stop on Rice Street
Description: On the sand at Kalapaki Beach, Duke’s is dedicated to legendary surfer Duke Kahanamoku, Hawaii’s Ambassador of Aloha. The restaurant’s open-air design offers stunning, sweeping ocean views while the 30 foot waterfall plunges into a koi pond below that meanders through the tables. Enjoy a leisurely lunch, romantic dinner, or tropical cocktail in a fun, friendly atmosphere.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the only Duke's in Hawaii with Taco Tuesdays. We usually arrive on Tuesdays and head to Duke's first.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,845
    1,222
    467
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
412 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Duke's Classic Beachside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Duke's on Kauai, located both at the edge of the Marriott Lagoons Resort and fronting a local beach is an ideal setting. Dining on the Lanai is a window onto a great blending of local folks arriving with their beach chairs as well as visitors feeling out the lay of the land. The food is quite consistent over the years. On this occasion we shared the Kalua pulled pork sandwich and the Fire Grilled Shrimp Salad, both of which were very good. Pua was our server and she is dynamite! Just a great Hawaiian setting to be sure and a great place to stop for a late lunch if you have a later flight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My spouse brought me here during our vacation, the whole of Waikiki had changed so much in the last 6 years, but Duke's still had its old charm. Authentic Hawaiian decor, relaxed environment, delicious food, and the Salad bar!!! If you want to taste locale Hawaiian flavour like you have to eat here!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janetta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larned, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We love Dukes. We have been to the restaurant on Waikiki, Ka'anapali and at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club. We always have a selection of fish and salad bar (except Maui which does not have a salad bar). We treat this as our Anniversary, Birthday and Whatever day celebration meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great anniversary dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The food was excellent. The views of the bay were great. Our server, Dante, really made the dinner even better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyfly1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing