We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and Snooty”
Review of Puakea Golf Course

Puakea Golf Course
Ranked #13 of 33 Outdoor Activities in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey and Snooty”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

They charge A LOT to golf here and are a little upety and snooty to boot. The cost is around $89 AND they charge a $20 rider fee...crazy. For that price you would think that they would throw SOMETHING in besides an attitude of superiority. The course itself is nice...well manicured grass but you just don't get the ocean views that you get at other courses. Save the $ and go to Wailua GC...you STILL won't get any extras thrown in but there won't be a rider fee and you will pay half of what you pay at this place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank spokanesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    20
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great golf”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a fun really inexpensive course to play and some of the friendliest people you will meet. Try it out !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank getoverit3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby Line, Vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stretch and hit after hibernation”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice wide fairways for errant shots. I hadn't hit a golf ball in 6 months so I appreciated the generous landing areas. The front nine seemed relatively ordinary except for the downhill, into the wind sliver of a green par 3 (#6 or 7). I hear the back nine is more exciting but did not have the time. Extremely friendly staff add to a pleasant experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 421Chaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great driving range”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We did not have time to play golf, and had a late flight, so we went to the driving range at Puakea Golf Course. The staff was great and we could borrow clubs. There was no charge for using the driving range and the bucket of balls was very inexpensive. Thanks for a great time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for the travelers $$$”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Some greens are good, some not. Some tee boxes are good, some not. Fairways are pretty nice and layout is great for the average person's game. The value is in the afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank JJFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puakea Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Puakea Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing