We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough. Don't expect too much. ”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calif
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice enough. Don't expect too much. ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

RCI rooms are limited. You won't get the prime units but we had a newly renovated 3 floor room (B18) that was nice. Having the resort access helps. You will get a timeshare pitch and an adventure interrogation upon entry. They weren't too pushy, but were a little dishonest. Be careful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CalGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    202
    78
    32
    13
See reviews for
150
225
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Unit H-2 last week. It was on the ground floor, with no view, but also only a couple of steps, which my husband appreciated. The unit was spacious, well laid out and well-equipped. The furnishings were a little dated, but not too bad. The king-size bed was comfortable. There was a large bathroom with plenty of vanity and storage space.
There was a nice patio where one of the local hens and her 9 chicks routinely visited. The pool, though small, was well maintained and never crowded.
We especially enjoyed being next door to the Kauai Beach Resort. We could walk over to the restaurant for breakfast in the morning, or hit the pool bar for a drink in the afternoon. They also have 3 pools and a water slide, for a little variety.
The only downside was the location. Traffic is very heavy on the road where you exit the resort, and it was difficult to make a left to head into Lihue or down to Poipu. Also, as we've seen in previous trips, the weather in the Kapaa/Lihue area is not as sunny as in Poipu or the West side. So next time, we will probably stay in the Poipu area. But if you want to be closer to the North side or Lihue or Kapaa, we enjoyed the Beach Villas.
Note: several units seemed to be under remodel when we were there. The sound of drills was a little annoying.
Also, the units are cooled by one very noisy window unit in the bedroom. We ended up turning this off in the evening, opening the window vents and runnng the ceiling fans. This was lovely - except that you can hear the roosters crowing loud and clear at 5:00 a.m.
The "customer service" folks were only slightly pushy regarding trying to get us to a timeshare presentation. They left a couple of voicemails while we were there, but otherwise did not bother us.

Room Tip: Buildings G and H are by the water, but you have to be on the right side of the building to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Terrific view and nicely appointed. Photos and description are accurate -- you will not be disappointed when you arrive. The property is centrally located so you have easy access to the entire island. We will happily recommend this property to our friends and family.

The beach is fantastic for nice long walks!

Do be aware of the dirt bike track next door if you stay over a weekend as it can be noisy. We weren't bothered as we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at Kauai Beach Villas G-6 in April, 2014 which we rented via VRBO from the owners. It has nice upgrades like granite counter tops and tile floors and comfortable bed. The view of the ocean from the balcony is splendid! It was very windy while we were there, and we live near the Atlantic Ocean, so we did not plan to spend hours on the beach. Instead we went exploring, shopping and hiking. Units in the resort were being totally re-done during our stay and it looked like this would be a welcomed improvement. The grounds were lovely and well maintained. I highly recommend the G-6 unit that we stayed in. It is as described on the VRBO website. The location was central enough to make trips to the north shore and Poipu Beach doable without too much driving.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd level and though there were stairs, we had great views of the ocean and couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here at this resort and were most impressed by the grounds here at this resort. We had a two bedroom and the size was adequate. We had an ant issue and their response was, they always have an ant issue. Nothing was offered to change the situation. The ocean is a beautiful walkable beach, but it is rather than rocky and unsafe to venture out into.

The beds are extremely hard and asked for a foam topper, which made a little bit of a difference.

This was our first time staying in Lihue. I thought it would be a nice mix to either go north or south, but honestly, we were not a fan of the location. This is our fourth time here in Kauai and definitely the most congested. Turning out of the resort took forever, especially left and witnessed several almost car accidents, by people just trying to get out. Even getting to the resort it was congested.

We prefer Poipu area over the Lihue area. We will probably not stay here again, unless they get a stop light out of the resort area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this resort at the end of March/beginning of April of this year, thru RCI, so we just got back.. We loved the Kauai Beach Villas. The condo and grounds were well maintained with a very nice quiet balcony. We loved the location, being on the East side of the island. It was convenient to shopping and both the North and South sides of the island. However, the staff really helped make this a wonderful vacation. They were so helpful with assistance in arranging activities and suggestions about things we wanted to experience. Thanks Vicki and everyone else. We would highly recommend this property

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially ones next to the grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are Wyndham owners. I realize these resorts were acquired from the Pahio Resorts. It is nowhere near the quality we usually experience at other Wyndham resorts. I was glad to see improvements were being made while we were there. I'm trusting that it will be brought up to the usual WVR standards. I would not recommend this resort to anyone who has mobility problems. There are no elevators. My parents joined us. They had a one bedroom unit on the third floor. We were charged $50 for a missing card key. This is the first and only time that's ever happened. We were pleased to see coolers in the room. AC is in the bedrooms only so you'll have to crank them up if you want to feel it out in the living room. Grounds are nice. Location is great. Close to everything but far enough away to be restful. Roosters run rampant on the island. They add a country feel to the resort. They can be quite entertaining to watch. For the most part our stay was pleasant. If we go again, we will probably not take my parents unless we can be guaranteed a floor unit.

Room Tip: No elevators, if you or your guests have mobility issues, be sure to ask for a ground unit before re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearecurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Property: Kauai Beach Villas
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing