We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Views ”

Island Helicopters Kauai
Ranked #8 of 35 Tours in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The perfect way for families of all ages and abilities to see the island in detail.
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We got Jody (Joseph) as our pilot and he was awesome! He was so knowledgable and the flight was smooth! It was cool to learn that he served as a former US helicopter pilot during Vietnam! *Salute* Jody made sure each side of the helicopter got full views of important areas as well as allowing everyone to get in plenty of photos. When we passed the ridge and saw the "Jurassic Falls", it was amazing!!! The Napali Coast was so breathtaking, I almost cried. This was worth the price for the incredible views you wouldn't get otherwise!

1  Thank dasb3ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 547 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The only good thing about Island Helicopters was the really nice front office staff.

Apart from that, a very bad experience!

- no air conditioning in the rear of the helicopter, the entire row consisting of four people was sweating like hell

- I felt very sick for the first time being on a helicopter (have already flown two times to the Grand Canyon and once around New York and never had any problem) - the pilot made fun of my wife who was feeling really sick and having a bad time

- although we expressed our wish to sit in the front, this was not even discussed or taken into consideration: a big disadvantage having been seated in the rear!

- people sitting in the front had much better air and a much better view - our view was very limited through the lower side window and body parts of the people sitting in the front row

All in all we regret having spent 350 USD for this trip. The next time we won't go for the cheapest one but for the best one. This was poor value for the money we spent!

6  Thank n23mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandhelicopters, Owner at Island Helicopters Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. At the beginning of each day the air conditioning levels and individual controls are check and unless a passenger or passengers notify the pilot that he or she is not receiving enough air, there is no way for the pilot to know that the passenger is uncomfortable.

We are not quite certain that you did in fact fly with us as your description of the window does not match our helicopters which are equipped with ceiling to floor glass windows and doors. Seating is ultimately determined by FAA regulations regarding safety of flight which include manufacturer specifications regarding weight and balance throughout the flight. All passengers have the option to charter the aircraft so that, if they do not exceed the front seat weight limits and the Weight and Balance remains within the FAA guidelines throughout the flight, they will be guaranteed the front seats. When comparing helicopter tours over the Grand Canyon and New York you would have had to pay 200-300% or more per seat for 15-30 minutes of airtime and still not be guaranteed the front seats. It is possible that the difference in the length of our tour which is 50 minutes could have attributed to the ill feelings that you and your wife were experiencing. We do take issue however, that your pilot made fun of your wife. Our professional highly skilled pilots all have a minimum of ten years of experience on Kauai; some have over twenty years and not once have we had a passenger make this complaint against our pilots. Our pilots enjoy what they do and are very well aware that such behavior would not be tolerated by our company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family and I, (wife, mother in law and sister in law) went on the Jurassic Park tour yesterday morning. We shared out helicopter with another couple. The staff were friendly, the other couple were pleasant however my wife had by far the worst seat. She was in the second row in the middle, so could see very little indeed. I note that other reviews complain of this too. I do not understand why we were seated the way we were, the couple that joined us got by far better seats, right next to the pilot. We couldn't even take great pictures because our view was compromised by the other couple. In response the management will no doubt say we were placed into the seats by weight. I don't buy that. The other gentleman was obviously larger than myself, and my sister in law is a cancer survivor so very small indeed, yet we were all on the same seat. You'll have a great time if you are on the front, 2nd row? Not so much. If you are on the 2nd row the helicopter is a very expensive shuttle which my wife was very upset about. We all paid the same price! On landing the staff asked if we liked the trip, my wife complained she couldn't see anything. Their response? Nothing. Will not do this again. Oh by the way, have you heard the lyrics to Phil Collin's song 'Another Day in Paradise'? The song is featured prominently toward the end of the tour. It is the most crazy choice to use this song as part of a soundtrack to a helicopter tour.

7  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandhelicopters, Owner at Island Helicopters Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all comments, even those that we may not completely agree with. Island Helicopters, like most helicopter tour companies in Hawaii, fly six passenger AStars. Our Astars have ceiling to floor glass windows and doors to provide optimum viewing that no other type of jet helicopters can offer. Weight and balance of the aircraft is not only mandated by the manufacturer and the FAA, but it is critical for the safety of the flight. Even a few pounds can make a difference in how the Weight and Balance is affected. Whenever, possible, we try to avoid seating couples apart, just as we seated you and your wife together. In fact, your wife and sister in law were seated in the right rear and right center seats which are highly requested seats. We have been flying AStars for over twenty years and we very rarely receive complaints from passengers that they are unable to see from the back row and when we do , it is usually because those passengers had expectations of being seated in the front seats. Everyone has the option to charter our aircraft which allows them the benefit to choose their seats provided there are no personal weight issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great trip, you got really close to the falls and the canyons etc. it really took our breath away sooo special. Fantastic value for money for the length of trip, seeing the whole island and we felt in safe hands with the company. A MUST to do when you are in Hawaii.

3  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was our first Helicopter flight and we really enjoyed it.
Everything was safe, on time. Friendly stuff, cool pilot.
The view, even from the backseats, was amazing.
The Jurassic falls are outstanding.
When we come back, we´ll book Island Helicopters again!
Promised! :-)

2  Thank master-jennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Island Helicopters Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing