We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable priced - beautiful course”
Review of Puakea Golf Course

Puakea Golf Course
Ranked #13 of 33 Outdoor Activities in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced - beautiful course”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We skip playing the high-priced courses, and stick to Puakea. Year after year, the staff has always very friendly to us.

We recommend playing here if you are looking for value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennf916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    20
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice course with mountain views.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was the first of two Kauai courses I played and overall I enjoyed the experience. Friendly staff and a nice course. On the downside? This course definitely has a municipal feel to it as the clubhouse is pretty small and there is a great deal of commercial development built or being built around it i.e. Loud. Also there is what used to be a grand plantation home on or next to the property that has fallen into ruin and is an eyesore. A decent value for the island as I paid $80-$90 in the morning but felt the afternoon prices of $60 where more in line.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grapesnocone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for - worst customer service in Hawaii”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This course cost half of what other courses charge on Kauai, Hi. And despite a few so-so holes it was a great layout with some beautiful holes and the place was in good condition in February.
However in my 11 days in Hawaii this was the worst customer service I encountered. It started with the woman in the pro shop who when she found out we weren't registered through the cruise ship (at twice the price), insisted we didn't have a reservation, then when we weren't going to leave she amazingly found the reservation. She gave us a hard time in everything, clubs, starting time, etc.
Then the starter added to it, insisting we keep the clubs in the bag in the order we got them because he didn't want to look around for them; to his telling us we had to keep up with the time allotted or he'd make us move, As an experienced threesome we played very fast and wrapped up nine early,
Then we found a threesome he started on the 10th hole in front of us. All three had hit drives and none had reached 100 yards and two were looking for their ball. this would be a disaster in the making.as we had to get back to the cruise ship on time. We skipped 10 and played through with out trouble.
On returning to the clubhouse the starter insisted the three of us not move till he counted all the clubs and insured there was no damage to any of the bag, equipment.

I let the starter know my opinion of their service and he blankly said - we do it for your benefit!!!
If you want that level of service and want to be insulted this is a good deal

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golf”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great course, the guys loved it. Though a couple of really long holes!!! Reasonable in price. Club rental also easy and inexpensive. Small café.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jodaniel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Why pay hundreds to play when you have a well kept and beautiful course for under $60? Course has some great challenging holes, beautiful views and combinations of elevations. Nothing fancy but worth getting in the car and driving over for a round or two.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puakea Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Puakea Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing